10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VIDEO!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's summary
AMPS 430 <-- not much food
+2.5 <---- 90 minute car ride
+4 143 <--- balance of breakfast offered, ate most by +8
+5 168
+6 178
+9 371
+11 482
PMPS 491
+2.5 430
+6 353

Oh Leo, bouncie bouncie. I had hoped those strings of blues wouldn't freak out Mr. L, but I was wrong. Perhaps it was the car ride catching up with him. He's recovered from the trip faster than the last few times (in terms of the 5 P's), perhaps due to the Cerenia, getting used to the trip, or returning someplace he is familiar with. Whatever the case, we can only hope he makes more wonderful progress towards becoming a Kommuting Kitty.

Leo is playing and grooming this morning. Haven't checked the LB yet, but am hopeful things are A-ok. I was pretty tired yesterday and had a training run to do, and REALLY didn't want to do it, but I forced myself to. I ran further than I wanted and faster than I had intended, and collapsed into a slug in the late afternoon and dozed a bit. After some ~O) ~O) I was up the rest of the evening. Whew!!!

Survey! A conversation started in my last condo about travel, and I have a couple of questions to ask.

Question 1) If I have two travel options, which would you select for your cat and why? I know, ECID, but I'm looking for rationales. I can either 1) shoot and leave an hour later for a 4.5 hour ride, or 2) leave around +10, and stop to shoot half-way through the trip. So far Leo hasn't shown interest in eating in the car, but I will try it. So I must choose between shot-and-(potential) barf and shot-and-(potentially) no-food until +3.

Question 2) What sort of carrier do you use? I have a hard carrier (Pet Porter). I wonder if a carrier with a larger view for Leo would help with the nausea/boredom/etc. I've seen soft-side carriers with screen sides, and a large tube. Thoughts on what might help? A consideration is the poopie/vomit factor - ease of cleaning during and after the trip. I've used copious pee pads, which he sometimes treats like litter and scratches away from the sides.

Thanks for your thoughts, and have a great Monday all!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169

Hi Lisa, just stopping in to say Morning to you and Leo. Hope he settles in now that he's home. What are you training for - a longer run like a Marathon? :-D I hope you get some answers on the ride. Ella & Rusty travel with Rusty. I've never taken a trip with Maggie. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128

Hi Ann - I never planned to travel with Leo either! I'm training for a half marathon. I've run one before, and I'm planning on three of them in the spring. I'm running some shorter races in there too. A marathon is a big undertaking in terms of training, and at this point, I don't have the time to train properly. Maybe in a few years if my half training continues to go well and if my body is willing to take the punishment. :shock: Have a nice day!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128

Dont have an answer for you on the travel with kitty but wish you smooth ride with Leo.
Leo doing beautiful today! Surf onto the green Leo!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128

That's a nice drop. Looks like a nice cycle coming up.

I use the large Sherpa carrier for under the seat travel on an airplane and the large Pet Mate Pet Taxi for car travel. I prefer the hard sided for the car, because I think it offers more protection, and are much easier to clean up than the cloth of the Sherpa. Also, I just put the seatbelt through the handle as it is something like 26 inches by 18 inches by 16 inches (it could hold a medium sized dog) and I really don't think the seat belt will go around the whole thing, but I've never tried. I usually keep J.D. on the passenger seat next to me, and want the hard sided in case the air bags should deploy and hope it would protect him. When I bring my cats to the vet in them, people think there's a dog in there, and I bring out a large cat, instead. I bought two of them about 17 years ago, when I was traveling from California to New Jersey. I ended up letting both cats (J.D. was 9 months old, and my large orange cat Buddy) stay in the same carrier. It seems like J.D. looks out from the holes in the sides, but I don't know how much he can see. A large metal crate might work, but I don't know how much Leo would be standing on his toes to look out at the fast moving scenery anyway. I would think that would make him feel more sick. I did travel with Ginger in one of the large tent like crates to Pittsburgh once, and didn't think it was sturdy enough to protect her if I should have to slam on my brakes.

I have to think about your other question some more. If you were to leave at +10, then Leo's tummy would be empty? so less tendancy to throw up, and if he didn't eat in the car, then he would only have to go 2? more hours without eating before you got home, as opposed to eating at shot time, and then traveling with food in his belly, so more chance of throw up, and then if he didn't eat in the car, 4.5 hours without eating the other way?
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128

Hi Dyana - I am currently using the same carrier that you are. I don't know if it's the same size, but I can get the seatbelt around the front with a couple inches to spare.

Dyana said:
I have to think about your other question some more. If you were to leave at +10, then Leo's tummy would be empty? so less tendancy to throw up, and if he didn't eat in the car, then he would only have to go 2? more hours without eating before you got home, as opposed to eating at shot time, and then traveling with food in his belly, so more chance of throw up, and then if he didn't eat in the car, 4.5 hours without eating the other way?

