10/05/2019 Mowgli AMPS 92 +4 25 +4.5 27 +4.75 59 +5 52 +5.3 52 +5.6 68 +6 83 +7 106 +8 137 PMBG 149

OK Mowgli, that's much better now!
Thanks so much for your quick response Nan, it was such a relief to have you here right when I realized what a drop Mowg had this morning :bighug:

@Judy and Boomer Thanks to you as well, I know the importance of honey/karo but when you're in the situation for the first time it's maybe not so obvious ;)

Thanks for being with me and providing some other tips along the way @Beth 73 @Sonia & Leo @J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

QUITE a morning... I'll keep monitoring, but i think the worst part is behind us.

+6 was 83
 
Amanda, not gonna lie...seeing that 911 made my blood run cold....just the bit I’ve been thru with Elmo makes it grab at my heart when I see others go thru it....so glad he is coming up ....sending prayers and hugs :bighug:
 
Amanda, not gonna lie...seeing that 911 made my blood run cold....just the bit I’ve been thru with Elmo makes it grab at my heart when I see others go thru it....so glad he is coming up ....sending prayers and hugs :bighug:

I second that. We had our boy go low but in the middle of a Pancreatitis flare & GI infection so it was all about honey followed by syringe feeding gravy!! I would definitely recommend getting a feeding syringe for the hypo kit because that really saved us in that situation. Get one & play with it one day with gravy...make sure it will suck it up easily etc..

Hope the rest of the day & evening goes well Amanda. I am happy to see that all is ok.
 
I think he's done fighting with the sharkies... I'm going to test again in an hour and if he's still going up I am going to give poor Melly Moo a pokie break.

RE: his dose tonight, should I:
-Continue on with the 0.5 and make sure we're feeding Friskies?
-Skip tonight and pick it back up tomorrow?

Amanda, not gonna lie...seeing that 911 made my blood run cold....just the bit I’ve been thru with Elmo makes it grab at my heart when I see others go thru it....so glad he is coming up ....sending prayers and hugs :bighug:
This is my first 911 post, I have 0 experience in these situations so I am so glad everyone was there... especially I am lucky because it's a weekend and still there were members available to help. I think for me I was just in game mode so I didnt have time to panic!
 
I second that. We had our boy go low but in the middle of a Pancreatitis flare & GI infection so it was all about honey followed by syringe feeding gravy!! I would definitely recommend getting a feeding syringe for the hypo kit because that really saved us in that situation. Get one & play with it one day with gravy...make sure it will suck it up easily etc..

Hope the rest of the day & evening goes well Amanda. I am happy to see that all is ok.
Yes! @J.J. and Phoebe Squeak provided a link to one on amazon and I think I will order it today ;) with SLGS I really hadnt had to worry about it too much. It looks like Mowgs has entered a new phase where I have to re-adjust what I 'know' about him
 
He may be really high tonight, which might tip the scales over to the "go ahead and shoot" side, but if it were me? After hitting the 20's, I'd skip and drain the depot a little bit tonight.

Plus, for you, once this adrenaline rush fades, you could probably use a rest tonight, too!

You were amazingly calm, by the way. Total rock, I would never have guess that it was your first 911!
 
I think he's done fighting with the sharkies... I'm going to test again in an hour and if he's still going up I am going to give poor Melly Moo a pokie break.

RE: his dose tonight, should I:
-Continue on with the 0.5 and make sure we're feeding Friskies?
-Skip tonight and pick it back up tomorrow?


This is my first 911 post, I have 0 experience in these situations so I am so glad everyone was there... especially I am lucky because it's a weekend and still there were members available to help. I think for me I was just in game mode so I didnt have time to panic!
You responded like you've done it before, Amanda !!! Very impressive !
 
He may be really high tonight, which might tip the scales over to the "go ahead and shoot" side, but if it were me? After hitting the 20's, I'd skip and drain the depot a little bit tonight.

Plus, for you, once this adrenaline rush fades, you could probably use a rest tonight, too!

You were amazingly calm, by the way. Total rock, I would never have guess that it was your first 911!
Thanks Nan! If he goes up high I will probably go for the dose then but if he remains green I will probably skip. I am home tonight so I can monitor.
You were amazingly calm, by the way. Total rock, I would never have guess that it was your first 911!
You responded like you've done it before, Amanda !!! Very impressive !
Thanks Guys :bighug:
One quality that I have always had is to be able to keep myself focused in an emergency situation.. I can compartmentalize my stress and focus on one thing at a time so that I don't panic and stay in control of the situation. I am very grateful that this is something that I have been blessed with. It probably would have been different if I didn't have you guys providing instruction and support though! ex: honey ;)
 
I would skip it. Skipping it will also give you information with regard to what the body is doing, possibly provide some idea of how much you are “topping” off insulin already being made by the body. Just a thought :)
 
WOW! Mowgli is really moving along with the reductions! Fingers crossed he continues . Good job Mowgli! :D View attachment 48238

My son will be bringing his cat home on the plane . He said she still goes Nutty riding in the car. (It's an hour drive to the airport) The vet said he would NOT recommend any meds. He said it was not safe for a cat .

