10/03 Nelli +10 139 PMPS 166 +3 111 +10.5 341/336


Nice start for Ms. Nellie this morning! She's looking so great lately...I wonder if she's going to be one of those cats who goes right 'down the ladder'??? I'm so jealous:joyful: (happy for you too!)...but I wish Luci would pay attention - but not that crazy night time stuff she pulled last night - guess we can't have it all, huh? Krystina, you did a great job yesterday monitoring. :woot: I was wondering if you could write in your notes the time or the + what you fed her when she was in the greens? Did you have to steer her much or was she just surfing on her own? Luci needed some steering last night (DH was on the watch)...so I just wondered.

Hope Nellie has another good day today - maybe she'll go back to the lagoon and show Luci some tricks of how to stay up on her board and away from the sharks! :bighug::bighug:
 
Guess you're away from your computer, I've got to log off.

FWIW
If this were George, I would be sure to get a +5, she may not be dropping super fast, but drops are not always linear, given the sort of cycles she's been giving you lately, my gut is telling me you need to err on the side of caution.
 
Thanks, was planning on +4 initially but I am having some ear problems… Her asthma has flared up so I’ve got her back on the theophylline trans dermal which is interfering with where I poke her not allowing any blood drop :-(.
I will get a +5 for sure and sweep the +4 under the rug :-) thanks again I hope the day goes away.
Thanks for checking in on Nelli :cat:
 
A +4 would have been fine too. I should have said no later than +5

Do you put the med on both her ears?
could you just put it on to the ear that you don't usually test on? That way it won't interfere with the pokes
 
Nelli is not feeling too well today :oops:. In slow motion, lack luster. Helped her realize she has to go potty, placed her in her litter box and she was kind of spacey looking around set down and then ended up laying down. Not a lot of energy maybe it is the constant high humidity too. Stood her back up in her litter box and then she had no problem digging and going? Nelli is having an “I’m. tired. day.” :confused:
I don’t think it’s the diabetes although she is letting me know she’s really tired of the pokes where as they used to be OK with her. She very tolerable, sweet and kind little (gerigeriatric) girl.
I am so afraid that the problem is in her mouth and terrified of her being put under anesthesia on Monday.
I am sure there are many other kitties, mommies and, daddy‘s who have many more troubles and worries on their minds.
Thanks for reading this… Tomorrow will be another day :)
I hope everyone has a good day :bighug:.
 
I'm sorry she is not feeling well.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

FWIW When George had his mouth issues earlier this year he also got grumpy about the pokes, he was in pain and just wanted to be left alone.
This was unlike him, he's one of the most compliant cats when it comes to testing that you could imagine, he comes and sits on my lap when I rattle the strips so I can get the test, when his mouth was bad he was running from me. He ended up having a whole bunch of teeth removed.
He's an old boy, so I was also terrified of the procedure, my original vet did not want to operate, because of his age/diabetes/kidneys, this resulted in the problem getting so bad that we almost lost him earlier this year, fortunately I found Dr M, who was much more experienced with cats and George is now acting 10yrs younger (he's about 19), but it was touch and go for a while there.
 
I'm sorry she is not feeling well.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

FWIW When George had his mouth issues earlier this year he also got grumpy about the pokes, he was in pain and just wanted to be left alone.
This was unlike him, he's one of the most compliant cats when it comes to testing that you could imagine, he comes and sits on my lap when I rattle the strips so I can get the test, when his mouth was bad he was running from me. He ended up having a whole bunch of teeth removed.
He's an old boy, so I was also terrified of the procedure, my original vet did not want to operate, because of his age/diabetes/kidneys, this resulted in the problem getting so bad that we almost lost him earlier this year, fortunately I found Dr M, who was much more experienced with cats and George is now acting 10yrs younger (he's about 19), but it was touch and go for a while there.
So glad George is now doing very well.

I hope Nelli is feeling much better right away.
 
Poor Nelli, I am sorry she doesn't feel well today. Could the asthma med being making her feel "off"? I was wondering the same as Gill, can it go on just one ear and you can do the testing on the other? Or can it go inside of the vein line so that it wouldn't interfere with the pokes?

I know you are nervous over having Nelli go under for the dental. I am always nervous whenever my pets have to have anesthesia. Do you think they will do it that day? Did they all ready do pre anesthesia BW? The only thing that doesn't fit if it is her mouth bothering her is that her numbers are going down now. Pain usually makes the BG go up and unless some kitties are different and it goes the other way for them but, I don't know if that can happen or not. Monday is around the corner thank goodness. :bighug:
 
I'm sorry she is not feeling well.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