Yes, that's the sum of it. Spelling it out the way you did, it seems like leaving at +10 and shooting on the road might be the better choice. Let's see what others have to say. Thanks for your thoughts!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108

Hi guys .. I dont have any travel advice for you, but I sure do like the numbers I'm seeing on leo today .. blue is a good color on him, but I think he's trying to add in some green before too long! Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108

You are one dedicated MommaBean! I'm glad you are able to travel with Leo, and his numbers look great today! GOOOO Leo!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108

Glad to hear Leo traveled well for you yesterday. Nice blue surf today.

Just a thought on your travel plans Thursday, if Leo is in blue again, and you shoot before you go, will you be stopping to check and make sure he doesn't drop too low on the trip? If the trip is 4.5 hours, he has a lot of time to drop vs. shooting in the middle of the trip. Does that makes sense?
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108 +4.75 122

@Carla - yes, that makes sense. I would stop and check BGs. I suppose a problem would be if he refuses to eat if I need him to. I'm so NOT USED to shooting blues, but lately we're having that kind of luck :razz: So I think your thoughts mirror what I'm thinking from Dyana's thoughts. (make sense?!?) Leaving at +10 is looking safer.

@Dale - thanks! This Mamabean loves her little Leo! This is a lot of stress, though, as you know! Congrats again on Max's wonderful success!

@Devon - thanks for the support - honestly, I'm happy with blue surfing for a while. Especially since I have to work. If he can surf blue with forays to yellow (and ok, I'll allow occasional pinks) consistently (and safely) then I'll look for more greens. We don't exactly have a lot of experience with stable blues or dips in greens that don't involve HHHHHHHHC food :-D
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 Sur

BLUUUUUUEEEE SURFFFFFFFF!!!

Our first full blue surf!!!!! Actually, probably our first surf of only one color!! Woohoo!

Hopefully this won't result in a bounce. We'll see where he goes now! ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 Sur

Woo Hoo on the blue surf! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 Sur

Congrats on the blue surf, and may it continue for a few hours yet! I know I definitely celebrated the first time Neko went longer than one cycle in just blue.

For traveling, I use the hard sided one as well. I also seatbelt it down and it is safer if there is some reason to brake suddenly. When I did the long trip to Fort Collins, I was a bad bean and let Neko free roam. She was just so unhappy in the carrier. The first two hours of the trip she was in the carrier, but we gave in and knowing we had 3 days of 8-9 hours on the road each way, we caved. Part of the time she stayed in her carrier just to sleep. All travel days we fed Neko and left for the road sometime between +1 to +2. But she is not a barfer on the road. She didn't seem to need to see outside, because part of the trip she went into the back of the trunk and slept in her basket. Just lucky I guess.

And do make sure you have your testing kit and food in a container handy in the front of the car. On my way back from Fort Collins, Neko gave me a 72! :o after a yellow start. I had seen low blue and given her HC, but she kept on going down. For your case the +10 scenario sounds safer, but I'd worry if he was low at PS and not going to eat for 3 hours. Would you be able to delay your shot in that case? Say an hour? Onset should happen around +2 so that would be a worry without food. Will Leo eat right away when he gets back to the apartment?
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55

EEEK!

55 at +2.

Don't want a dose decrease ... although I admit I started shooting 15 minutes earlier the past 3 cycles because I have a meeting on Thursday morning and have to shoot 2 hours early. So .... this may be due to compressing the cycle. Hopefully no bounce. Grrr.

He's due for more LC food at +3. I just gave 1/8 can MC FF to pop him back up a bit. I don't want to steer, but I also don't want him any lower.

Darn it Leo more ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55

Leo is happy and comfortable to be "home". Surf Leo. Get up on that board.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +1 128 +2.5 108 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 Sur

Wendy&Neko said:
And do make sure you have your testing kit and food in a container handy in the front of the car. On my way back from Fort Collins, Neko gave me a 72! :o after a yellow start. I had seen low blue and given her HC, but she kept on going down. For your case the +10 scenario sounds safer, but I'd worry if he was low at PS and not going to eat for 3 hours. Would you be able to delay your shot in that case? Say an hour? Onset should happen around +2 so that would be a worry without food. Will Leo eat right away when he gets back to the apartment?

I took one of the square milk crates and filled it with supplies. I have a smallish organizer box with his monitor, strips, lancets, meds, sock, etc. It goes in the crate. I also have a ziplock with several cans of HC and the bottle of Karo. And a ziplock with several cans of MC, and a ziplock with several cans of LC. Garbage bags, roll of paper towels, litterbox wipes, a couple extra pee pads, snacks, a little food/water bowl...not sure what else, but it sits in the back seat where I can get at it. I'm glad I packed it - a couple times have been able to reach behind me for paper towels or whatever.

