10/10, Susie, 243 AMPS

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-9-susie-213-amps.254030/#post-2863389

.5 ml prednisone, twice a day, seems like a lot.

I've decided not to give her pred at AMPS or PMPS. It is a real turn-off for her and she wants nothing to do with food afterward and these are the times I really need her to eat. I also don't want to make the AMPS/PMPS test and shot a more difficult time for her. She didn't eat much food last night and nothing this morning. I guess I will have to go back to the Mirataz.

@PerfumedCatMom do you remember how long it took after starting the pred that Ruby started feeling and acting better?

Sending lots of prayers for @Max & Lori, @Librarianista and so many others.
 
Last edited:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-9-susie-213-amps.254030/#post-2863389

.5 ml prednisone, twice a day, seems like a lot.

I've decided not to give her pred at AMPS or PMPS. It is a real turn-off for her and she wants nothing to do with food afterward and these are the times I really need her to eat. I also don't want to make the AMPS/PMPS test and shot a more difficult time for her. She didn't eat much food last night and nothing this morning. I guess I will have to go back to the Mirataz.

@PerfumedCatMom do you remember how long it took after starting the pred that Ruby started feeling and acting better?
Within a few days. Give the pred with the Mirtaz for now and you won’t need the Mirtaz in a day or so. The pred will make her hungry.
 
Are you giving the pred as an injection or as a liquid squirt in her mouth? I don’t have any experience with either, only the pill. I prepare Ruby’s insulin, roll up the pred pill with a little pill pocket and any other meds she needs, get her to sit still for her test and then pop the pills in her mouth one by one and then shoot and feed. It’s a lot to organize but you and Susie will get used to the routine.
 
Hope the pred kicks in soon and Susie starts feeling and eating better. All this waiting and hoping is frustrating when you just want her to get better now.
You are so right. Sometimes I feel like I am getting physically ill with all this worry. Thank God Susie went in and ate her breakfast about an hour after I put it down. She got 1/8 tsp of the psyllium, too. She is not feeling well. As I said, I hope I am not too late with the pred.
 
Are you giving the pred as an injection or as a liquid squirt in her mouth? I don’t have any experience with either, only the pill. I prepare Ruby’s insulin, roll up the pred pill with a little pill pocket and any other meds she needs, get her to sit still for her test and then pop the pills in her mouth one by one and then shoot and feed. It’s a lot to organize but you and Susie will get used to the routine.
She gets the liquid squirt. I wish I could do the injection. So much easier for me and her. I can't get pills in her and although she has taken the cerenia in a pill pocket before she no longer does. I can't get her mouth open enough for the pills and that is with my mom holding her in a towel. It is hard enough to get the squirt in her mouth and she always has a little growl and a total look of disgust at me. Won't eat afterward. She did go in and eat her breakfast about an hour after I put it down so I am holding off on the Mirataz for now. As I was telling Gina, I just hope I am not too late with the pred. I do not know how serious her IBD or Lymphoma are at this point.
 
She gets the liquid squirt. I wish I could do the injection. So much easier for me and her. I can't get pills in her and although she has taken the cerenia in a pill pocket before she no longer does. I can't get her mouth open enough for the pills and that is with my mom holding her in a towel. It is hard enough to get the squirt in her mouth and she always has a little growl and a total look of disgust at me. Won't eat afterward. She did go in and eat her breakfast about an hour after I put it down so I am holding off on the Mirataz for now. As I was telling Gina, I just hope I am not too late with the pred. I do not know how serious her IBD or Lymphoma are at this point.
The inflammation does not sound serious or else your vets would not have been so reluctant to give the pred.

Once Ruby started the pred it was a real game changer. She was on 5 mgs once a day for a while and doing well then she started having eating bouts again. Her IM increased her dose to 7.5 mg once a day, then once I got an appointment to see an oncologist, the oncologist lowered her dose to 5 mgs once a day, then a few weeks later 2.5 mgs twice a day to see the impact on her BGs. Once I got her insulin to the right dose, she's been mostly ok except for her constipation that I think I've got under control now.

I would not hesitate to give her the pred. It will take some getting used to on your part and Susie's to get it in her, but I guarantee she will feel 100% better.
 
The inflammation does not sound serious or else your vets would not have been so reluctant to give the pred.

