dodgingwrenches
Member Since 2010
Just an update on my thread, and some advice requested (previous thread viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105433)
The vet just called me, and they want to keep Heart another night (a few hours ago, they were going to send him home with me tonight)
I just want to run this by you guys, since I am so suspicious of vets and their treatment of diabetes based on my experience when Heart was first diagnosed - his diabetes was completely mismanaged by my old Ottawa vet, and it wasn't until I turned to you guys and switched him to Lantus after learning about it from you, that I got him into remission. He spent three years at the Falls. That said, my Toronto vet here is FANTASTIC. I do trust him, and he took great care of my ferrets. But this is now my sugar cat, and I am extra sensitive about how he is treated based on my bad experience three years ago...
Anyway, Heart went in because of "moderate" Ketones yesterday (my first time seeing Ketones with him) and because he was no longer eating, drinking, or peeing. He has been on an IV for 24 hours now. Ketones this morning were negative again, and he's eating, drinking, and peeing, but his BG has jumped up - was 17mmol (306 in U.S.) just 24 hours ago, now is in the high 20s (~470). This could be due to the glucose drip he's been on because of the DKA (glucose has now been discontinued).
So the vet just called and asked to keep him another night. Said that he is still very dehydrated, and he wants to get him re-hydrated and his BG down to mid-teens again before sending him home for me to resume his lantus protocol. He's been getting 1.5 units of Lantus. They want to also add in a fast acting insulin as well though (in addition to the lantus) just to try and get his BG down. They are worried that if I take him home tonight, and he's still dehydrated and his BG is super high, he'll end up with DKA again. I'm not sure what to do... Part of me wants to take him home and resume his Lantus regime in the comfort of his home. We've had the super high BGs before for weeks. But, he's never had DKA before. I'm also not sure about mixing Lantus with a fast-acting insulin. I don't want his BG bouncing around either.
The vet just called me, and they want to keep Heart another night (a few hours ago, they were going to send him home with me tonight)
I just want to run this by you guys, since I am so suspicious of vets and their treatment of diabetes based on my experience when Heart was first diagnosed - his diabetes was completely mismanaged by my old Ottawa vet, and it wasn't until I turned to you guys and switched him to Lantus after learning about it from you, that I got him into remission. He spent three years at the Falls. That said, my Toronto vet here is FANTASTIC. I do trust him, and he took great care of my ferrets. But this is now my sugar cat, and I am extra sensitive about how he is treated based on my bad experience three years ago...
Anyway, Heart went in because of "moderate" Ketones yesterday (my first time seeing Ketones with him) and because he was no longer eating, drinking, or peeing. He has been on an IV for 24 hours now. Ketones this morning were negative again, and he's eating, drinking, and peeing, but his BG has jumped up - was 17mmol (306 in U.S.) just 24 hours ago, now is in the high 20s (~470). This could be due to the glucose drip he's been on because of the DKA (glucose has now been discontinued).
So the vet just called and asked to keep him another night. Said that he is still very dehydrated, and he wants to get him re-hydrated and his BG down to mid-teens again before sending him home for me to resume his lantus protocol. He's been getting 1.5 units of Lantus. They want to also add in a fast acting insulin as well though (in addition to the lantus) just to try and get his BG down. They are worried that if I take him home tonight, and he's still dehydrated and his BG is super high, he'll end up with DKA again. I'm not sure what to do... Part of me wants to take him home and resume his Lantus regime in the comfort of his home. We've had the super high BGs before for weeks. But, he's never had DKA before. I'm also not sure about mixing Lantus with a fast-acting insulin. I don't want his BG bouncing around either.