10/08 Milo +12 @90/AMPS 101/+3.75 @86/+6.25 @79/PMPS @88/+2.25 @139

Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

Member Since 2020
Milo is getting teeth done today. My vet and I aren’t on the same page with insulin and he wanted me to pull him off completely as he was concerned about potassium levels based on how he hung his head last time he was there. I skinnied his dose once to show the vet what happens and, of course, he went up.
This morning he’s at 90 and not eating. I don’t want him going low at the vet so should I skinny his dose or skip for this morning? He was due 10 mins ago...

@carfurby @Sue&luci[USER=30231]@Butters & Lyla
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-05-milo-amps-122.236393/#post-2650546[/USER]
 
Last edited:
Hi Sam, I'm sorry I'm not comfortable giving dosing advice. Milo won't eat or can't eat because of going to get his teeth done?
Did you do a search for what others do on vet days where the cat can't eat? I just did and noticed many do a half dose.
 
He's just not interested in eating. I was thinking a half dose but wasn't sure, especially with no eating. He went down to 65 at the vet last time and freaked him out
 
What I am reading is that people seem to give a half dose without eating. But you're newer and haven't done that before. What do you feel comfortable doing? Would you feel most comfortable skipping? Or giving a smidge?
 
I've always skipped the dose with Furball even though it made her numbers higher. Some people give half a dose. You'll want to ask the vet to monitor his BG. They can bring his numbers up if you give insulin and he drops.
 
Thank you. I decided on a half dose and have offered a smorgasbord of different carbs, to no avail. This won’t make my vet a believer if he goes low but I didn’t want to skip completely. My vet likes to give him high carb prescription diet while he’s there so there’s that.
 
Well, I’m a little stressed. The vet had some emergency surgeries and he can’t do Milo until this evening and then he’s keeping him overnight. That means he’ll miss his Lantus tonight and tomorrow morning. I don’t love this idea but he needs the teeth done. My vet said he could give him Caninsulin instead for the night but I said no to this. Mixing insulins seems like a terrible idea. He won’t be able to monitor and steer with food the way I would so I prefer we don’t give any shots. I am not feeling great about any of this.
 
The Lantus depot is still in play. Adding a harsh insulin to the Lantus depot is not a good idea.
If there will be no one at the vet clinic overnight, it might be best to see if you can swing taking him home.

Or how about making the dental appointment for another day entirely?
 
The vet was willing to let me take Milo home at 7:30pm tonight. Good thing he has an apartment over the clinic and was staying there tonight. I had kitty home by 8pm so his insulin was given an hour later than it should have been (our schedule is a mess with stalling this morning.) He is alert but pretty lethargic after the sedation (only scaling was done ; the vet didn’t want to put him under completely for a full dental). He’s not eating but that’s probably due to the stress of the day and the sedation etc. He BG is up to 139 so I feel ok about leaving out food and not forcing eating tonight. They said he could be nauseous and that seems like the case. I’m very very happy he’s home and I can monitor.

I went twice to the clinic during the day and did his BG, with their blessing. Milo’s labs showed normal BG readings on the in-house bloodwork (89) and my vet was very pleased. He had been thinking I was giving too much insulin; I told him a had tried to reduce the dose and his BG had gone up so I wasn’t willing to take him off insulin as he was suggesting. He’s now more confident because I appear to know what I am doing. He does have pancreatitis. I’ll get a copy of the labs tomorrow and will post. Potassium levels were fine, as it turns out.
Have a good night, everyone.
 
I don’t honestly know. Injection? I’ll find out today when I go back to pay the bill. He’s doing fine this morning but schedule is a mess, no shot, went for feeding instead because he was only 58. I am posting the update for today.
 
Back
Top