10/06 Squamee AMPS 243 .6U

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Very Active Member
AMPS 243 .6U

She is looking a little wobbly, but I guess that is the phenobarb. (7.5mg TID) She continues to eat with fewer mouth symptoms. As far as the seizures go---I have not seen any, but have wondered if perhaps they have occurred because my house is a little smelly and I can't figure out where it is coming from (she urinates when seizing). Of course I have been leaving soooo much smelly cat food around, that could be it as well! (I hope).
 
there is a UV light they sell at the pet stores that is suppose to help you find pee spots, and if you can find it, the enzyme stuff works well.
I had a dog on phenabarb- it does make them sleepy.
 
Re: 10/06 Squamee AMPS 243 .6U,+3 52!!!

It is really +3.3 (not +3) and the Bg is 52!!! Damn. I am suppose d to go out. I will try to hang around a little while to test her again. She just ate 3/4 of a can of FF beef.

OK it is +3.75 and she is 84 and eating more. I guess I can go out. (uneasily---does it ever go down after rising?) I guess I should not stick with this .6 tonight????
 
You could try splitting the difference between 5. & .6 . "0.55" as I used to call it. I have instructions/"video" ;-) on how to measure that type of dose somewhere here in PZI that I can try to dig up if necessary. Believe it or not that small of a change with the low doses used to be totally noticeable with H. And it just depends on what the the PS is tonight. You might try going back to .5 tonight if you wanted to play safe, then tomorrow when you can test you can try the ".55." I found upping by a full .1u on the ProZinc when at such a relatively low dose as you are giving can also have a relative large effect if they are not used to getting their dose changed frequently.
 
Be sure to leave food out when you leave, so she can eat if she feels low.

does it ever go down after rising

ever? - yes

-It helps to understand the normal prozinc curve (PZI stickies), and roughly when your cat hits nadir.
-Usually prozinc nadir is between +4 to +8, so at +3.5 there is a good chance she will drop again.
-lower dose and newer PZIR cats seem to nadir earlier (closer to +4) so you are probably fine, esp since she is eating well.
-rising can be from food, or the duration of the insulin wearing off. Usually prozinc has some significant effect until +8. After that it is very unlikely to cause a drop in blood glucose.
 
Problem is that I don't know when her nadir is. From the spreadsheet it looks like it is between +3 and +4. Have not been able to do enough testing to be sure. And since people have told me that for the first 45 or so days of ProZinc the nadir tends to move around, I don't want to drive her and me crazy with a ton of tests. (especially since I am also struggling to give pills twice a day). Think maybe I'll go back to playing it safe for awhile (.5)---unless I can find Gator's video on doing .55---with these tiny amounts, it's hard to imagine how you would measure that.
 
Gator, if it is not too much trouble to find that video on shooting .55, I would appreciate it. Thanks! And enjoy your travels (tho I much appreciate it that you are checking in at times)
 
Micro incriment instructions

Here is one "video":
viewtopic.php?p=105896#p105896

Here is a pictorial using BD syringes which are not marked like the GNP ones I liked:
http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/

There is also a method counting drops which I've never done but I would imagine involves over filling the syringe then dropping out the appropriate number of drops to get to the dose one wants. I've heard people finding this method relatively accurate. One would first figure out how many drops are in exactly 1u.

Then in the lantus stickies are some more tips about filling syringes:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

Getting the bubbles out is important too to accurately measuring micro increments. PZI is fairly robust and it always did well when I abused it with the finger "thwack" method:
viewtopic.php?p=81572#p81572
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top