10/1 Loudogg AMPS 292 +9 254 PMPS 274 - Increased to 2.5u tonight.

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
September 30, 2018 Condo

Good morning all!
I really appreciate the discussion and the support yesterday, so much. It's one of those situations where I guess we can talk until we turn green, but nothing really will be decided until we go to the vet and have some BW done. :( Not the best situation for any inpatient person or one who just wants to make everything better. I thought I might have somewhat of a good cycle last night, with the blue PMPS, but he went right back up into the yellows. Today will be cycle 6 on the 2.25u since he had his one good run at the lagoon, so I'm thinking it's time for another increase. Do you think we should increase tonight? I normally would say yes, but with the current situation and the unknowns, I'm hesitating in my knowledge. So far, feeding Lou his AMPS meal in two parts works beautifully to curb the after-breakfast vomit. I've figured out how to do that still with my schedule in the morning when I have to go to work, so hopefully it'll still work at 30 minutes apart.

Bobbie, (@Bobbie And Bubba ) for your HyperT kitty, what do you give for meds (what form)? Do you just give a pill daily or is it a liquid med? I figure I need to decide what will work best if it is a thyroid issue. If it's dental, I think I'll schedule one just to be on the safe side.

Well, today's my last day of work before I finally get two days off. Whew! I cannot wait! I definitely need a day off. I hope you all have a marvelous Monday and your kitties stay safe! Sending vines of love, comfort, healing, and peace to all those kitties and beans in need. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Lou is being a bouncy kitty. I'd let what he does to day guide you. If he doesn't get back to green, I'd increase the dose. Sending vetty vines for tomorrow.
 
So far, feeding Lou his AMPS meal in two parts works beautifully to curb the after-breakfast vomit. I've figured out how to do that still with my schedule in the morning when I have to go to work, so hopefully it'll still work at 30 minutes apart.
I'm glad thats helping with the vomit in the morning.

The numbers do seem to be trending up, overall he is seeing much less green.
That 58 5 cycles ago has me a little bit cautious as there's not much margin for error here.
You mention you've got two days off coming up, am I right to assume you will be able to monitor a little more in that am cycle in the next two days?
If you are, if he doesn't see green or low blue in this cycle, and if you are able to monitor, I would be tempted to take his dose up. He eats well so that's a nice safety net should you need him to eat to bolster his BG (vomit is only in the am right? appetite is good?)
If you see a mid to low blue this cycle then I would probably hold the dose and see what he does tonight just in case with the other issues he's having he takes a little longer to clear.
 
For hyperthyroidism, methimazole is given in 3 forms - pills, liquid, or transdermal. I have heard good things about transdermal because it bypasses the GI tract as it does cause GI upset in some cats. My civvie was on pills for a few months with no side effects. Good luck with the BW.
 
I'm glad thats helping with the vomit in the morning.
The numbers do seem to be trending up, overall he is seeing much less green.
That 58 5 cycles ago has me a little bit cautious as there's not much margin for error here.
You mention you've got two days off coming up, am I right to assume you will be able to monitor a little more in that am cycle in the next two days?
If you are, if he doesn't see green or low blue in this cycle, and if you are able to monitor, I would be tempted to take his dose up. He eats well so that's a nice safety net should you need him to eat to bolster his BG (vomit is only in the am right? appetite is good?)
If you see a mid to low blue this cycle then I would probably hold the dose and see what he does tonight just in case with the other issues he's having he takes a little longer to clear.
Absolutely! I'll be able to monitor him closely for those days. He does only vomit after his AM meal, and he has been having no appetite issues otherwise. That sounds like a good, sound plan Gill, thank you!

For hyperthyroidism, methimazole is given in 3 forms - pills, liquid, or transdermal. I have heard good things about transdermal because it bypasses the GI tract as it does cause GI upset in some cats. My civvie was on pills for a few months with no side effects. Good luck with the BW.
Transdermal sounds pretty awesome! Where they smallish pills? Could you feed with food or did you need to pill your kitty?
 