Once Ruby started the pred it was a real game changer. She was on 5 mgs once a day for a while and doing well then she started having eating bouts again. Her IM increased her dose to 7.5 mg once a day, then once I got an appointment to see an oncologist, the oncologist lowered her dose to 5 mgs once a day, then a few weeks later 2.5 mgs twice a day to see the impact on her BGs. Once I got her insulin to the right dose, she's been mostly ok except for her constipation that I think I've got under control now.

I would not hesitate to give her the pred. It will take some getting used to on your part and Susie's to get it in her, but I guarantee she will feel 100% better.
Thanks for the encouraging words. I guess, like most folks on this site, dealing with additional medical issues can be extremely stressful. You say you use the Lactulose (spelling ?) for Ruby's constipation? Where do you get it and how do you give it? I finally got 1/8 tsp of the psyllium husk in her today but don't know if it will be effective.
 
Thanks for the encouraging words. I guess, like most folks on this site, dealing with additional medical issues can be extremely stressful. You say you use the Lactulose (spelling ?) for Ruby's constipation? Where do you get it and how do you give it? I finally got 1/8 tsp of the psyllium husk in her today but don't know if it will be effective.
The Lactulose is by prescription from her vet. I order it on Chewy and they fax/email the doctor for the prescription. I would not use it unless all other options fail. Give the psyllium some time to work. I also used freeze dried egg yolk from Food Fur Life, the same company that makes EZ Complete, and freeze dried pumpkin powder. Most cats here do fine on Miralax. None of these options worked for Ruby, probably because of her SCL, so I have been using Lactulose but it was a last resort option for me as I prefer using more natural options before pharmaceuticals. Ruby is not finicky when I add things to her food.
 
Okay, thanks. I also have the Lax Aire I had put on her paws the last two days (not today). Susie also had pumpkin in her Tiki Cat this morning. I hope I didn't overdo everything. I have so many things now for constipation. I will give the husk some time but will keep the dried egg yolk and freeze dried pumpkin powder in mind. She wasn't interested when I offered her some plain, organic pumpkin from the can.
 
Okay, thanks. I also have the Lax Aire I had put on her paws the last two days (not today). Susie also had pumpkin in her Tiki Cat this morning. I hope I didn't overdo everything. I have so many things now for constipation. I will give the husk some time but will keep the dried egg yolk and freeze dried pumpkin powder in mind. She wasn't interested when I offered her some plain, organic pumpkin from the can.
Is she pooping at all?
 
I am really happy that Susie ate this am but am so sorry that she still isn't feeling well. Hopefully the pred will start helping soon.

You are so right. Sometimes I feel like I am getting physically ill with all this worry.

All of the worrying we do absolutely does take a toll -- please make sure that you are taking care of yourself too, Summer. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am really happy that Susie ate this am but am so sorry that she still isn't feeling well. Hopefully the pred will start helping soon.



All of the worrying we do absolutely does take a toll -- please make sure that you are taking care of yourself too, Summer. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Jessica. Just having her start eating again is a huge load off my shoulders.
 
Okay, this is my take on the pred so far and my game plan going forward:

In less than 24 hours, Susie's appetite has improved greatly. This is the true "God send" and a massive relief for me.
I need to stop feeding the m/c altogether (unless she goes low) and try to get her back on the l/c foods. I know the weight gain will come with the increased appetite.
I was going to increase her dose to 1 unit but think I will wait a little longer. I know I am on SLGS but I think with her extenuating circumstances I should not have to wait 7 days especially since I can count on the pred to raise the glucose. I'm not increasing right away because of the 61 four days ago and her flat yellows today. I want to see what happens the rest of the day. If she continues to stay in the 200's should I go ahead and increase tomorrow morning?

I have an early medical appt tomorrow morning and have to leave around 7:30. Will get a plus one and give her dose of pred then - after she has had a chance to eat her breakfast. Any suggestions or advice is always appreciated if I am missing something.

I feel so much better now. Like maybe she might be turning a corner. :D
 
Take my word for it, if the pred is going to help her, you are going to see an improvement in her soon. All of my kitties responded within less than a week, but they continued to improve beyond that timeframe.
 
