? 10/10 AMPS 232, +3 121, +7 67, Going LOW, just want support

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Eddie just tested 67 @ +7. I tested twice because the first test was 61.2

I've given him a small spoon of low carb food and will test again in 20 minutes.

20 minutes later: 86.4

Phew.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jodey,

Here's your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-09-eddie-amps-187-2-166-6-92.254056/#post-2863667

Since Eddie went below 68 on an AlphaTrak you're supposed to reduce the dose. Since he's a high dose kitty, I think you're supposed to reduce by 1 unit, so your PM shot should be 14 again. Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko to confirm.

Have you tested him again since that +8 test of 126? Sometimes cats will get a bump from the food and then continue to go low. Always good to keep testing for two hours after a low number.
 
Hi Jodey,

Here's your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-09-eddie-amps-187-2-166-6-92.254056/#post-2863667

Since Eddie went below 68 on an AlphaTrak you're supposed to reduce the dose. Since he's a high dose kitty, I think you're supposed to reduce by 1 unit, so your PM shot should be 14 again. Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko to confirm.

Have you tested him again since that +8 test of 126? Sometimes cats will get a bump from the food and then continue to go low. Always good to keep testing for two hours after a low number.

Thank you for responding. I fed him about an 1 1/4 hours ago and I'm going to test him again in 15minutes and will post here.

UPDATE: I just tested him @ +10 = 128!


{The complication of dosing, if that's what to call it, is Eddie is 7.5 months out of SRT for acromegaly and he had the pituitary surgery to remove the tumour (and the pituitary). We might be seeing the results of the radiation in that the tumour is, for all we know, dying off and no longer releasing growth hormone, which in choreography with the liver's release of IGF-1 has made him insulin resistant.}

There's a lot of moving parts here, I'm trying to say! So, hopefully @tiffmaxee and/or @Wendy&Neko will have something to add.

Thank you again!!
 
Last edited:
I would go with 14U given the earned reduction, provided you can stay up if needed.

It's probably worth a discussion with @Wendy&Neko if SRT results are possibly starting to show, if reduction threshold should maybe be a little higher. OR if perhaps slightly larger reductions.

Regardless, please test during the night, starting no later than +2. It's a high dose and full depot, so you may see a little action.
 
I would go with 14U given the earned reduction, provided you can stay up if needed.

It's probably worth a discussion with @Wendy&Neko if SRT results are possibly starting to show, if reduction threshold should maybe be a little higher. OR if perhaps slightly larger reductions.

Regardless, please test during the night, starting no later than +2. It's a high dose and full depot, so you may see a little action.

Thank you so much, @FrostD and @PerfumedCatMom
I will set my alarm.
 
Sorry I missed you yesterday. It helps to have Eddie’s name in the subject line. Happy Thanksgiving.

Yes on the 1 unit reduction to 14 today.
 
Sorry I missed you yesterday. It helps to have Eddie’s name in the subject line. Happy Thanksgiving.

Yes on the 1 unit reduction to 14 today.

Thank you, Wendy. If necessary, I'll start a new thread today (with Eddie's name prominent). I gave him 14u last night and I did tests up until 2:30 am when he started to go into the yellow zone. This morning, as he is back to 17.4, I went back to 15u.

I'm hoping I'm doing ok by him.

Thank you, everyone, for your help.
 
Please go back to 14 units tonight and monitor him closely today. He is bouncing today. 15 units has proved to be too much. We dose based on nadirs, not preshots.
 
Back
Top