10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270 +7/245

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Dose increase tonight to 1.75U. It finally looked like he cleared the bounces and settled into his dose.

It was a pleasure seeing the 218 AMPS and the flat yellow numbers today. But how very, very strange that he tested at 270 three times so far today. I'm not worried about the meter malfunctioning or the relatively new battery being a problem, Pumbaa just was flat at 270 three times today. That's kinda like going to the grocery store and having the amount due be an even dollar amount with no change, like $26.00 even. *LOL*

When I saw that beautiful 218 for the AMPS, I was ever so hopeful that he would drop down in the blues today. *sigh*

Now I'm just praying that the dose increase doesn't cause his numbers to spike upwards again. I don't want to see any more reds or pinks on his SS, ever, ever, ever again!

Next couple of days are going to be very busy, balancing work and taking care of my mom who will be going through some medical procedures and needs my assistance. So if you check Pumbaa's SS and don't see any entries, I'll be testing when I can and marking the results down on my dry erase board in the kitchen, until I can get online and update.

I am still absolutely thrilled seeing Pumbaa not react negatively when the Levemir is injected. And it seems that, every day, he forgets a little more that feeding time meant "stinging injection" time. I love now when he waits in the kitchen for the testing/feeding/shooting time, instead of hiding under my bed. :)

Suze
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270

Good luck with your mom. I hope all goes well with her.

Just had a thought... what syringe size do you use (gauge and length of needle)? Just wondering if you are getting in to the sub-Q space effectively. I use(d) 31 gauge shorts (5/16") and shot at a shallow angle (almost parallel to the back) into the base of the tent. I know some people with the short needles shoot perpendicular to the body and straight in (no tent), but where looser skin is like in front of the back leg closer to the belly. I never tried that though.
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270

Thank you, Sheila, for the well wishes for my Mom. Much appreciated!

As for syringes, I'm using the Terumo 31 gauge, 3/8" (I didn't see that they offered a 5/16" or would have ordered those). I inject like you do, at a shallow angle down into the tent, as close to the top of the tent as possible so I don't hit muscle or anything. Pumbaa seems to have looser skin closer up near the spine, so I vary my tenting there. Also, he gets shot on his right side in the morning, and his left side at night. Since I keep his flanks buzzed of fur, it's very easy to see what I am doing, thankfully, and haven't had a fur shot in ages. Also, I shot the same way with the Lantus, but Pumbaa's reaction when the Lantus hit under his skin, and his lack of reaction now with the Levemir is like night and day! :)
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270 +7

I napped on the sofa last night until 2 am, to get a PM +7, and he was only down to 245. I thought he might go lower since, in the past, he seemed to react to the change in dose on Levemir quicker. But I'm thrilled he stayed yellow for over 24 hours!

Suze
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270 +7

3/8" are probably good. Not a huge difference from the 5/16". The only thing I can think of trying is to shoot lower into the tent - maybe middle of it where there is less likelihood of shooting into the underside of the skin on the other sides of the tent, but probably you are fine. Gosh, it's been so long since I shot I can't remember exactly where I placed the needle.....

He may have a later in cycle response to the increase - an may raise from it before coming down again.

Did you see the links I posted to glucose toxicity and insulin resistance? GT can cause temporary IR, so methodically raising his dose until he "breaks through" is probably what is needed. You then need to watch for indications that a reduced dose is needed. That would follow the Tilly protocol pretty much, reducing on lows below 50, etc.

There's so much that we need to be aware of and remember! I have to keep referring back to the information myself to keep it "fresh" in my head, lol.
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270 +7

yay for a day of yellows....lol

I think I shoot somewhere in the middle of the tent, and vary it slightly from l-r and f-b, mostly around the shoulders

make sure you read those links Sheila put up. I "KNOW" that's Dante's problem, especially since no one knows how long he went untreated or even when he was dx'd.
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270 +7

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Did you see the links I posted to glucose toxicity and insulin resistance? GT can cause temporary IR, so methodically raising his dose until he "breaks through" is probably what is needed. You then need to watch for indications that a reduced dose is needed. That would follow the Tilly protocol pretty much, reducing on lows below 50, etc.

There's so much that we need to be aware of and remember! I have to keep referring back to the information myself to keep it "fresh" in my head, lol.
I'm looking for those links now.
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270 +7

Hi Suze!!

I have been meaning to check in and see how Pumbaa is doing on lev. I was gone taking care of my mom for a bit and did read your condos but didn't have a chance to post. I hope your mom is doing ok.

I AM happy to see you taking him up per the TR protocol....very proud of you! And his numbers are nice and flat so hopefully as you take him up to his fitting dose, they will stay that way.

The Terumos only come in one needle length...the 3/8" so you go the right ones. I think those are a good needle length because they are in between the 1/2" and the 5/16"....although closer to the latter.

Keep on keeping on!! Go Pumbaa!
 
Re: 10/10 Pumbaa AMPS/218 +3.5/270 +6/257 PMPS/270 +3/270 +7

Thank you, Marge. Hope your mom is okay as well! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top