10/1 Charlie AMPS 188, +2 107, +4h30m 89, PMPS 205 :-(

Yes. It could be a bounce which can take up to 6 cycles to clear or it could be he wasn’t ready for a reduction and you will just go back to .25. Fingers and paws crossed.
 
Thanks. I'll try to be patient. Dr visit today for a check up. I haven't really talked to her about the Forum. Hopefully she will be okay with what I'm doing. We'll see. She wanted me to start at 3 units and didn't think I needed to worry about testing for a couple of weeks, so.....

I also need to start to tackle his arthritis. Stairs are getting harder for him all of the time. found some good condos about this and plan to ask about Adequan. If I can give that sub-q I can do that now that I've been able to handle insulin. Not sure I could do that if it needs to be muscular though.
 
Many people here use adequan at home sub-q and it does work. I think when your vet sees your spreadsheet he/she will see 3 units would have led to a hypo. You might want to have a fructosamine run to see the average over the last couple of weeks since he’s running higher than he has been this morning. If possible don’t feed less than 2 hours before the blood test as if his pancreas is beginning to heal it will be lower 2 hours after eating.
 
It won’t matter for a fructosamine but if your vet doesn’t think one is needed it’s fine not to do it. You test enough at home so have real time data. It will just be helpful if your dosing is questioned.
 
Hi. It went well. Charlie has a dental on Monday. They'll do blood work and some x-rays when he is out to check his arthritis. I gave a print-out of his BG tests and the only real question she asked was how I measure .1U but was overall pleased with his levels and the frequency of tests. I wasn't trying to keep it from her but the conversation didn't go to where she asked about decisions on dosing.

She was familiar with using Adequan for cats and was open, but thought I should give the cosequin time to work first because she felt they were basically the same things. She did suggest trying some pain meds though I'm not sure what specifically she was thinking. The plan is to see what the x-ray's show.

They want me to bring his insulin so they can inject him when he eats after his procedure, but I'm guessing that will be at least 3-4 hours after his normal AM shot, so am thinking it might be better to skip that dose rather than mess up the schedule.
 
I’m glad it went well. Dentals often lead to cats going OTJ. It would take a long time to get back on schedule. I’d skip if I were you.
 
Yes, I think I'll forget his syringe at the house;) That would be a wonderful outcome. I always get nervous about putting them under but I know he needs this.
 
Back
Top