Transdermal sounds pretty awesome! Where they smallish pills? Could you feed with food or did you need to pill your kitty?
Transdermal is put on the ear flaps, alternating between morning and night.

The pills were really small. I used Pill Pockets. My civvie Tanner loved Pill Pockets. I just wrapped a piece around the pill and gave it to him. It was a special treat for him and I think he knew he was the only one who could get the yummy treat! He had the i131 and became hypothyroid so he was getting the Pill Pocket (methimazole first then Armour later) 2x daily for 5 years and it was rare I had to "pill" him.
 
Bobbie, (@Bobbie And Bubba ) for your HyperT kitty, what do you give for meds (what form)? Do you just give a pill daily or is it a liquid med? I figure I need to decide what will work best if it is a thyroid issue
Forrest gets He is getting 2.5 mg methimazole twice a day. I crush the little half pill between two spoons and add a little dopple of his food on the spoon and smash the pill powder into the food and give that to him first to make sure he eats it and gets all his meds. Then I give him 1/2 of his food for breakfast and wait 30 minutes before giving him the second 1/2 and it is working out well. He does not know that the pill is in his food.

I do think the transdermal get to put on the ear is more expensive that the methimazole . BTW, the meth is a human drug so I get it filled at Costco. REally cheap there and you don't have to be a member to use their pharmacy. I can get 3 months worth for what the vet office charged me for 3 weeks.
 
Forrest gets He is getting 2.5 mg methimazole twice a day. I crush the little half pill between two spoons and add a little dopple of his food on the spoon and smash the pill powder into the food and give that to him first to make sure he eats it and gets all his meds. Then I give him 1/2 of his food for breakfast and wait 30 minutes before giving him the second 1/2 and it is working out well. He does not know that the pill is in his food.

I do think the transdermal get to put on the ear is more expensive that the methimazole . BTW, the meth is a human drug so I get it filled at Costco. REally cheap there and you don't have to be a member to use their pharmacy. I can get 3 months worth for what the vet office charged me for 3 weeks.
Awesome, that's what I was hoping could be done with the pill instead of officially pilling. I'm glad the Pill Pockets work for Mandy, but I think I heard they're not low carb/will cause BG spikes in diabetics. Obviously they're a great option and we'll make it work if necessary. Thank you so much for the Costco tip!!! We have a Costco here and I'm a member, so that would be fantastically easy for me!
 
I used the transdermal on a civvie, it was great as She was a monster to pill. I don't know about using that form and testing. I guess if you really clean the ears well it should be okay.
 
The dog version, duck and pea, allergy free pill pockets are low carb friendly. The pill pockets are larger, so I just broke off a piece. They are strong smelling. Not all cats like them, fortunately Neko and her civvie both did. They used to make cat versions of this flavour and manufacturerer decided to stop making them when I first came in the board. :arghh:

I have a friend who gives her kitty methizamole compounded into chicken flavour liquid. Her kitty laps it up. My aunt's cat was on the ear gel for ages. Cat finally passed at age 23, actually outlived my aunt. A friend was able to easily give the med to the cat. Much easier than pills if you have to go away. Down side is dosing accuracy won't be as accurate as pills.

But this is all putting the cart before the horse. HyperT is not the only possible cause for what you are seeing.

As for increase, I am with Gill, wait until the full six cycles after that lower green. Curious to see how today goes. Last night was a very flat yellow. :cool:
 
From what I can tell (Caleb tested later than usual), another flat yellow cycle. I'll up him to 2.5u tonight and watch him the next couple of days. Hopefully we'll get some answers one way or another at the vet tomorrow.

Thank you so much for your dosing suggestions and information about HyperT meds. I know I'm getting a bit ahead of myself, but if it was HyperT, I wanted information regarding the meds so I'd be ready to make an informed decision while there.
 
Back
Top