10/10 Missy AMPS326, +6 -297, PM fur shot +5 - 9.1NEED dosing advice

DanaB

Member Since 2020
I cant seem to get her back to better numbers. I raised the dose and things got worse. I thought maybe the dose was too high so I lowered it, twice. She seems to keep reverse curving... or not a typical curve with a typical +4 - +6 nadir.
Ive tried a new vial (purchased a year ago, kept in box in the back of the fridge, expiry 2023). Should I take her off insulin and see what happens?? Go buy new insulin?
Im completely lost.
Any advice would be appreciated.
 
Here’s what I see. You aren’t following TR as written. Three bg into the 40’s on 3 different cycles earn a reduction. Any drop under 40 earns a reduction. You didn’t take reductions that were earned 8/30-8/31. At that point she was getting too much insulin. Then you took too big a reduction not earned 9/27. We increase and decrease by .25 and not .50. You are holding doses too long now. What you see as reverse curves I don’t see. I think she needs an increase to .75.

See what others think. I suggest you reread TR. I do myself quite often.
 
i
Here’s what I see. You aren’t following TR as written. Three bg into the 40’s on 3 different cycles earn a reduction. Any drop under 40 earns a reduction. You didn’t take reductions that were earned 8/30-8/31. At that point she was getting too much insulin. Then you took too big a reduction not earned 9/27. We increase and decrease by .25 and not .50. You are holding doses too long now. What you see as reverse curves I don’t see. I think she needs an increase to .75.

See what others think. I suggest you reread TR. I do myself quite often.

OK...i was advised to drop from the 0.75 to the 0.25 on facebook. The way it was explained seemed to make sense.

I will re read TR.... i think i hold a little longer because it was usually on day 7-10 that i would see a difference in her numbers, but then i guess im not doing TR:facepalm::bookworm:

Thank you.
 
Here’s what I see. You aren’t following TR as written. Three bg into the 40’s on 3 different cycles earn a reduction. Any drop under 40 earns a reduction. You didn’t take reductions that were earned 8/30-8/31. At that point she was getting too much insulin. Then you took too big a reduction not earned 9/27. We increase and decrease by .25 and not .50. You are holding doses too long now. What you see as reverse curves I don’t see. I think she needs an increase to .75.

See what others think. I suggest you reread TR. I do myself quite often.

I did do a reduction on September 1st.... i usually adjust her doses slightly less then 0.25 (using calipers) because the 0.25 in the past have just had me going back and forth. Maybe in this case it wasnt enough.
 
Last edited:
We see FB groups doing resets and they almost never work. It’s fine to hold a little longer than 6 cycles. That’s part of knowing your cat. Some cats are slower to respond. I do see that you were not taking earned reductions in the past as I mentioned but now you have gone too far in the opposite direction. That can lead to more insulin being needed.
 
We see FB groups doing resets and they almost never work. It’s fine to hold a little longer than 6 cycles. That’s part of knowing your cat. Some cats are slower to respond. I do see that you were not taking earned reductions in the past as I mentioned but now you have gone too far in the opposite direction. That can lead to more insulin being needed.

Ok, I understand. That makes sense. I thought i was doing my reductions. I will keep a closer eye. I think there was one or two where she would drop low right after the reduction again but it was mentioned that it could still be the old dose in her system so i maybe didnt count it. She goes up and down a lot, never settles for long.
Thank you so much. I will re read TR protocol AGAIN:)
I appreciate your advise.
 
I was not home to do a PMPS test and my husband did a fur shot, (definitely - needle came out and she stinks like insulin). But her numbers are better then they have been in 2.5 weeeks :confused:
 
Back
Top