FWIW When George had his mouth issues earlier this year he also got grumpy about the pokes, he was in pain and just wanted to be left alone.
This was unlike him, he's one of the most compliant cats when it comes to testing that you could imagine, he comes and sits on my lap when I rattle the strips so I can get the test, when his mouth was bad he was running from me. He ended up having a whole bunch of teeth removed.
He's an old boy, so I was also terrified of the procedure, my original vet did not want to operate, because of his age/diabetes/kidneys, this resulted in the problem getting so bad that we almost lost him earlier this year, fortunately I found Dr M, who was much more experienced with cats and George is now acting 10yrs younger (he's about 19), but it was touch and go for a while there.
Gosh, thank you so much for your experienced words. I’ve had many many animals throughout my life mostly dogs and horses. Nelli is only the second feline in my family.
Everything you are telling me about George is very much all Nelli right now.
I have a tremendous amount of confidence and respect for Nelli‘s dentist. I did much research before I had her examination and teeth cleaned three years ago. Happened upon (easily) American Veterinarian Dental College. Decided I only would take Nellie to an AVDC certified Vet. He is one of only six certified by American Veterinarian Dental College (AVDC) in FL. -Worried and a bit apprehensive the first time, he explained thoroughly to me number one they would not risk putting an animal under, that was risky and number two the anesthesia protocol process is very good (and clean) today.
I am still have a hollow feeling in my stomach, worry. What if something happens during anesthesia and they can’t bring her back… I cannot live in a what if world and therefore I don’t :).
Thank you again for this note, you have no idea how much it hit home and meant to me- an upbeat! note... I am relieved, feel much better truly.
Thank you again for your time and interest!
 
Last edited:
i
A +4 would have been fine too. I should have said no later than +5

Do you put the med on both her ears?
could you just put it on to the ear that you don't usually test on? That way it won't interfere with the pokes
@Bobbie And Bubba Yes, It the dose needs to be split up and put on both ears. It needs to run (away from) the hair and up the outer eighth of an inch-. I researched theophylline today, discovered it is available in tablet form… For humans not sure if for felines. I sent an email to Nelli cardiologist asking her about this. If I can, switch to a tablet that would be excellent! She was first prescribed oral liquid which is not tolerated by Nelli subsequently why we transdermal. I am only smearing it halfway up to save other area for pokes but quite possibly the heat of her ear is melting it further north?!
 
I did much research before I had her examination and teeth cleaned three years ago. Happened upon (easily) American Veterinarian Dental College. Decided I only would take Nellie to an AVDC certified Vet. He is one of only six certified by American Veterinarian Dental College (AVDC) in FL. -Worried and a bit apprehensive the first time, he explained thoroughly to me number one they would not risk putting an animal under, that was risky and number two the anesthesia protocol process is very good (and clean) today.
Thank you for sharing this very helpful and valuable info. :) I was just told last week by my latest vet that Pretty Girl has dental disease. :arghh:

I am still have a hollow feeling in my stomach, worry. What if something happens during anesthesia and they can’t bring her back… I cannot live in a what if world and therefore I don’t :).
Is it this next Monday that she has the procedure? Prayers and good vines that all goes very well. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
sent an email to Nelli cardiologist asking her about this. If I can, switch to a tablet that would be excellent
That would be great! Hopefully, it won't be a bitter tasting pill and you can sneak it in her food. With civvie, Forrest, taken methamizole, I crush it between 2 spoons and then put in in a tsp or so of food and feed him that first so I know that he gets all of it and then I feed him the rest of his food.

If it turns out to be bitter, you can put it in a gel cap and pill her.
 
That would be great! Hopefully, it won't be a bitter tasting pill and you can sneak it in her food. With civvie, Forrest, taken methamizole, I crush it between 2 spoons and then put in in a tsp or so of food and feed him that first so I know that he gets all of it and then I feed him the rest of his food.

If it turns out to be bitter, you can put it in a gel cap and pill her.
:bighug:
 
@JeanW You are welcome... you will learn much about animal dentistry... the good and bad!
Yes, this coming Monday. A 1.5ish hour drive Oot :facepalm:
Most of all my fears and anxiety surrounding this is that Nelli is probably 21 years old and although she displays remarkable labs and poise, is up and awake often times 10 hours a day, walking around (trying to) hunting... she is at a very geriatric age.
I am in touch with this- dang, as much as I hope she will become the next oldest feline in Guinness World Records… I cant risk my spiritual and metal health holding on to this o_O!?
Nelli is remarkable I believe because she is allowed to be a cat. I’ve let her hunt and give her plenty of ❤️. Oh sure, genetics play a part.
Nelli leaving me someday, in body, will be the toughest loss I’ve ever had.
Nelli is my rock. Nelli is my heartbeat. Its just me & Nelli truckin’ forward, lovin’ life :bighug:
My life wil turn a new passage when she goes- dramatically so. I’ll still be a member of the FDMB atfter this, be full at graciously giving back :). The support, education and, care is tremendously special at minimum- many selfless souls on this forum :bighug:
Is it this next Monday that she has the procedure?
 
Last edited:
Flat blue today. Not completely skilled at, sure why... she was in such a nice run on :D most of yesterday and now today blues all day... so far ;). I guess she didn’t go over 150 so that’s probably a good thing?
Could be a small bounce from all the greens yesterday. Even the blues are not very high and still very good numbers!
 
Back
Top