? 10/10 Zephie AMPS 484 +1 500 +2 479 +3 416 +4 362 +5 304 SS interp help needed

Stacey - Zephie's Mom

Member Since 2024
Link to last thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...00-3-424-426-5-415-6-384.294745/#post-3212685

Question: Is this a bounce effect?
Would someone be able to help me interpret what's going on with Zephie? Based on what I *think* I understand from reading here and the help provided so far by @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Diane Tyler's Mom GA @tiffmaxee , his 10/9 Cycle 2 bad #'s and today 10/10 Cycle 1 bad #'s are from bouncing after he had such a good Cycle 1 on 10/9 and stayed so long in the blue?

I was so pleased with that first cycle on 10/9 especially since it was his 16th bday, but then so sad to see him hit the blacks and reds so hard for the next cycles.

Question: Maintain the current dose?
We're now at Day 7 of the new increased dose of 0.75 units q12h. Based on the info provided here, since his nadirs have been below 150 a few times (10/5, 10/6 and 10/9), I should maintain the current dose?

Thank you all for your help! Our internist is still on vacation for another week, so without all of you here, I don't know what we'd be doing.
 
Sure looks like a bounce and it should end soon. I think there was a bounce from the lines followed by a recovery followed by a bounce from the blues.
 
Yes, the higher numbers that you are seeing after the stretch of lower numbers is bouncing. It will reduce as his body gets used to lower numbers.

I would take him up to 1U tomorrow morning. Try and bring his nadirs down a bit and have him spend more time in better numbers. It will also help with the bouncing. I would try and verify the Libre lows with a ear poke since it reads much lower than a regular meter. It would be better to base dosing decisions on the meter, if possible.
 
Yes, the higher numbers that you are seeing after the stretch of lower numbers is bouncing. It will reduce as his body gets used to lower numbers.

I would take him up to 1U tomorrow morning. Try and bring his nadirs down a bit and have him spend more time in better numbers. It will also help with the bouncing. I would try and verify the Libre lows with a ear poke since it reads much lower than a regular meter. It would be better to base dosing decisions on the meter, if possible.

Thank you @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee . I didn't see this message from you @Bandit's Mom until now, and unfortunately, I just gave him his insulin at the prior dose of 0.75 units. And agreed on verifying the Libre lows with an ear poke. I have done that when the Libre is reading in the 60s or lower because I want to be sure it's not really that low, but I've not been checking the other Libre nadirs that weren't that low.
 
Back
Top