10/10 Ruby AMPS 256/+3 192/+8 112/PMPS 126/+3 147

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...252-3-292-6-243-10-258-pmps-259-3-215.254063/

Here's hoping that Ruby slides down today after a whole day in yellow. She's eating well and being purry so that is good.

Enjoy your Sunday, everyone. :bighug:
Hi Katherine. I hope you can help me decide on which “flavor” of ZiwiPeak might have the strongest smell between Vennison(so expensive)and Lamb? I know it’s an expensive trial and error but desperately trying to avoid Dr Elsey’s. I hope Ruby visits some blues today. So glad to hear she is eating well. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Katherine. I hope you can help me decide on which “flavor” of ZiwiPeak might have the strongest smell between Vennison(so expensive)and Lamb? I know it’s an expensive trial and error but desperately trying to avoid Dr Elsey’s. I hope Ruby visits some blues today. So glad to hear she is eating well. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I've never fed Ziwipeak before so I can't tell you. Maybe someone else can chime in. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) feeds them to her IBD kitties. I've fed my cats both venison and lamb, but it's raw and kept very cold during grinding and transport so neither ever has a smell that I can detect, and if I do smell something that's a sign the meat has gone bad.

Another thing you could try is get some fish oil capsules. It's good for Dolly's arthritis and you can cut open a capsule and mix it into her food to add a fishy smell.
 
So glad to hear she is eating well.
After I wrote that this morning, I discovered both cats had thrown up their breakfast. I don't know if it's the food or their GI problems. I gave Olive some Cerenia before her breakfast and she still threw up. She's been throwing up quite regularly these days and the only thing that has changed is I've been feeding her turkey instead of chicken as the "white meat" portion of their food--I always mix it with a fattier red meat, and right now they are eating lamb. Next week I have some chicken coming again, so hopefully that will change things or else it's back to the vet for Olive. It's been more than six months since her ultrasound and possible IBD diagnosis, so maybe it's time she went on a steroid as well. Sigh.
 
I've never fed Ziwipeak before so I can't tell you. Maybe someone else can chime in. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) feeds them to her IBD kitties. I've fed my cats both venison and lamb, but it's raw and kept very cold during grinding and transport so neither ever has a smell that I can detect, and if I do smell something that's a sign the meat has gone bad.

Another thing you could try is get some fish oil capsules. It's good for Dolly's arthritis and you can cut open a capsule and mix it into her food to add a fishy smell.
Thanks Katherine. Unfortunately it probably is not arthritis, more likely neurological. Her X-rays show only mild arthritis. I could still try the fish oil. I sent out another post including you for advice on what to do now. Ended up putting a call into her vet. She seems fine in every way but her sinuses. They haven’t been this bad in a long time and I fear a sinus infection. I know everyone is pretty much negative for Covenia shots but Dolly has had several in the last 8 years without side affects. I have read lot on it and know the dangers. Right now I need her to eat so I can stall on any meds until Tuesday. I pray Olive is okay, just read your post. Can’t believe it’s been six months since her ultrasound, I remember all you were “all” going through back then. Thank you.
 
Ruby had another successful poop this evening. :woot: It's the second day in a row and I have not seen her poop in consecutive days in what seems like years. A few days ago I started adding 1/32 of a teaspoon of Kibow Fortis, a prebiotic blend, to her food along with her usual Visbiome probiotic and Lactulose. They come in tablet form but I ground it up in a Magic Bullet into a powder. It seems like something might be working. Her numbers have been a little high, but if I read her patterns right she might go lower tomorrow. We shall see.
 
Ruby had another successful poop this evening. :woot: It's the second day in a row and I have not seen her poop in consecutive days in what seems like years. A few days ago I started adding 1/32 of a teaspoon of Kibow Fortis, a prebiotic blend, to her food along with her usual Visbiome probiotic and Lactulose. They come in tablet form but I ground it up in a Magic Bullet into a powder. It seems like something might be working. Her numbers have been a little high, but if I read her patterns right she might go lower tomorrow. We shall see.
...was that English?? :joyful: I give you all the credit in the world for researching and trialing all these things to figure out what's best for Ruby

I had hoped you might see green today, but 'twas not to be. Maybe tomorrow with that extra poop! I know you're happy with where she's at, but those greens are always a pleasant surprise.
 
...was that English?? :joyful: I give you all the credit in the world for researching and trialing all these things to figure out what's best for Ruby

I had hoped you might see green today, but 'twas not to be. Maybe tomorrow with that extra poop! I know you're happy with where she's at, but those greens are always a pleasant surprise.
Ha! Yes, I think it’s English! Kibow is a supplement recommended by a FB IBD group. I have tried nearly everything under the sun to get Ruby to poop regularly. It alarms me that the 7-8 mls of Lactulose I give her everyday only gets her to produce a very large, hard poop every 3-4 days, so I hope the Kibow helps. It’s also supposed to have good anti-inflammatory properties.

I do want those greens, but I got scared the last time I increased her dose and it was really hard getting her numbers up again. We will see what tomorrow brings.
 
Ha! Yes, I think it’s English! Kibow is a supplement recommended by a FB IBD group. I have tried nearly everything under the sun to get Ruby to poop regularly. It alarms me that the 7-8 mls of Lactulose I give her everyday only gets her to produce a very large, hard poop every 3-4 days, so I hope the Kibow helps. It’s also supposed to have good anti-inflammatory properties.

I do want those greens, but I got scared the last time I increased her dose and it was really hard getting her numbers up again. We will see what tomorrow brings.
So my daughter has chronic constipation, due to autoimmune disorder (thankfully it just manifests as what we think is lactose intolerance vs all the other severe things it could). There's no delicate way to put this...at least for humans, and I assume same for cats, the longer you're constipated the more everything stretches out. Not to mention the psychological stuff of not wanting to/avoiding poop. And it takes time for everything to shrink back down- the guidance from GI is applesauce consistency for 3-4 months to get everything back to normal size. So we've been upping the Miralax dose for quite some time trying to fine-tune.

So...I'm not saying that's what to do to poor Ruby, just saying that may be partially why the lactulose wasn't cutting, but allllso there may not be a super quick fix. Hopefully the Kibow is the magic solution!
 
the longer you're constipated the more everything stretches out. Not to mention the psychological stuff of not wanting to/avoiding poop. And it takes time for everything to shrink back down
This makes a lot of sense. I was glad that tonight’s poop was well formed but soft. I imagine that constipation is painful for her, so if we can get the poops to stay this consistency for a while then maybe her insides will revert back to a normal size. Ruby’s oncologist seems to think that constipation only gets progressively worse and can only be managed. I’ll see if I can prove her wrong. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top