Take my word for it, if the pred is going to help her, you are going to see an improvement in her soon. All of my kitties responded within less than a week, but they continued to improve beyond that timeframe.
I'm very happy with the appetite. I would like to see her actually feeling better too and I only see a glimmer of that right now.
 
I would always give Amethyst her Pred at least 2 hours after she ate I do not know of that helps you or not but it has always worked for Amethyst Healing hug and prayers:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would always give Amethyst her Pred at least 2 hours after she ate I do not know of that helps you or not but it has always worked for Amethyst Healing hug and prayers:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Pamela. Makes sense and is probably doable for me. I fed around 5:45 - 6:00 so the Pred around 8:00 would give her lots of time to eat comfortably before I shock her with the squirt. I'll have to give the Pred early tomorrow because I have to leave the house at 7:30. Thank you!
 
When did you last sub-q fluids? Hydration is important for the psyllium husk powder—or any remedy like Miralax that relies on holding onto fluids in the digestive tract—to work properly. If she hasn’t been eating enough she probably hasn’t been drinking enough either.
 
Thanks, Pamela. Makes sense and is probably doable for me. I fed around 5:45 - 6:00 so the Pred around 8:00 would give her lots of time to eat comfortably before I shock her with the squirt. I'll have to give the Pred early tomorrow because I have to leave the house at 7:30. Thank you!
Good Luck with your Appointment:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
When did you last sub-q fluids? Hydration is important for the psyllium husk powder—or any remedy like Miralax that relies on holding onto fluids in the digestive tract—to work properly. If she hasn’t been eating enough she probably hasn’t been drinking enough either.
Oh gosh. Thank you for the reminder. I was supposed to do it yesterday but got caught up in the games. Then, I completely forgot about it today. My mom and I just did it about 30 minutes ago. She is out and about and looking for food and looking so much better. Thank you. Does she get the husk (1/8 tps) just once a day? I would love not to put anything foreign in her dinner tonight as I am going to try to get her back on the l/c FF.
 
Oh gosh. Thank you for the reminder. I was supposed to do it yesterday but got caught up in the games. Then, I completely forgot about it today. My mom and I just did it about 30 minutes ago. She is out and about and looking for food and looking so much better. Thank you. Does she get the husk (1/8 tps) just once a day? I would love not to put anything foreign in her dinner tonight as I am going to try to get her back on the l/c FF.
I give Bama's twice per day but since you are just starting out with it, you may want to just do once per day. I think Bhooma gives Bandit hers once a day but I'm not sure. I try to make Bama's wet meals as consistent as possible so that having the supplements--psyllium husk powder and slippery elm bark [SEB]--seem like normal. I don't always give the pumpkin but since he likes it, it's not a problem to reintroduce it when I open a new can. I only add the B12 in the morning but there is so little of it--just a few sprinkles--that I don't think it changes the texture of his meal the way the other stuff may.

I'm glad Susie is feeling better.
 
I give Bama's twice per day but since you are just starting out with it, you may want to just do once per day. I think Bhooma gives Bandit hers once a day but I'm not sure. I try to make Bama's wet meals as consistent as possible so that having the supplements--psyllium husk powder and slippery elm bark [SEB]--seem like normal. I don't always give the pumpkin but since he likes it, it's not a problem to reintroduce it when I open a new can. I only add the B12 in the morning but there is so little of it--just a few sprinkles--that I don't think it changes the texture of his meal the way the other stuff may.

I'm glad Susie is feeling better.
You give Bama twice a day fluids? You are a saint. I hope his heart is good I was told every other day would be okay and then I forgot yesterday. I honestly don't know why a cat would need daily fluids if you are adding water to the food. It is stressful for the cat and just another invasive move we make to help them. Sorry Gina, I just don't think the daily fluids are necessary - at least not for Susie. Every other day, for now, seems to be alright.
 
You give Bama twice a day fluids? You are a saint. I hope his heart is good I was told every other day would be okay and then I forgot yesterday. I honestly don't know why a cat would need daily fluids if you are adding water to the food. It is stressful for the cat and just another invasive move we make to help them. Sorry Gina, I just don't think the daily fluids are necessary - at least not for Susie. Every other day, for now, seems to be alright.
Not the fluids, the psyllium husk powder is what I give twice a day. I give the sub-q fluids no more than 3 times per week. I was answering your question about how often to give Susie the psyllium.
 
Back
Top