10/1 Ivy Amps 158,+2.25 57,+3 146,+6 139,+10.5 93,Pmps 55, +3 108,+4 65,+5.75 Lo L, +7 77 C Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
9/30/24
Amps 158 Libre
Good morning,
October already?? :woot:

Last night was a blue cycle on her Libre so I was able to sleep in bed, which was glorious.

It appears she may be sliding down this morning so we’ll see what happens today.

Yesterday a.m. seems to have been a continued bounce from her low cycle on Sunday.

I cut her nails on Sunday and I nicked one nail a little too low and she bled a little bit. :arghh:
I’ve actually never done that before. She must’ve pulled away since it’s a bit of a challenge to cut her nails, but I need to do it about every 10 to 14 days to keep things in check. Her nails certainly have gotten thicker in the past couple of years I assume since FD?
Anyway, I know you can’t use Neosporin. I’m wondering if there’s an alternative that you can put on something like that when that happens just to prevent an infection. Any ideas?

Hope everyone has a safe day :cat:
 
Poor Ivy. Years ago I had a cat who had a nail curl around and poke into her foot. After the vet trimmed it, they told me to mix epsom salt in warm water and soak her paw for 5 minutes a day. I can't remember how many days I did it. I just held her there and petted her and amazingly she let me do it. It kept her paw from getting infected. Maybe Ivy will let you do that. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Sorry that the nail trimming accident happened!
Great suggestion from Carla above @carfurby (GA)! I'll take a note of it as well.
I thought of saline rinse, or wet a gauze with saline and hold it onto her paw if she lets you.
If the bleeding wasn't much, it probably wasn't too deep the cut, but if you see any swelling or redness, maybe to call the vet to get an antibiotic prescription?
Sorry always something!

Beautiful blue cycle last night :cool: and looks like Ivy's betting to the beach already this morning :D
Hope she surfs safely and you have a lovely day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
A lovely start for Ivy this morning - she's recovering nicely from the skipped shot it seems.
How is it October ALREADY? Somehow October 1 is so much more stressful than September 30.
Kit cat also has incredibly thick nails - her vet comments on it every time she cuts Kit's nails. I do minor upkeep on the front claws in between the vet's trims, and then she does the big trim to really shorten them and hit the back claws. I don't know that it's a FD thing, it could also be an age thing or just a genetics thing.
 
Hi Staci,

wow, Ivy had a nice start in the day! :D:D:D:D Seems she is really back on track!

I am sorry about the little accident with her nails. I really wonder how you do that at all. Binie would kill me if I would try to do something with her nails. In Germany we use a product called Octenisept for desinfection for cats and human babys. I think you can not get this in the US but maybe you have a procut with the same main ingredient:
Octenidindihydrochlorid

I did a quick research and some use also hydrogen peroxide. But soaking the nails definitely sounds like a good thing to do to prevent to cut too deep.

I hope Ivy stays in good numbers today but without much drama!

Hope you have a happy tuesday! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
I had the same thing happen with Bella last year, I felt so bad. I pressed on it but did not put anything on it, my reasoning being that she would lick it right away, use her litter box, etc, and that it would not make any difference. It healed well on its own. I agree that if it's swollen and red, then you should call her vet for antibiotics, but other than that, I would leave it alone.
 
I had the same thing happen with Bella last year, I felt so bad. I pressed on it but did not put anything on it, my reasoning being that she would lick it right away, use her litter box, etc, and that it would not make any difference. It healed well on its own. I agree that if it's swollen and red, then you should call her vet for antibiotics, but other than that, I would leave it alone.
It looks fine. I was able to check on it today. Not red or swollen.
Thanks for everyone’s great suggestions!!
I felt like a terrible mommy:blackeye:

And then tonight her PMpS was dropping on her Libre so I fed her 12.5% dinner and gave her shot.
Could be an interesting night ;)
 
Hi Staci and Ivy!

Sorry to hear about the nail incident. Hopefully it heals well and with no issues. I heard you can apply syptic powder to stop the bleeding (when it first happens) and it should be pet safe.
Soaking her paw or applying a compress (like mentioned above) sounds like a good idea though.
Hopefully no infection.