I don't have any flexibility in his shot time, due to my morning meeting. I can try to leave earlier by an hour, which would "delay" his shot like you are thinking? I don't know if he'll eat immediately. He did the other day (9/30) but his BG was over 400 AMPS. Or, just delay and "pay the consequences" the next few cycles? Well, since I'll be trying to work him back to a later shoot time, maybe that's the best solution is just to outright delay the shot time because "the consequences" are actually what I want.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49

Come on Leo, up just a little on the Board!
Nice, Leo and his sis, Maggie, meet in the Green Lagoon!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49

Whether you wanted it or not, Leo wants less insulin!! Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49

Don't want a dose decrease ...

Apparently Leo has his own ideas :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48

Ok, Carl, Sienne...

I shot the last 2-3 cycles 15 minutes early in preparation for an early meeting on Thursday. This acts as a dose increase. Is this an artificial reduction because I've been advancing his shot time? He was just starting to show nice blues between the bounces!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48

15 min. doesn't really have an effect. Actually, up to 30 min. may not have an effect on numbers. It's a legit drop. Look at your SS. Leo's been working up to this drop all day.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48

Lisa,
The protocol is a set of guidelines. This from the sticky:
The suggested "guidelines" in the Tight Regulation Protocol are just that... guidelines. Not hard and fast rules.

If you've given shots early (effectively dose increases), then you aren't obligated to reduce (actually you aren't obligated at any time - they are "guidelines").
That said, if Leo is determined to go this low this early in the cycle, he's probably trying to tell you something? If you have to work to keep his numbers up (especially if you won't be around to monitor future cycles at this dose), then he's earning his reduction, no?

That's just my opinion. I've never lived what you're living with Lantus. I just lurk, read, and ask lots of questions. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48

Nice Blue surf and then down ....Wow today.

I vote for the hard carrier that you said you have , easy clean up and as the breeder that we got our current sheltie puppy told us, happy
that we had brought our large pet crate, they are much safer.
They knew ( being in competitions) several other folks who had car accidents with pets on board. There was even an instance where
the dog in the crate was thrown from the car but because he was still in his crate, the crate held and their dog wasn't running across
a busy highway.
We often travel with our pets free in the car but the one thing that scares me most is a scared animal is always a flight risk and you have
to be extra careful getting in and out. Last year when we were evacuated for another fire, a friend of mine was taking her 3 cats to the car and the frailest , toothless , oldest one bolted and ran just as she was closing the door. (They traveled all the time but the cat panicked)
She had no choice but to leave town, without her - and fortunately that cat showed up the day after we were allowed back into town. ( a week later)
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48

+3.75 45

O-kkkkkkkkkkkk......

He's chasing invisible bugs again. I have to go back and see if this is a low BG behavior. He's been crazed before. I shot video - let me see if it came out.

Broke out the Karo for a little drop with some MC.

Lil Stinker
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 +4.75 122 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48

Holy moley! Where did those numbers come from?!?!?! Best wishes on bringing Leo up safely (and not bombarding him with mass carbs like I do upon occasion!) Good night!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45

Oh Rhiannon - what a story - I would be *sick* if that happened to one of my cats. I think I would have been breaking evacuation regulations on that one. Wow. (Not so say she didn't do whatever she could...just that I would be mamabear.)

I was hoping someone had a suggestion for a crate other than mine that would be as safe but might make him happier. But you're right about safety, and a good point with the air bags. So I'll stick to this one and see if I can make it more hospitable. It vibrates on the seat and I wonder about getting some bubble wrap sheets or gel sheets to dampen out the ride. Kitty Crate Shock Absorbers! DH said, okay, we have to by a Cadillac and it's smooth suspension for the cat! :lol: SPOILED!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45

Hi Deborah

I didn't want to give Karo but we are early in the cycle and he dipped to 45, so I did give him a drop in his last mini-meal. I'm reviewing what I've done in the past to see if I can be less aggressive. But hey - too high is better than too low.

Thanks - Lisa
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45

PMPS 126
+2 55 <--- 1 tsp gravy
+2.5 49 <--- 1 tsp HC
+3 48 <--- 1 tsp HC
+3.25 45 <--- 1 tsp MC + 1 drop Karo
+3.5 61 <--- 1tsp LC

Sigh. ~O) ~O) ~O)

OKAY he earned the reduction - YAY! :-D
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

My 2 (more) cents:

If you're having to work this hard to get Leo out of the 40s, I'd be thinking dose reduction.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

Congrats on the reducie! Surf a bit higher Leo! Nice green!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

PMPS 126
+2 55 <--- 1 tsp gravy
+2.5 49 <--- 1 tsp HC
+3 48 <--- 1 tsp HC
+3.25 45 <--- 1 tsp MC + 1 drop Karo
+3.5 61 <--- 1/8can LC
+3.75 54 <--- 1/8c LC
+4.25 43 <--- 1/8c LC + 1drop Karo

Boy these late nights are a drag. At least I can sleep in a little in the morning. @-)
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

If he doesn't come up over 50-55 at +5, I'd probably drop a tsp of HC on him. It'll stick around a little longer than the drops of karo will.