Have you ever used GABA? I remember reading that it works pretty good to calm them down but I don't know who tried it?
Mowgli certainly IS going for it!!he's doing TOO good of a job ;)

I have never used gaba, I remember someone earlier in the year saying they use it for their cat when they take them to the vet... I forget who though. I think maybe it was @Olive & Paula? I had given Mowgli Zylkene but Im not convinced it actually worked... I think he was just calm on the flight. I found the car ride worse than the flight for Mowgli, hopefully it will be the same for your son. You must be really excited for your son to return home :)
 
Amanda - I remember Mowgli and Tina being on the same dose before. Now they both hit .5 together. I hope this dose sticks!!
How do you feel about TR? I'm glad you had a good time out last night. Sometimes fun can make up a little for lack of sleep, right?;)
Surf safely Melly Moo!!!
I think today Mowgli got a little TOO ambitious following Tina :P

So far I feel like TR is good for Mowgli but I find it a little stressful, especially since he has been taking these dives. I am having to stay up late a lot on work nights too which makes it hard, but i think that should lessen as I gather more data on him while following this protocol. I am going to take everyones advice and skip again tonight to see what Mowgs little pancreas can do on it's own and to drain the depot
 
I would skip it. Skipping it will also give you information with regard to what the body is doing, possibly provide some idea of how much you are “topping” off insulin already being made by the body. Just a thought :)
I am convinced ;) thanks!!
 
Yes! @J.J. and Phoebe Squeak provided a link to one on amazon and I think I will order it today ;) with SLGS I really hadnt had to worry about it too much. It looks like Mowgs has entered a new phase where I have to re-adjust what I 'know' about him
The link I sent is not the one I ordered -- the one I have is no longer available. And it looks like the link I sent is the nipple only -- no syringe. So you might want to look around and/or ask others for suggestions. Mine came with a syringe too. I wanted something soft I could put in her mouth in an emergency if I had to squirt gravy or syrup or something. I've never had to use it (knock wood) so you might ask those who have experience what they've used.
Congrats on keeping your cool! I was a wreck just reading and following along! No more diving Mowg!!!
 
The link I sent is not the one I ordered -- the one I have is no longer available. And it looks like the link I sent is the nipple only -- no syringe. So you might want to look around and/or ask others for suggestions. Mine came with a syringe too. I wanted something soft I could put in her mouth in an emergency if I had to squirt gravy or syrup or something. I've never had to use it (knock wood) so you might ask those who have experience what they've used.
Congrats on keeping your cool! I was a wreck just reading and following along! No more diving Mowg!!!

Four Paws Easy Feeder Syringes. You can order them from Amazon. They also have a bottle feeder but honestly, the issue with small openings vs larger openings is you would have to really water the food down for it to work & then you end up having to do a lot of it to get the food in them. If you have one with the larger opening you are able to mash the food (order a baby food smasher *Oxo Baby food masher with bowl from Amazon), warm it add a tiny amount of water or broth & it will come out of the syringe controlled & pretty easily. You can use a popsicle stick to load the syringe from the top. Definitely play with one with some food when it comes because it’s good to not have to figure out the consistency etc when in an emergency situation. You want to be able to just do it. As far as softness of the tip, it’s not really an issue because the opening isn’t really touching their mouth. Aim & shoot a small amount in toward the corner of the mouth & let them swallow & then shoot some more.
 
Mowgli! Stay safe please!
25? Really boy? Amanda have no advice but I am sending tons of safety vines:bighug:
Thanks so much Laura, he’s recovered thankfully :)
Four Paws Easy Feeder Syringes. You can order them from Amazon. They also have a bottle feeder but honestly, the issue with small openings vs larger openings is you would have to really water the food down for it to work & then you end up having to do a lot of it to get the food in them. If you have one with the larger opening you are able to mash the food (order a baby food smasher *Oxo Baby food masher with bowl from Amazon), warm it add a tiny amount of water or broth & it will come out of the syringe controlled & pretty easily. You can use a popsicle stick to load the syringe from the top. Definitely play with one with some food when it comes because it’s good to not have to figure out the consistency etc when in an emergency situation. You want to be able to just do it. As far as softness of the tip, it’s not really an issue because the opening isn’t really touching their mouth. Aim & shoot a small amount in toward the corner of the mouth & let them swallow & then shoot some more.
Perfect! Thanks for all the tips Amy :) :bighug:
 
Wine9.png
You deserve one of these Amanda!!
 
I just saw that you're going to skip tonight.....I think that's a good idea....gets rid of the depot. Technically he earned a .25u reduction today but it may have been just the depot talking. Maybe ask others if you should also give the reduced dose tomorrow?
 
I found the car ride worse than the flight for Mowgli,

I hope his Francine does better on the plane also!

He's flying the cat "home" & then he needs to go back & drive his car home! He didn't want to stress the cat out in the long drive back to Chicago. (He's a Good son! :))
He'll be back here in November & YES! I'm very happy he's coming home!
 