Nestle and Peanut send their love.

Although it looks like Ivy was already hanging out with Nestle earlier today and is back there meow.

Wishing you a peaceful night in your own bed.

upload_2024-10-1_19-26-10.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-1_19-26-10.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-1_19-26-10.jpeg
    41.2 KB · Views: 115
Thanks everyone for your great suggestions on the nail situation. It looks like she’s doing ok 2 days later. I did use some of that pet Styptic powder on the nail when it happened. Maybe it helped?
It’s not red or bad looking, so I think she’s ok.
Many thanks to: :kiss::kiss:
@Mikanmama @carfurby (GA) @Alicia & Kit cat @cecile & bella @Heike & BInie @Karolina KJ & Nestle

It’s been a very busy work day for me so I was remiss about hopping back online :(
Hope everyone is having a calm and boring night (as @Fistuk & Shelly likes to say):bighug::bighug:
 
Another lower cycle tonight. I’ll be sleeping on the sofa again. Ivy will be eating some carbs through the night.
Safe surfing everyone :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
9/30/24
Amps 158 Libre
Good morning,
October already?? :woot:

Last night was a blue cycle on her Libre so I was able to sleep in bed, which was glorious.

It appears she may be sliding down this morning so we’ll see what happens today.

Yesterday a.m. seems to have been a continue
Another lower cycle tonight. I’ll be sleeping on the sofa again. Ivy will be eating some carbs through the night.
Safe surfing everyone :bighug::cat::bighug:
PMPS 55 :stop: I hope Ivy slows down and you both have a calm night.
Safe surfing, Ivy!
:bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
d bounce from her low cycle on Sunday.

I cut her nails on Sunday and I nicked one nail a little too low and she bled a little bit. :arghh:
I’ve actually never done that before. She must’ve pulled away since it’s a bit of a challenge to cut her nails, but I need to do it about every 10 to 14 days to keep things in check. Her nails certainly have gotten thicker in the past couple of years I assume since FD?
Anyway, I know you can’t use Neosporin. I’m wondering if there’s an alternative that you can put on something like that when that happens just to prevent an infection. Any ideas?

Hope everyone has a safe day :cat:
 
Hi Staci and Ivy!

Sorry to hear about the nail incident. Hopefully it heals well and with no issues. I heard you can apply syptic powder to stop the bleeding (when it first happens) and it should be pet safe.
Soaking her paw or applying a compress (like mentioned above) sounds like a good idea though.
Hopefully no infection.

Nestle and Peanut send their love.

Although it looks like Ivy was already hanging out with Nestle earlier today and is back there meow.

Wishing you a peaceful night in your own bed.

View attachment 71120
Love this group of your boy pics, Karolina :kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Hi Staci, I'm glad that Ivy's nail looks fine. I see Ivy had a nice AM cycle today. She sure is keeping you busy tonight. Another night on the couch :(
I think I remember you saying that the couch is comfy , but I'm sure you wish you could sleep in your bed. I think she just likes you to be near her :cat:
Let's go Ivy come back up :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, I'm glad that Ivy's nail looks fine. I see Ivy had a nice AM cycle today. She sure is keeping you busy tonight. Another night on the couch :(
I think I remember you saying that the couch is comfy , but I'm sure you wish you could sleep in your bed. I think she just likes you to be near her :cat:
Let's go Ivy come back up :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You’re up late, Diane. I’m up too. I'm feeding and watching her numbers. She does like me close by. She keeps jumping up on me on the sofa and kneading. So I think she’s happy I’m keeping her company and eating tiny snacks all night long.

Sofa is comfy. But it’s not like my bed :(
Oh well. What can you do, right?
Go to sleep. One of us should be sleeping at least :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yeah I'm still up , I'm watching The Godfather again , probably the 100 the time I've watched it. Probably go to sleep soon . How cute that she's jumping on you kneading and I'm sure she's loving those snacks
I hope you can go to sleep soon :bighug::bighug:
Just saw you posted again. I guess you'll be up for awhile . :(
 
Back
Top