10/10 Xena AMPS 249 ** Increased to 34 U**, +5 223, +8 217/ PMPS 233

Let’s say Xena is one of those cats that no matter what, can’t get regulated. What do you do under those circumstances?
I honestly don't know. In all my years here, and in all the spreadsheets I've looked at for high dose cats, they have ALL gotten to a dose that gets then regulated. Maybe not tightly regulated, but regulated. Even those whose dose was in the 30's, 50's or 80's. What has helped some is treatment. A positive diagnosis for acromegaly can mean starting cabergoline, which reduces the dose for most cats.

Are you using two syringes to inject the dose now?
 
I honestly don't know. In all my years here, and in all the spreadsheets I've looked at for high dose cats, they have ALL gotten to a dose that gets then regulated. Maybe not tightly regulated, but regulated. Even those whose dose was in the 30's, 50's or 80's. What has helped some is treatment. A positive diagnosis for acromegaly can mean starting cabergoline, which reduces the dose for most cats.

Are you using two syringes to inject the dose now?
No, I had the pharmacy give me 50 unit needles.
and I had another fur shot today. I was all stressed out, but I can't let this situation overwhelm me. It is what it is. In NJ you need a prescription for needles or you can buy them 10 per day, but of course it also comes out more expensive that way.
 
Definitely don't let fur shots stress you out. It happens, a lot with me too. We had one member start a fur shot jar. She put a dollar in the jar for every fur shot she did. Then used the proceeds at year end to buy something nice.
 
Back
Top