Carl
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

+4.5 53 <--- 1/8c MC

Sheesh. When he decides to drop, he drops! I was so happy with his completely blue surf, I just thought he was going to bounce up again. I hope Mr P is getting the memo. Our last run on 1.5u wasn't so great.

Carl - he should be above 55 I would hope - I gave some MC at +4.5. I'll test again a little after +5 and we'll see.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

I have a little different take on the last time he was on 1.5...
Look at his last cycle on that dose. He went from a red AMPS down to 231 an hour after PMPS. That drop at +1 that night wasn't due to the increase to 1.75, he hadn't reached onset yet. I think he was going green that night even without the increase. I think it took that long for him to start settling into the dose maybe? I think that increasing to 1.75 was the right thing to do, but I wouldn't be surprised if 1.5 works just fine this time around.
Carl
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

+5 48 <--- 1/8c HC

@Carl - you were right. I'm trying not to chase the insulin with food like you advised me last time. I popped the Karo because that jumps him 10 points right away, and we were on this side of the nadir. I'm hoping that he'll settle shortly so I don't blast him into blacks. Although he may take me there no matter what!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

@Carl - my SS isn't completely clear - his last shot on 1.5u was 9/23 PM. His AM shot 9/24 started with 1.5u but I threw in a 0.25 chaser an hour later. I was tired of the reds/pinks and there was chatter here that he was done with 1.5u and needed an increase. So, the dosing at that point wasn't exactly "protocol"! Thanks for taking a look - I do hope that you are right and that he responds better to 1.5u this time around.
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

Carbs aren't going to blast him into blacks. A big bounce will perhaps ;-) You can't stop a bounce off the 40's (or any number for that matter). Bounces are instinctive and automatic, and completely up to him. They just happen and you just have to wait them out. That's when you have to swap your BOS for the pair of patience pants :-D
Carl
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

Yeah, the blasting bounces. He's been clearing them a little better, but we haven't had a Karo event (or actually a cycle where he needed help) for a little while.

My BOS are actually fine this time. I know what to do overall, and I'm trying to steer him more than blast him. Learning curve - each time I learn more. Thanks for checking in and keeping me honest!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55 +2.5 49 +3 48/45/61 +4

+5.25 69 <--- 1 tsp HC (his response to MC wasn't very good)

VIDEO!
Ok this is Leo with a BG of about 45 about an hour ago. The video is a little over 2 minutes long.

Feel free to move long to 0:50 for the fun. The last 45 seconds I was trying so hard not to laugh, but you can see the camera shake a couple times when I couldn't contain myself! Leo truly seems to think his tail is a completely separate creature!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV9vbAyFnZY&feature=youtu.be
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

That is hilarious! :lol:
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

I'll bet you can get lots of cuddling if you'd scratch the inside of that left ear.
That was a funny video. Free entertainment, chase your tail.


I was waiting for some of the drama to pass to respond to your earlier post.

DH said, okay, we have to by a Cadillac and it's smooth suspension for the cat! SPOILED!

Forget the cadillac. I was thinking RV. Then it's familiar because it's home.
The ultimate crate! :lol:
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

+5.75 97 <--- 1/8 can HC

I'll take a snooze for 40 minutes or so and retest to make sure he's on his way solidly up, but I think we're done for the night. Eeesh. Morning will come too soon!!!!!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

Rhiannon, Carl - isn't he a riot! He did that on and off for a couple hours. In between he preened and laid on the floor next to me at the computer.

RV - great idea - never have to leave home! I'll get DH on that right away. I could use that as my apartment too!!! :-D
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

Good plan. Enjoy your catnap:-)
Carl
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

Well, no catnap - I ended up reading a bit and having some Oreo cookies :-)

+6.5 106. Good enough for me. I just gave him nearly 1/2 can of LC and I'm off to bed.

Good to see you again, Carl!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

Good!
Nice to see you again too Lisa
Good luck with the reduction!

Carl
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

Oh. My. Goodness. :-D

LOVE that video, and the dose reduction. No reason I can see why I shouldn't hold this time - he really worked up to it. Fingers crossed!

Way to go, Lisa and Leo!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

:lol: :lol: :lol: Leo is a might hunter, that's for sure. How frikken' adorable is he?????

Very nice numbers last night!!!
 
Re: 10/1 Leo AMPS 169 PMPS 126 +2 55/49 +3 48 +4 54 +5 48 VI

That is such a cute video. I could see it going "viral" :lol: Thanks for the early morning laugh.

Congratulations and good luck with the new dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top