? 10/1 amps 609 after a hypo last night, do I give the reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea M.

Member Since 2016
Sweet Pea had a hypo last night but has now bounced to 609, her highest ever! Do I give the reduction she earned last night or keep her at the higher dose?
 
I didn't give the reduction. I didn't want to delay her shot while waiting for a response. If anyone has a suggestion about dosing in case this situation happens again I would appreciate it. Thanks
 
The high number this morning is a "bounce" from going into lower numbers last night. There are two options. Some people will give the same dose for ONE cycle, sometimes called "shooting through the bounce" to help with the high numbers. You would do this just for this cycle then take the reduction on the evening shot. The other option is to take the reduction right away. The choice is yours and neither one is right nor wrong. However since the 2.5 units has taken Sweet Pea below reduction level it should be taken today. A bounce can take up to 3 days to clear so higher numbers are not unexpected
 
I didn't give the reduction. I didn't want to delay her shot while waiting for a response. If anyone has a suggestion about dosing in case this situation happens again I would appreciate it. Thanks


I JUST posted as you were. No problem with not taking the reduction for this cycle as I said above, but you should take it for the evening shot.
 
I JUST posted as you were. No problem with not taking the reduction for this cycle as I said above, but you should take it for the evening shot.
I was planning on the reduction for tonight. Hoping the 2.5 will help get her lower for now. She has never been in the 600s before. Thank you for your help!
 
I was planning on the reduction for tonight. Hoping the 2.5 will help get her lower for now. She has never been in the 600s before. Thank you for your help!


That is a big bounce, but with the lower numbers from last night and extra food she got last night it is not totally unexpected. Hope the bounce breaks quickly :bighug:
 
Seconding all that Mary Ann @Tuxedo Mom said above.

Also, do take into consideration that, if your cat has had a hypo, this may mean that her sensitivity to insulin increases. So, it is even more important to be cautious about the dosage and to be able to monitor closely, especially when she drops out of this bounce.
As an example of what can happen: My own cat has had 4 hypos (that I know of, haha! ;) ). None of the first 3 made him any more sensitive to insulin, but the 4th did. He had a hypo a few weeks ago and his insulin requirements have dropped dramatically. Where previously I might give .75 of a unit at a preshot of around 180 (10mmol) I now can't give more than 0.1 of a unit without him threatening to drop too low.

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top