10/10 bailey uk. should i have switched :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
[urlhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126523&p=1307332#p1307332][/url]

after seeing baileys numbers go up and up the last couple of weeks since switching to levermir. im not sure ive done the right thing :-(
I don't know what to do? do I switch back?
my poor boy hes been so high and his back legs are getting weak again. I just wish id stuck to lantus.i feel like im were getting no where :'-(
 
Hi Anna - it's possible you just haven't found the good dose yet on Levemir. Some cats need more Lev than they do Lantus, so I wouldn't worry about the amount you are giving, just keep increasing per the protocol. As Suzanne said in your last condo, she had to go up on Levemir before going down after switching. A couple of observations. First, since Bailey has been seeing nadirs above 300 and he's at 5U, you should have increased by .5U this morning. I'd keep doing that amount of increase until you see a lot more yellow. He's on high enough dose now that you can save the .25U increases for when he is seeing greens. As per the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
The second comment is about testing. Levemir has a later onset and nadir than Lantus. The testing you are doing now would be fine for Lantus, but I think you need to try to get a few more spot checks after +4 in the evening cycles if possible. I don't think you missed anything low given his numbers, but going forward you want to try to get a few spot checks from +4 to +12 in the PM if possible. I don't think it's a big deal if he's red or high pink at +4 though.
 
that's great.thanks wendy for that. ive not been able to test after +4 this week as ive been working til amps .but my hours are a little different over the next couple of days so hopefully I can get some in then.
I just feel so frustrated and helpless. at the least we were seeing yellows and occasional blues with lantus so its so disappointing. il keep going though and see how we get on. il up to 5.5 tonight. thanks again!
 
Ugh. So frustrating, I know.

Definitely give Lev a chance to work, and if It doesn't, you can always switch back to Lantus. If it only took one kind of insulin to regulate diabetes, there wouldn't be so many options! You know?

Hang in there! Come on down, Bailey!

~Suzanne
 
I know. I just don't know what to do for the best.his legs arent great again and we were doing so well.:-( I dont think il b giving the lev to much longer as I dont want him getting worse.x
 
I know. I just don't know what to do for the best.his legs arent great again and we were doing so well.:-( I dont think il b giving the lev to much longer as I dont want him getting worse.x
 
I'd encourage you to keep in mind that you reduced the dose with the switch to Lev. You'll most likely need to get the dose back to where it was on Lantus before you see better numbers. Even on Lantus, it was looking like you were going to need more insulin. Like Wendy is suggesting, you may need to be a bit more aggressive about the dose providing you're schedule will allow you to get the tests in. And, like Wendy noted, the cycle is different on Lev so you'll need to look for when onset and nadir are and what king of duration Bailey is getting with the switch.
 
thanks sienna. I nipped home from work in between my shift to test him today so may have to do that more often.
I just feel like were getting nowhere with this. I hate seeing him back to drinking,weeing and eating so much and his little legs not great. I just don't know whether I made the right decision. I probably wont be giving it too much longer but for now we'll 'hang in there'
xxx
 
Hi Anna,
Have you considered the possibility that your Levemir might be a bad vial or cartridge? This is uncommon, but it is possible. Perhaps start a different cartridge just to be sure.

I hope the insulin starts working for Bailey when you raise the dose.

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top