10/1 SINVER. AMPS.234+1.325+4´5.286+9.225 PMPS.101+1.57.44.42+2.51.61+3.71+4.57+5.85+11.306

Hi Xelo.

The numbers we are seeing, may well be the result of a fur shot (FS)
It will take a few cycles for the depot to fill again and for sinver to get better numbers.

In the meantime, keep monitoring his food (aprox 300cal daily) , keep up the hydration and monitor his behaviour , ketones, and any other signs that may point to a relapse of DKA.

The Depot, in lantus is the part of the dose that remains in storage and is released slowly, the size of this depot/storage is proportional to the size of the dose, the higher the dose the larger the depot, when we change doses the depot/storage size changes as well, it either gets bigger, or smaller depending on whether we have increased or decreased the dose.

When we skip a shot, either intentionally, or unintentionally (with a fur shot/partial or complete) that drains the depot/storage and may see numbers climb up a bit.

That combined with the dose reduction may be what is contributing to the higher numbers now.

With sinver having had DKA previously, we need to monitor this situation closely. Usually after a fur shot we would wait 6cycles to see what he does once the depot is full, but I'm uncomfortable waiting that long given his history of we don't see his numbers come down today.

He came up quite quickly /easily from the 47 just a couple of days ago, and I am considering whether it may be a better idea to take him up to that 2 U dose sooner rather than later, given his history of DKA, and concern with ketones developing.

I know you have your hands full with young child, multiple cats and studying, and that during the week you are working to a very tight schedule, so you're unable to stall or delay shooting. Do I'm trying to take all this onto consideration, and writing it here on your thread so that others that have been helping you have all the facts that are important for any advice you might be given.

Hola Xelo.

Los números que estamos viendo bien pueden ser el resultado de un gato en la inyección (FS)
Se necesitarán algunos ciclos para que el depósito se llene nuevamente y para que sinver obtenga mejores números.

Mientras tanto, siga controlando su alimentación (aproximadamente 300 cal diarias), mantenga la hidratación y controle su comportamiento, cetonas y cualquier otro signo que pueda indicar una recaída de CAD.

El Depósito, en lantus es la parte de la dosis que queda almacenada y se libera lentamente, el tamaño de este depósito/almacenamiento es proporcional al tamaño de la dosis, cuanto mayor es la dosis mayor es el depósito, cuando cambiamos de dosis el El tamaño del depósito/almacenamiento también cambia, se hace más grande o más pequeño dependiendo de si hemos aumentado o disminuido la dosis.

Cuando nos saltamos un inyección, ya sea intencionalmente o no (con un gato de inyección/parcial o completo), se agota/vacia el depósito/almacenamiento y es posible que los números aumenten un poco.

Eso, combinado con la reducción de la dosis, puede ser lo que esté contribuyendo a los niveles más altos ahora.

Dado que Sinver tuvo DKA anteriormente, debemos controlar esta situación de cerca. Por lo general, después de un disparo de piel, esperaríamos 6 ciclos para ver qué pasa una vez que el depósito esté lleno, pero me siento incómoda esperar tanto tiempo dado su historial si no no vemos que sus niveles nobajen hoy.

Se Recuperó bastante rápido/fácilmente del 47 hace apenas un par de días, y estoy considerando si podría ser una mejor idea aumentarle esa dosis de 2 U, más bien pronto que tarde, dado su historial de DKA y porque estoy preocupada de que se le desarrollen niveles altos de cetonas y se te ponga enfermo de nuevo.

Sé que tienes los días complicados con niños pequeños, varios gatos/mascotas y estudiando, y que durante la semana trabajas con una agenda muy apretada, por lo que no puedes detener o retrasar el horario de las dosis. Intento de tener lo todo en cuenta y escribirlo aquí en tu hilo para que otros que te están ayudando tengan todos los datos que son importantes para cualquier consejo que puedan recibir?

 
this is today's morning strip
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 14.07.39.png
    Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 14.07.39.png
    216.3 KB · Views: 90
Good morning Xelo :bighug: Howard you and how is Sinver feeling ? Does he still have ketones ?
Sending lots of love :bighug:
hello last night we both rested, he had many punctures and he needed to rest his skin too. I also slept all night and it was very good for a long time that I had not slept a whole night, he is in good spirits even today he is hungrier than other days, the important thing is that he looks good, have a good day. :kiss::bighug:
 
this is today's morning strip
Xelo, I'm sharing from my personal experience, not giving here 'expert advice'....

Though the picture looks a bit dark and the colour scheme might differ a bit from what I have on the keto-diasticks I have, it looks like no ketone to me.

And when in doubt best to test again.

