10/06 Cleo PMPS 332; +4 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105762&p=1123024#p1123024 Yesterday's condo

Cleo's numbers are still quite high. Today is day 3 of her return to insulin. Wondering if I should still hold the 0.5U for a full five days, or does it hit a point where I should increase even before?

Her appy is very good; I have been feeding some FF with binder in it, when she refuses the good stuff. Pudding poo has returned :sad: Clindamycin label says to give to her for 10 days, but I though the vet had told me 5 days of AB after surgery. I will call tomorrow to ask.

Flakiness of her coat seems to be improving, and she is definitely more steady and alert :-D She has been patrolling the pool area, and dozing in her usual place in back of the grill.

Just holding onto these high numbers makes me nervous!!

Healing vines to all in need ♥

Jane
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo AMPS 269; +5.5 296 DOSE ?

Hi Jane,
I think you might need to give the shed time to get established before increasing the dose. I'm not sure how long that takes when starting over from scratch. Most of the insulin you are giving now may be going into building the depot. I hope one of the knowledgeable beans will be along to answer your question.
Are you giving Cleo a probiotic, such as Fortiflora, to counteract the effect of the a/b? Clindamycin, is, I believe, a very powerful antibiotic and will certainly kill the good intestinal bacteria along with the harmful bacteria. The pudding poo is almost certainly caused by the antibiotic.

Nice that Cleo is enjoying napping in her favorite places.

Have a good day. More healing vines for Cleo.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo AMPS 269; +5.5 296 DOSE ?

Yes, Ella, I should have mentioned that I am giving her Forti Flora with her meals. :-D
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo AMPS 269; +5.5 296 DOSE ?

Morning Jane ~O) ~O) ~O)

I agree with Ella - and also am not too sure how long one waits when starting over. Maybe it is five days? though I wonder too if you aren't seeing any blues that an increase may be in order Hopefully a knowledgeable bean will be along...

Good deal on the probiotic. Greek Yogurt helped Mannie when we went through the LB issues when he was on the AB's. Providing of course Cleo tolerates dairy well.

Have a great day today!
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo AMPS 269; +5.5 296 DOSE ?

Hi Jane,
I hope your question will be answered soon.
But what Ella said sounds sensible.
I am glad that Cleo's appy is very good and that her coat is improving.
Sending firm poo vines to Cleo.
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo AMPS 269; +5.5 296 DOSE ?

I hope Cleo's pudding poo gets better and the fortiflora helps. I'm glad her coat is looking better. It sounds like it's time for patience pants with her dose. I know it's not easy to wait, but you may want to give it a couple more days.
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo AMPS 269; +5.5 296 DOSE ?

Jane

I was just looking at her SS this morning and I have a different thought. When a kitty is returning from remission, you have the experience to and should be more aggressive. I would have suggested you raise her dose after four cycles if you weren't seeing blue or green. So, unless she surprises you today, I'd incrase the dose tonight to .75u. Let's give her four cycles on that and see where she is.

Good luck!! I'm glad the dental went well!!!!
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo PMPS 332 Dosecrease!

Thank you all for the feedback!

I did increase her to .75U this pm, as she was still so high. (Thanks for your input Marje!)

Now I have to do a practice measure, as I just used my last Terumo syringe, and will be using my old Relions till my order is delivered.

Cleo has spent the whole day outside dozing behind the grill (in our high 80's heat), except for some potty and snack breaks. She just finished her first dinner and is back behind grill cleaning herself. I moved it further away from the house so she has more room back there, and she is just loving it. :-D :-D Her private hideaway from her PITA brother, Simon! :lol:

Hope everyone had a wonderful Sunday!

Jane
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo PMPS 332 Dosecrease!

Hi Jane,

Sorry to see that Cleo is taking a break from the falls... Hope you get her back on track and feeling great again soon. Good luck with the increase.

Kathie
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo PMPS 332 Dosecrease!

Good luck with the increase, Jane.

Sometimes on these returning remission babies, if you are there to test and she is high and flat, you might want to increase after every four cycles until you see some blue. Once you see blue, you definitely went to slow it down and give her about ten cycles. Also, if this increase brings her down into flat, low yellows for most of the cycle, I might give her six cycles.

The best suggestion I can make is to ask about the dose around her fourth cycle...unless this increase brings her to blue or green :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo PMPS 332 Dosecrease!

Work that jooce, Cleo! Very nice that you have a hideaway to get away from Simon. :lol: And remember, this condo is a short term rental. Back to the falls!
Liz
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo PMPS 332 Dosecrease!

Come on Cleo...start working the juice!! Good luck with her dosecrease.
And yes, her and Hoot will be heading back to the Falls in no time :thumbup
 
Re: 10/06 Cleo PMPS 332 Dosecrease!

Work that juice, Cleo!
Working_out_Emoticon_by_radicus_wolf.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top