? 10/10 Dora PMPS 78 / 74

Dora the Explorer

Member Since 2020
Last catastrophe: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-27-dora-amps-151-119.235997/

My husband forgot the AlphaTrack and we are at our shore house. I picked up a Freestyle Lite as we’d been running the two concurrently and thinking of switching last week anyway. Generally they were about 100 apart. So tonight we got home about 20 minutes late for her shot and she tested at 79. I didn’t stall but fed and tested right after and she was 74. The thing is, I’m used to her pet meter numbers. She’s not starved or acting weird. She seems perfectly fine. I’m just not used to this meter so I don’t know what to do.

Should I give a reduced dose? She had a low(ish) AT2 number the other day and seemed to have a bounce so I’ve been testing a little less waiting for that to clear. I think it cleared.

She’s on 1.75. The other day I shot 1.5 when she was a little lower and she did fine. Should I do that? Shoot 1.0? Wait two hours? Skip? She’s already an hour late at this point but she just ate about 20 minutes ago. This always happens on Saturdays at the beach! Thanks!

Jane and Dora
 
It’s fine. People following TR shoot anything 50 and over. It’s impossible to compare. The two meters are closest in lower numbers so you want want to reduce by .25. Get a +1 and +2. I’d give honey or mc if there’s any drop at +2 from the preshot.
 
Thanks. I think for my nerves I’ll go with the 1.5 but hard to say - when we did the freestyle concurrently the freestyle never went this low. It’s usually in the 200s for her. So I got a little spooked.
 
Last time I dropped her we had to go back up a week later. :( this meter is so foreign to me but also makes me wonder if she hasn’t been as high all along as the pet meter reads her. She generally always acts fairly normal. Although she usually has a lot of sugar in her urine when I test it. I’ll check her in two hours. I just gave her her insulin and she had more to eat. Thanks!
 
I’ll check her in two hours. I just gave her her insulin and she had more to eat. Thanks!

I'd check at +1 and +2....you want to keep a close eye on it just to make sure. It's easier to intervene early than to wait until it's too late and she's really rolling.

Also, it's a good idea to get a +1 every once in awhile anyway so you can figure out how much of a "food bump" she usually gets. If you know your cat usually has a food bump of 100 points, that makes the decision to shoot lower numbers easier to make. But if she only gets a food bump of 30 points, that's important information to know.

And Congratulations on shooting your first green! You win our coveted BOS award!
balls of steel .png

(don't forget to change the background color on your PMPS cell to dark green)
 

Attachments

  • balls of steel .png
    balls of steel .png
    31.4 KB · Views: 74
Done! Thanks. And before the shot I did retest and she was over 100. I gave her some Dr. Elsey’s as well, her special treat for dropping low. She’s almost to the one hour mark but she’s not acting hungry like when she’s really low. I’m so used to gauging her on the AlphaTrack so I feel a bit anxious. But her tendency to bounce is so consistent that I feel confident that will happen again. We’ll see!
 
Ok she’s up in the 200s two hours after having her shot and some food. Looks like she’s doing that same bounce again so that’s a relief. She’s having a bedtime snack and will likely hang high for the night even when her Lantus kicks in full force. While I’m grateful to have her not crash, I wonder why she can’t maintain the low numbers ...

good night and thanks as always!
 
Good thing you didn't skip!!

If you could continue testing a few times a day during the AM cycle and add at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle, you could switch to TR which would allow you to make dose changes as often as every 3 days if it's not getting Dora where you want her.

Might think about it! You can always go back to SLGS if it didn't work out for your schedule.
 
Thanks Chris,

I’ll think about it. TR scares me but maybe. It’s now +10 and she was 144. Gave her some food and will test her again in two hours and shoot. She’s never held a lower number before but also these numbers are lower because they’re human readings. Of course also we were running out lancets since all I had was the starter kit. I have more coming from amazon today, and more test strips.

Incidentally I ordered test strips for $23 for 50 from amazon thinking a few came with the kit. They did not so I sent my husband back to cvs. They were 50 for $90! Highway robbery! We could have bought a completely different meter and everything for less than that! We bought them though, since we were already changing one thing ( meter ).
 
Back
Top