Also from my experience, ketone show immediately, if they're present, way before the 15 sec. And if no ketones, even after 15 sec the colour didn't go darker for me.

I always kept the urine if I wanted to dip another stick in case I had doubts about the first strip.

I also gave Fistuk water with syringe to encourage more pee if I wanted to have another test sooner.

It's wonderful to hear you rested and that Sinver is in good spirit. I know how tough those sleepless nights can be

Have great Sunday :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I am very concerned about ketones, I can't figure out what color would be appropriate to be able to deduce if they are ketones or not. I thought I'm going to take my urine and do a ketone test to see what color it would come out to be with my urine. Maybe it is the same color as sinver's. I could make a comparison to see what color it is because I tested it with water as you can see in the picture and it does change color a little bit, although in the pictures it looks darker than sinver's than it is in its natural state here when I see it in my hands.
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 14.07.39.png
    Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 14.07.39.png
    216.3 KB · Views: 90
  • Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 15.01.21.png
    Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 15.01.21.png
    452.3 KB · Views: 100
  • Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 15.01.40.png
    Captura de pantalla 2023-10-01 a las 15.01.40.png
    414.6 KB · Views: 107
Yes Angela, I counted the 15 seconds with the stopwatch so it would be very accurate. First I did it directly from the stream of sinver urine and then I took a spoon and put it in the stream and then submerged the strip, and it gave the same result, @Angela & Cleo
 
Shelly thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal experience, it is always helpful to hear opinions from different people.
I don't know how to detect ketones because the time he had them the vet detected it with a blood test so I don't know what color it has to look like on a ketone strip so I am worried because if I had seen one before I would know if it is or not you know what I mean ? I am testing every day as soon as I see him go into the bathroom if he wants to start giving him syringes of water to sinver , and I also add water to his wet food. thanks for your concern, this is the only place where I can talk about my worries about my cat in my environment nobody would understand me, they would think I am crazy or obsessed, thank goodness you understand me here and help me with your experiences, have a nice Sunday. @Fistuk & Shelly :bighug::bighug::kiss::kiss:
 
I am very concerned about ketones, I can't figure out what color would be appropriate to be able to deduce if they are ketones or not. I thought I'm going to take my urine and do a ketone test to see what color it would come out to be with my urine. Maybe it is the same color as sinver's. I could make a comparison to see what color it is because I tested it with water as you can see in the picture and it does change color a little bit, although in the pictures it looks darker than sinver's than it is in its natural state here when I see it in my hands.
The third picture where you have two strips, the left one seems quite clear without ketones, the one on the right looks unclear and hard to tell.

Maybe you can borrow a blood ketone meter, perhaps from your local vet, you'll be able to get a clear read
 
Shelly thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal experience, it is always helpful to hear opinions from different people.
I don't know how to detect ketones because the time he had them the vet detected it with a blood test so I don't know what color it has to look like on a ketone strip so I am worried because if I had seen one before I would know if it is or not you know what I mean ? I am testing every day as soon as I see him go into the bathroom if he wants to start giving him syringes of water to sinver , and I also add water to his wet food. thanks for your concern, this is the only place where I can talk about my worries about my cat in my environment nobody would understand me, they would think I am crazy or obsessed, thank goodness you understand me here and help me with your experiences, have a nice Sunday. @Fistuk & Shelly :bighug::bighug::kiss::kiss:
I totally understand. What a blessing this space is. It has given me too as safe space to bring all my questions, concerns and need for support :bighug:

I had the same experience at first, couldn't tell whether ketones were present or not bc the first test was done at the hospital through blood. With time I of home testing I realised that when there were no ketones it was quite clearly a clear colour and each time there were ketones the colour went a bit darker. Each time the colour was bit unclear it was a sign for me that ketones are present.

I remember the vet in the hospital told me that some traces could be normal. But as Bron suggested, keep giving him water and feed him a lot. And ask for advice with doing to ensure Sinver has enough insulin :bighug::bighug:
And keep us posted :kiss:
 
The third picture where you have two strips, the left one seems quite clear without ketones, the one on the right looks unclear and hard to tell.

Maybe you can borrow a blood ketone meter, perhaps from your local vet, you'll be able to get a clear read
on Friday I took the urine down to the vet and he said it looked negative but he couldn't tell me for sure because the reading on his machine said that it was negative.
 
on Friday I took the urine down to the vet and he said it looked negative but he couldn't tell me for sure because the reading on his machine said that it was negative.
Ketones develop very quickly and it could be a different state now in compared to Friday. When I suspected Fistuk had ketones (again) I was very stressed so I can resonate with the concern. If it is at all possible for you, because I know nothing about where you live and what's possible for you, I'd suggested to do another check wither with blood or the vet/animal hospital. I know all of this might not be feasible, but if it is it's something to consider.

