10/1 Gus PMPS 402

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Yea, it's been a bummer week. Gus' numbers are on the rise faster than the protocol will allow me to increase. Evidently the tumor got its second wind and is ramping back up. I've been holding for 6 cycles but think I'll start to hold for 4 instead. Is that too much too fast? He's still acting fine but just seems to have less energy. Still eating for 3 and is interested in playing when it's initiated. I really want to get him back down to a safer level. Hope all the other kitties in LL are doing well. I'm off to visit a few condos.
 
Hi Bev: I'm sorry Gus's tumor is acting up and throwing you these numbers.

Personally, I'm not comfy making any suggestions to you with an acro kitty kat. I am hoping one of the acro experienced folks will come along to help out.

Come on Gus....let's see those awesome numbers again.
 
hi bev! nice to see you and gus. i'm sorry you're in a rough patch with him. :YMHUG:

i think you could go up by 1 unit - i'd probably go to 9 tomorrow morning. gus is probably feeling yucky because his numbers are high and as they come back down he'll perk back up. in general, i think the 3 days to let a dose settle is smart, although i've done 4 doses at times. Whether an injection is 1unit or 20units, it needs to fill the shed to the new dose before you know exactly what a dose is going to do.

but 2 changes you can make that might help - make your dose increases larger - 10% is a general rule of thumb. when the protocol is talking about .25 increases for doses up to 3 units and .5 increases if the dose is above 3 units, it would be logical to increase the amount of the increase in proportion to the size of the dose. you could also pull out your R and use it when you get those high preshots BGs.

he's really still been dancing around the same dosage since 9/20, so that's not too bad as high current high numbers would say.

hugs from me & the punkin!
 
I guess the vacation was nice while it lasted, huh?!! I know you've got this covered....you're a whiz when it comes to caring for Gus. I hope that pain in the arse tumor settles down and Gus gets back to his good numbers!
 
Thanks for the advice Julie. To be honest, I am not too apt to use R on him any more unless I lose total control of his numbers. I'll go up by 1U tomorrow AM and keep an eye on him. This too, shall pass.
 
Bev:

Thanks for visiting us. Did your vet put Gus on ABs because he found bacteria or just because that is what vets always want to do when a cat has urinary tract problems?

Sterile cystitis is usually brought on by stress and if you give the cat ABs, they will usually resolve in 5-7 days and if you don't, they will usually resolve in 5-7 days. Before we figured out that Gracie's problem was aluminum toxicity, I had gotten her episodes down to a couple days by using bupe for pain mgmt and rescue remedy. We also had feliway diffusers all over the house. When we were lucky enough to find the Nutrition Response Testing (NRT) vet, she is the one that found that Gracie had all that aluminum in her (most likely from her mother being overvaccinated and passed to the kittens as my friend has Gracie's sister and she has the same problem). As soon as she started detoxing her using Standard Process supplements, Gracie stopped having IC episodes. I did not find that glucosamine/chondroitin helped her in any way. We tried everything.

I've attached an article that Linda (Bear Man) sent me. I never had to use the Elmiron but here is some other info on it:
Elmiron

I hope some of this helps you. I would just try to stay away from ABs if there is no bacteria. Please let me know if I can help.
 

Attachments

Hi Bev,

sorry i'm late to this but agree with Julie - you need to start raising your doses by 1 unit. Being acro - those lower dose raises aren't going to do much for you anymore. And watching closely but still with those high numbers - you could start to go up after every 4th cycle. You have alot of room to move up.

xxx
patti
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top