10/10 Blue AMPS 71 +1 113 +2 116 +4 129 +10 135 PMPS 115 +2 44 +3 59 +4 41 +5 79 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/10 Blue AMPS 71 +1 113 +2 116 +4 129 +10 135 PMPS 115 +2 44 +3 59 +4 41 +5 79

today was our first green shot.
That reminds me. Here you go! 😎

balls_of_steel.jpg
 
And so I assume 30 minutes late PM shot and 15 minutes late AM shot tomorrow, to workaround the 45 minute late shot this morning? Though I did not consider this before.
 
I wasn't expecting that, 44 @+2 I think we earned a reduction already?
Just woke him up for a test. He got a bit jumpy second time I poked his ear, first was 44 and second was 40, but it was feeding time already, so he's happy now.
 
Surprise! Yes, he's earned a reduction. Here is the information from the sticky regarding reductions:

Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS
You'll want to test him again to ensure he is going up after his food. He might have an active cycle these next few hours, so you'll want to continue to test and keep an eye on him. Remember: food will bump up his numbers. Also, food remains in their system and bumps up their numbers for about 1-2 hours after being ingested, so you'll want to test 1-2 hours after you've given him food to ensure he doesn't drop at that point. Keep in mind, too, that Blue has tended to have later nadirs in his cycles.

Tell that big beautiful floof to keep it on the straight and narrow and no more limey shenanigans!
 
Back
Top