Otherwise, how does Sinver look lie to you? Is he still in good spirit, is he eating/drinking, does he respond like normally or is he looking more apathetic/lethargic ? These are probably also things to look at. Did you get anymore BG tests today?

Sending strength and blessings of calmness :bighug:
 
I will try that tomorrow Monday or Tuesday catch the urine and take him to the vet but that test is not me if it will be entirely reliable the best would be to do it in blood but I do not want to make him pass that drink so hard for not having clear the strip is clear that if it were positive the color would be darker, I have tried to make the urine strip with my urine and it comes out of another strain looks more like the comparison box, it could be that in animals it does not look like the color or I do not know since to think next time I will change manufacturer. Or look at a ketone meter for Christmas, now I have the money very fair. @Fistuk & Shelly
 
I will try that tomorrow Monday or Tuesday catch the urine and take him to the vet but that test is not me if it will be entirely reliable the best would be to do it in blood but I do not want to make him pass that drink so hard for not having clear the strip is clear that if it were positive the color would be darker, I have tried to make the urine strip with my urine and it comes out of another strain looks more like the comparison box, it could be that in animals it does not look like the color or I do not know since to think next time I will change manufacturer. Or look at a ketone meter for Christmas, now I have the money very fair. @Fistuk & Shelly
I know it's a lot of expenses! You're doing a great job, taking care of him and watching out for him :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So far (the 20% she's using is a liquid)

  • 57 2tsp 8% 1tsp 12%
  • 44@ +1.5 2 tsp 20%
  • 42@+1.45 2tsp20% drop honey and 1tsp 13% food
  • 51@2.25. 1tsp 20%/ 1 13%
Timings are a little bit off, having trouble getting a reading with the meter at ti es
 
Last edited:
Great he's back up now.

Check him again 30minutes after that 61 see if he stays up with just that 8%.

You'll need to check him again at +4.25 (1am our time) just to make sure he stays up once the carbohidrates have worn of.

That's in one hour and 25 minutes from this post @Angela & Cleo can you look out for Xelo and Sinver just in case he drops again?
 
yes I see it now. It was at +2.25.
The protocol has us check the BGS for two hours after feeding High Carb food. Are you feeling well enough to stay awake until +4?
 
yes I see it now. It was at +2.25.
The protocol has us check the BGS for two hours after feeding High Carb food. Are you feeling well enough to stay awake until +4?
If there are 40 minutes left I will stay awake for the measurement, I continue studying and as soon as the time is I tell you how it goes
 
Sinver has gone down again to 57 I try to give the food of 8% and not dear, I had to give two tablespoons of the 12% I do not want it to go down more there are still 2 hours left for the nadir. What do you think about how much I should measure it? @Angela & Cleo
 
I'm sleepy, tomorrow I get up early with the baby, I hope that sinver this better after the meal did not want to eat much because he has eaten in each measurement and is a little tired of eating. I don't know how long I'll stand. tomorrow morning I will catch a +11 I do not get a surprise I have to leave soon to take the baby to the doctor
 
Xelo you are amazing juggling so many things.
Can you leave out the food for Sinver to eat?
Have a good night's rest. Another wonderful job tonight :bighug::bighug:
Don't forget to reduce the dose in the morning. His new dose is 1.5units :cat:
 
Xelo you are amazing juggling so many things.
Can you leave out the food for Sinver to eat?
Have a good night's rest. Another wonderful job tonight :bighug::bighug:
Don't forget to reduce the dose in the morning. His new dose is 1.5units :cat:

Thank you for everything Angela yesterday my body rested but these hours come and after all day with the baby you are tired. You know how my life is 5 cats. Baby, house, studies, medical studies with the baby. The truth is that I have been very tired for a long time. I can't leave food the other cats eat it is impossible but if I will buy another bathroom and leave sinver locked in another room with his bath and food ... I think he will not go down much more hopefully ... good night until tomorrow thanks for everything.
:bighug::bighug::kiss:
 
Thank you for everything Angela yesterday my body rested but these hours come and after all day with the baby you are tired. You know how my life is 5 cats. Baby, house, studies, medical studies with the baby. The truth is that I have been very tired for a long time. I can't leave food the other cats eat it is impossible but if I will buy another bathroom and leave sinver locked in another room with his bath and food ... I think he will not go down much more hopefully ... good night until tomorrow thanks for everything.
:bighug::bighug::kiss:
That 85 @+5 means I think you're good for the night. Hope you get some good rest :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top