View attachment 48250 You deserve one of these Amanda!!
Don't mind if I do! ;)

I just saw that you're going to skip tonight.....I think that's a good idea....gets rid of the depot. Technically he earned a .25u reduction today but it may have been just the depot talking. Maybe ask others if you should also give the reduced dose tomorrow?
I was thinking it was the depot talking and was planning to keep the dose after skipping tonight. But you're right I should probably ask.
Mowgli, I leave the forum for a few days and when I come back I see all this green????? So much for a TR trial! Reductions back to back lol.
Omg I know! he just snapped out of it suddenly, kind of like another kitty we know.... looking at you Macka!!
 
I hope his Francine does better on the plane also!

He's flying the cat "home" & then he needs to go back & drive his car home! He didn't want to stress the cat out in the long drive back to Chicago. (He's a Good son! :))
He'll be back here in November & YES! I'm very happy he's coming home!
One other thing about driving: Mowgli had to do quite a bit of driving with us when we were home. I would say about 8 hours total. I found that he really calmed down after an hour or so. Maybe if he had a sedative it would work if your son took Francine in the car!

I let Mowgli stay out of his carrier and just kept him on his harness so he couldnt wander around aimlessly. just a thought :)

I am so happy for you that your son will be home so soon! November will be here before you know it!!
 
I hope his Francine does better on the plane also!

He's flying the cat "home" & then he needs to go back & drive his car home! He didn't want to stress the cat out in the long drive back to Chicago. (He's a Good son! :))
He'll be back here in November & YES! I'm very happy he's coming home!
What a sweetie pie for doing that, that's a great kid you have Joy. :bighug:
 
WOW! What a day you've had Amanda! That TR is powerful juju...pushed him right over the edge! I'm glad he's pulled through and you did a championship job of helping him get it back together.

Hope you can relax and get some rest tonight - keeping one eye on that Mowg's the whole time of course...sneaky little devil isn't he? Probably mad because you went out and had some fun...for a change...

P.S. Are you back on SLGS now?

One more suggestion: Anytime you shoot a green number it would be good to get a 1 an 2+ just to keep a close eye on which way that recent dose is taking him. I learned my lesson from Luci on that one...can't take your eyes off them for a minute... :)
 
WOW! What a day you've had Amanda! That TR is powerful juju...pushed him right over the edge! I'm glad he's pulled through and you did a championship job of helping him get it back together.

Hope you can relax and get some rest tonight - keeping one eye on that Mowg's the whole time of course...sneaky little devil isn't he? Probably mad because you went out and had some fun...for a change...

P.S. Are you back on SLGS now?

One more suggestion: Anytime you shoot a green number it would be good to get a 1 an 2+ just to keep a close eye on which way that recent dose is taking him. I learned my lesson from Luci on that one...can't take your eyes off them for a minute... :)
Pretty crazy day for sure! I’m still following TR, usually a Mowgli doesn’t dive like that during the day so I always have a big sleep in on Saturday/Sundays. I’ll have to be more careful from now on!
 
RE: his dose tonight, should I:
-Continue on with the 0.5 and make sure we're feeding Friskies?
-Skip tonight and pick it back up tomorrow?
It is STRONGLY suggested to reduce when you get anything below 40, much less the 20's. Who cares if it's a back to back reduction, just do it. You can always go back up if needed. And this all happened just three cycles after a skip. FWIW, in the times when Neko went into the 20's (sigh!), I just did a half dose the cycle following to reduce the depot.
usually a Mowgli doesn’t dive like that during the day
Mowgli now and Mowgli before this last week are two different cats. Something has clicked in him. Expect the unexpected.:cool:
 
It is STRONGLY suggested to reduce when you get anything below 40, much less the 20's. Who cares if it's a back to back reduction, just do it. You can always go back up if needed. And this all happened just three cycles after a skip.
No problem, I can do the back to back reduction, I thought it would just have been the 0.75u depot in play this morning combined with giving him lower carb food than I had been recently, I'll go with the 0.25u tomorrow morning :)

FWIW, in the times when Neko went into the 20's (sigh!), I just did a half dose the cycle following to reduce the depot.
To make sure I understand - In Mowglis case do you mean today, when he earned a reduction to 0.25u that you would have given 0.125u for the PM dose instead of skipping? Maybe something I will try once I get to know Mowg's new normal

Mowgli now and Mowgli before this last week are two different cats. Something has clicked in him. Expect the unexpected.:cool:
Totally, thats what I am learning the hard way... but... weekend sleep ins :arghh: (jkjk) I agree, something has clicked and I am in new territory, back to square one of 'knowing' Mowgli's patterns
 
To make sure I understand - In Mowglis case do you mean today, when he earned a reduction to 0.25u that you would have given 0.125u for the PM dose instead of skipping? Maybe something I will try once I get to know Mowg's new normal
That would be one possibility. There's been a lot of "aack, your cat went low, skip to drain the depot" going around on the board lately. Not just here. Skipping is not always necessary, especially if it's likely the cat will bounce, or ketones have been in the past, or depending on the size of dose/depot, when the last reduction was. Know thy cat. Know what would be best in an individual situation. I don't want people reading this condo to think skipping is the norm. In Mowgli's case, what you did was fine.
 
Back
Top