? 10-08 Pretty Girl - AMPS 165 +1 158 +10 377

JeanW

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

After lots of highs late yesterday and overnight this morning I am greeted with 165.

While her numbers have certainly run very high, I have never shot a number this low and am not comfortable doing so when I have to leave home soon for the entire day. Her numbers were so much better a week ago. This seems to happen after she settles into a dose for 10 days or so.

Help
 
Last edited:
Well that is a bummer that she would give you a nice blue start to shoot today, but with you not able to monitor all day, you would be wise to skip. If you were able to monitor that nice blue start is such a gift as Lantus isn't good at pulling high numbers down, rather it is better at keeping lower numbers flatter.

Expect her to be high tonight. Since you will be skipping the count for cycles will start over tonight.
 
She has eaten this morning - but I couldn't call it a lot
Well that is a bummer that she would give you a nice blue start to shoot today, but with you not able to monitor all day, you would be wise to skip. If you were able to monitor that nice blue start is such a gift as Lantus isn't good at pulling high numbers down, rather it is better at keeping lower numbers flatter.

Expect her to be high tonight. Since you will be skipping the count for cycles will start over tonight.
Thank you. I will do that since I won't be home to monitor.

She has eaten and it's reasonable amount on the small side - not a lot like she usually does - but is that because her numbers are low?
 
The depot is still in action. :cat: There's not much you can do if you skipped the shot, other than doing tests to see what happens when you do a NS.
But it should be going up at least some by an hour and a half after eating. I need to see it move up before I go to work.
 
Could she hypo while I'm at work due to the depot??
No, if she was in the 150's at your last test, which I think is +13 (13 hours since PMPS), she would not drop much farther and you are safe down to 68 with the pet meter. With her recent numbers, I don't see her getting much lower than where she is now.
 
She just couldn't get settled this morning. Nothing was right. I gave her a bit of turkey, more canned food, a treat and still she couldn't get settles. Very worried.
 
Nice numbers for a no shot! I hope when you come home tonight she isn't sky high.
Thank you. I hope the same.

Do I need to worry about checking on her throughout the day today? Both her and I would love a break from testing until PMPS time tonight.
 
No need to worry. Do get a test when you walk in the door after work if that's before PMPS.
I agree with Mandy. No need to test, pokey break day and as Mandy said, get on at PMPS time as you normally would.

Also, I meant to comment about you saying that last night could have been a FS. If it were, I think some insulin did get into her to bring her down to a blue AMPS this morning. This is a perfect example of why we say "Do Not Reshoot " when you think there was a FS. Sometimes we think it was one and it wasn't or it was a partial one and then the depot helps out and if you reshot, kitty could be in trouble with low numbers.
 
I agree with Mandy. No need to test, pokey break day and as Mandy said, get on at PMPS time as you normally would.

Also, I meant to comment about you saying that last night could have been a FS. If it were, I think some insulin did get into her to bring her down to a blue AMPS this morning. This is a perfect example of why we say "Do Not Reshoot " when you think there was a FS. Sometimes we think it was one and it wasn't or it was a partial one and then the depot helps out and if you reshot, kitty could be in trouble with low numbers.
Thank you both. It was so good to take a break.

@Bobbie And Bubba, thanks for the reinforcement but no I would NEVER reshoot. It's probably correct to say that it was a partial fur shot last night.

The cats may make me lose my mind tonight. I was up literally all night last night with Pretty Girl and I am a mess today

I may not be able to give a shot at all tonight because Pretty Girl and her roommate SweetPea have apparently decided they will not be eating wet food for a while. They turn up their noses at several different kinds tonight and walk away. But they did really like the turkey and a treat I gave them. Those they happily ate. However it's not enough to give a shot of any kind.

See my thread here about SweetPea - but I can't give a shot at all if Pretty Girl doesn't eat more. She seems really good - just doesn't want the wet food I'm offering. May have to drink the rest of the bottle of wine tonight!
 
Pretty Girl didn’t eat so little that I’m highly worried about her but not enough for me to give a shot either. I cannot stay up with her tonight. Can not.
 
Pretty Girl is purring more than I have heard her purr in literally years!

I’ve ordered more and different canned food and it should be here in a day or two. Hoping that will make them both want to eat canned food again
 
Last edited:
Sorry I missed the tag earlier on yesterday's post about the increase. It's Canadian Thanksgiving weekend, I've been with family.

Unfortunately it's really hard to tell what this dose is doing for Pretty Girl. The depot should have at least six cycles at the same dose for us to say what this dose is doing. But there are a lot of skips and fur shots in there. Not blaming, just saying it makes it hard to suggest what to do because we don't have good data. For now, since you have seen numbers below 150, I would hold the dose as per SLGS.

By the way, you could have shot at least a 1/2 dose tonight, to help preserver the depot a bit. Not all insulin goes to combat the carbs om food. Even kitties who cannot eat because they are getting anesthesia are recommended to get a half dose. Next time Pretty Girl isn't eating what you want, instead of skipping, try a half dose. You probably could have shot the full dose cause she's so high, but work your way up to it.
 
Jean, get some all meat baby food like chicken, turkery or ham ( I like Beechnut brand as there is no corn starch in it) That is my go too in times when Bubba is having some sort of GI upset and refuses to eat. That usually will get him to eat. Also get some Flortiflora. That stuff is like crack cocaine and sometimes Bubba will turn up his nose to a meal that has his poo poo supplements in there. If I sprinkle a lit bit of Flortiflora over the top of his food as if I were salted the food, BINGO, he starts eat like he is starving. One little packet of it will literally last me days with using it for two cat. I only use it to entice them to eat not for it probiotic properties.

I agree with Wendy about shooting at least a 1/2 dose to get some insulin in and then you have about 2 hours before onset to get her to eat. Maybe another flavor of something would help.

I hope the above helps.
 
Jean, get some all meat baby food like chicken, turkery or ham ( I like Beechnut brand as there is no corn starch in it) That is my go too in times when Bubba is having some sort of GI upset and refuses to eat. That usually will get him to eat. Also get some Flortiflora. That stuff is like crack cocaine and sometimes Bubba will turn up his nose to a meal that has his poo poo supplements in there. If I sprinkle a lit bit of Flortiflora over the top of his food as if I were salted the food, BINGO, he starts eat like he is starving. One little packet of it will literally last me days with using it for two cat. I only use it to entice them to eat not for it probiotic properties.

I agree with Wendy about shooting at least a 1/2 dose to get some insulin in and then you have about 2 hours before onset to get her to eat. Maybe another flavor of something would help.

I hope the above helps.
This all really helps. Thank you. Please see today’s condo.
 
Back
Top