10/10 Tiggy AMPS 122 +3 113 +6 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

Still hoping for some greens. Is in a good mood though today - hasnt had runny for a couple of days and seems perky. there was night howling again last night and again the toy lion was left lying in the kitchen. Kitchen is nice and echoey which is why he likes to yowl there ;)

Wendy
 
drat. Should have taken Dales advice and gone with 1/4 unit reduce instead of 1/2 cos it looks like this reductions failed :(

Wendy
 
With any luck you can go back to the last good dose and try again. :smile:

I don't really like the nudge to 4.75 on a failed reduction.

Not quite enough green at this point for that?
 
Tomorrow morning will be fine. The 10 cycles is only before taking another reduction, of course only in Tiggy's case.

Jill & Alex said:
The concept of "New Dose Wonkiness" is NOT applied to higher numbers which may be seen after a dose reduction.

There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot".
"Settling time" does not apply to dose reductions. We don't wait for a reduction to "settle".


When you see numbers trending higher after a dose reduction we immediately return to the last "good" dose as described in the The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir:

"If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."


Hope this helps...

I just today returned Chip to the last good dose after only 4 cycles, not even the depot was carrying him. I can always hear Jill saying "nor do we hold a reduced dose for 6 cycles" when we *know* the reduction has failed. But sometimes it takes more than 6 cycles to know for sure the reduction has failed. @-)
 
And 10 to 14 cycles to settle regular increases (when there is green between bounces) per Tilly.

So you also hold the increase at least 10 cycles before increasing again in such case.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top