10/06 Meows AMPS 108, +2.5 77, +4 86, +6 106, PMPS 88

With SLGS, you would not shoot below 90, but I am wondering if you want to work with a lower reduction/shooting point like 70 or 80. You could have followed TR if not for the dry food. I'm not sure if he is ready to go OTJ yet and some insulin support might be good. For a strong remission, we want him to spend a week in normal numbers on the drop dose before trying an OTJ trial.

It is scary to shoot lower numbers, but Lantus is very good at giving you flat cycles when you shoot low. Remember that the normal range for BG with a human meter is 50-100 mg/dl and you want him to spend as much time as possible in this healing range. It's below 50 that is low.
 
I can try shooting lower numbers that come up, would there be a number you think is the lowest I should shoot at? I didn't realize TR required no dry food, but I understand. I would cut it out, but he has had times in the past he went off food, so I just want to ensure he continues to get a little bit to keep him happy (sounds weird I realize). Oh ya, no no I just meant maybe in time he will be able to go OTJ, I definitely want him to have a strong remission (if that's something he's able to get to), and am willing to take the time that takes ◡̈ I know it's not a linear journey.
Meows generally has an early nadir +4, but maybe be double dips since he was 106 at +6 and then his pmps was 88, so I should do more testing in there. He just hates the testing so he's not super cooperative lol
 
I would cut it out, but he has had times in the past he went off food, so I just want to ensure he continues to get a little bit to keep him happy (sounds weird I realize).
Not weird at all! Bandit was a kibble addict and I have struggled to find food that she will eat, so I know what you mean :-)

I can try shooting lower numbers that come up, would there be a number you think is the lowest I should shoot at?
Would you be okay with 70?


Meows generally has an early nadir +4, but maybe be double dips since he was 106 at +6 and then his pmps was 88, so I should do more testing in there.
Could be a double dip and could also be a response to food. The reason I asked about a snack at +8/+9 is that for cats on a tiny dose of insulin, the pancreas are functioning and producing insulin in response to food which brings numbers down - around 3 hours after food.
 
I will try to shoot 70 and above ◡̈ though if I am not going to be home all day to monitor, I want to be honest that I don't know if I'll feel comfortable shooting that number. I know it's such a small dose, and I see so many incredibly kitty parents here shooting that with higher doses, but if he's that low and I'm not here to test, I may end up skipping. I realize that may not be ideal, but I am usually at home. Though this coming weekend is Canadian Thanksgiving and I won't be home aside from shot times, so I guess we will see what's happening then as I won't be able to monitor.

Oh okay that's so good to know about the pancreas ◡̈ I'll keep making sure he gets his food then. I feel if I didn't give it at least every 3 hours he would riot lol

Also I just wanted to add how incredible you've been, and just wanted to note how much this means to Meows and I, and how incredibly grateful we are for your guidance! :bighug:
 
I will try to shoot 70 and above ◡̈ though if I am not going to be home all day to monitor, I want to be honest that I don't know if I'll feel comfortable shooting that number. I know it's such a small dose, and I see so many incredibly kitty parents here shooting that with higher doses, but if he's that low and I'm not here to test, I may end up skipping. I realize that may not be ideal, but I am usually at home. Though this coming weekend is Canadian Thanksgiving and I won't be home aside from shot times, so I guess we will see what's happening then as I won't be able to monitor.
See how he does on the drop dose over the next few days.

Also I just wanted to add how incredible you've been, and just wanted to note how much this means to Meows and I, and how incredibly grateful we are for your guidance! :bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I managed Bandit's diabetes entirely with the guidance and support of folks here and I'm glad I can pay it forward.
 
Back
Top