10/1 Doodle AMPS 134 NO SHOT 94 at 7pm

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
afraid to give insulin because I'm not sure if he goes to low I can get him to eat. Suggestions?
 
Re: 10/1 Doodle AMPS 134

Bloodwork only show elevated white blood cells. On colovomax and metro. for diarrhea. glucose on BW was 211. Vet doesn't want insulin given under 200
 
Re: 10/1 Doodle AMPS 134 ok to shoot?

Did you shoot? How's Doodle doing today? I know he wasn't feeling well yesterday and is now on some meds. If his eating is iffy, holding off on shooting is probably a good idea. Do you have ketone strips? One thing to keep in mind is that an infection + poor appy + no insulin can possibly lead to ketones, so you do want to keep on top of testing for ketones.

I hope he starts feeling better and eating well soon!!
 
Re: 10/1 Doodle AMPS 134 ok to shoot?

Most vets will routinely to not shoot if numbers are below 200. This is because most of their clients don't home test and don't know how to manage low numbers.

Amy's point is well taken. If a kitty has an infection and appetite is off, there's an increased risk for ketones if you skip the shot or reduce the dose.
 
I did not shoot. Too nervous he would not eat. Would ketones have shown in his blood work? I routinely check for them and he's always normal or "trace". I will try to test tonight via urine if not I have a meter to test in blood-just not many strips.

He is at 94 and hasn't had insulin in 41.5 hours. not sure what to make of that???
 
if he's not eating, there are fewer carbs to drive up his blood sugar.

i don't think routine bloodwork would test for ketones. yes, i would stalk the litter box and get a ketone test. or a blood one. as long as he's seeming off I'd test him twice a day for ketones.
 
tested ketones via blood and he has none. I have to say I think this is all stress. If you saw him just now when I brought the ketone meter next to him you would think I was bringing over a bulldozer. (it's about double the size of the glucose meter). It's just strange that he gets so freaked out knowing where he came from. The shelter he was in has heavy traffic and all kinds of noises. When I first brought him home the same thing happened and I narrowed it down to when we were breaking down dog crates he got so scared he stopped eating and was throwing up. The other day something freaked him out (i can't remember what) when he was eating and he immediately threw up and that was the day before this episode I think. I really have to work on a less stressful house for them. I didn't think it was but apparently it is. Hopefully our new house (we are moving in 2 weeks) will be better!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top