10/05 Neo 180 AMPS, 40 +6, 130 +8

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Teire, May 10, 2024.

  1. Teire

    Teire Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2024
    Hello, my cat started on Lantus last friday, if you see the spreadsheet he has 3 shots missing because he had an hypo incident and I run out of strips and I didn't feel comfortable injecting without testing, I went down to 0.5 U since I can't reduce by 0.25 with the syryinges I have acces to.
    Yesternigh his BG at PMPS was 395, so I went back to 1 and today his BG has been like you can see in the title. He eats 3x a day, after each shot and at day time nadir.
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I would suggest up your signature ,tap on this green link
    Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly.We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can help
    follow along and provide feedback should you need the helphelp
    You can tap on your name up top and add this

    • Add info we need to help you:
      • Caregiver & kitty's name
      • DX: Date
      • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
      • Name of your meter
      • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
      • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
      • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
      • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
      • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
      • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
      • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
    Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

    Thank you!

    Also can you add the meter you are using to your spreadsheet up top
    I see in your previous posts that Nao is blind , I'm sorry ♥
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2024
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Teire
    We feed our cats more than just 3 times a day.
    Bigger meal after you test Nao first thing in the AM the maybe around +2 and +4 ,same goes for the PM cycle,then smaller meals around 2 teaspoons of the low carb wet food .
    I see you dad feeds him bread , please tell him not to.
    Do you have any med and high carb foods if you need to bring his BG up
    I assume you live in Spain ,I'm going to tag @Gill & George that lives in Spain and see if Gill can suggest where you can get the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings and where you can find some food for Nao.
    Is it possible for you to test more during the day cycle and especially during the night cycle ?

    Have you read all the yellow stickys about lantus ,especially the 2 dosing methods to follow ?

    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
    I will tag a few experienced members also to take a look at your SS
    @Wendy&Neko
    @Bandit's Mom
    @tiffmaxee

    @Teire
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2024
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I see you said in one of your previous post
    I don'thave a high carb can,
    I found this posted by another member maybe you can get these in Spain
    Found some info here
    UK INFORMATION (Food, Insulin, Vit B12, and other 'need to know' stuff)
    HIGH CARB FOOD
    – for low blood glucose emergencies.
    You may never need to use this, but it is advisable to have some higher carb food on hand just in case you need to raise your cat’s blood glucose. See more info on the Gourmet Gold ‘in gravy’ foods here: UK, high carb gravy food for Hypo Kit. (Make sure you get the 'gravy' ones, the 'pate' ones are low carb.)

    Gourmet Gold: 'Chicken & Liver in gravy', 'Salmon & Chicken chunks in gravy', or 'Beef chunks in gravy'.
    @Teire
     
  6. Teire

    Teire Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2024
    I have a bag of cat kibble, I'll check the brands you mentioned, although I don't think I've heard of them before.

    Sadly this is very difficult because he hates it and only allows it if he's eating and because I have class, lab and mid-term exams and my mother (the other member in the family that takes care of him) works 8 hour shifts. At night we're usually very tired. And I don't know how many more holes my poor cat can handle, he will only allow it in his paw pads and only if he's eating, and a lot of times those don't bleed well enough and I have to puncture him again :(
     
  7. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Have you thought about putting on a freestyle libre to monitor the BGs while you get used to hometesting?
     

Share This Page