10/1 Ruby AMPS 90/+3 144/+6 92/+9 56

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-14-ruby-amps-99-4-49-pmps-138.268404/#post-3000047

Hi everyone! :bighug: Ruby has been well since we started tapering her pred. She only gets it in the morning now, and we can clearly see the effect the pred has on her BGs. The morning dose bumps up her numbers for a while and then they start coming down pretty fast and then they stay pretty low through the night. I was only giving the pred to her once a day because we had 5 mg pills that we broke in half. Because I'm a little concerned about her lower numbers at night, I asked the oncologist for a prescription from Wedgewood of 2.5 mg pills that we cut in half. The pills arrived today and I will be giving her pred twice a day again starting tomorrow. We'll see what the lower dose of pred does to her BGs. Watching her closely and am ready to reduce her insulin if needed.

Happy Caturday everyone. :)
upload_2022-10-1_17-23-15.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-10-1_17-23-15.png
    upload_2022-10-1_17-23-15.png
    272.5 KB · Views: 83
Hello Katherine and sweet Ruby. Good to hear from you. And what a difference a little bit of pred makes. :D

I got pred compounded into soft chew treats that were pretty easy to split in half. Great for tapering!
 
Hello Katherine and sweet Ruby. Good to hear from you. And what a difference a little bit of pred makes. :D

I got pred compounded into soft chew treats that were pretty easy to split in half. Great for tapering!
Hi Wendy! Thanks for letting me know about the soft chew treats. I spoke with the pharmacist at Wedgewood and she never suggested compounding pred so that it would be easier to give a smaller dose. The 2.5 mg pills I got today are round and when I try to cut them in half, about 1 in 4 of them crumble into nothing. Given that these pills are $.50 each, I'm a little upset that I lost so many while cutting. I'm going to use up this bottle and see if I can get 2.5 compounded into soft chews that I can break apart. Ruby will like them I am sure.

Another reason why I wanted to go back to twice a day is that she would not eat her evening meals without the pred at the beginning, but now I think her body is getting used to being on a lower dose and she's eating more at night. Her lower numbers at night are also probably making her hungry as she's always been good about feeding herself when her BGs drop. She's become so good at managing her own diabetes, it's pretty remarkable. I'm so proud of my Ruby. :)
 
Back
Top