Ok have done some more reading and just wondering if I have this set up in mind correctly...
I've switched to the TR dosing method as I'm doing quite a few tests on him anyway everyday (luckily for me he's such a gentle giant) and really want to hopefully get him into remission with as much data as I can get from him.
Daily routine I would...
Test at
AMPS (test, food then insulin if necessary)
+3
+6
+9
PMPS (test, food then insulin if necessary)
Yes you test feed and shoot in that order.
I would vary the times you test during the cycles so you can get an idea of what is happening during the whole cycle over time. It's like a puzzle and we need to fill in all the pieces. For example one cycle get a +3, 6 and another cycle get a +2 +4 and +7 etc. You can get BGs in the second half of the cycles as well if you like, especially if the BG is lower than normal.
If you have a lower than normal preshot you would want to get a +1 and a +2 for example to see what Smoochie has in mind.
If he's dropping fast, you would not wait three hours to test the BG, but would test an hour later. Or even 1/2 hour later depending on how fast and low the BG was. If you are ever unsure, always post and ask for advice.
Don't neglect the pm cycle. It is always a very good idea to get a before bed test in every night. If the BG is lower than the preshot number than it is probably going to be an active cycle and you will need to set the alarm and test later in the cycle.
* I feed Smoochie and my other 2 cats at AMPS +4 +8 PMPS plus whenever Smoochie mainly wants some food I will give him some more throughout day and just before I go to bed I usually put out some more food. I only give them Fancy Feast Pates blended with water or Gourmet Delight and cat mince(fussy cat).
I would look at feeding the cats at Preshot, + 3 and +5 OR preshot, +4 and +6. The reason I suggest these times is because the onset of insulin is around +2 and the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) is around +5 to +7 ( most of the time but not always). So it is better to give the food around these two times. And if you feed during the second half of the cycle, the strength of the insulin is mostly starting to weaken so it's better to feed during the first half of the cycle when the insulin is strongest. You may find other times during the first half of the cycle that suits you better than the ones I've suggested.
and do spot checks here and there and +1 +2 +10 +11 are also important as random checks I think from memory, please correct if I'm wrong...
Whatever dose I'm on such as currently 1 unit I do that for a full week then do another curve test, testing every 2 hours? After which I ask for advice dosage wise?
If the pre shot number is 8.3mmol/L or below I have to stall without feeding, post and ask for assistance and test again after 20mins.
And the NO SHOOT number is 2.8mmol/L.
Is that all correct? Or have I forgotten something or gotten something wrong please let me know
The +1 and +2 are good to get when the preshot number is lower than usual. If the +2 is lower or the same as the preshot, than you are probably going to have an active cycle so need to pay attention..
The +10 and 11 you might get if the BGs are lower during the cycle and you want to know what the +11 is so that when you test the preshot at +12, you will know if the number is rising or not. It will also give you a heads up if the BG is still lower than you would normally shoot and you would have time to post and ask what to do.
You need to stay on the 1 unit for a week for the depot to fill initially. Once you have done this, any change in dose will require you to stay with that dose for at least 6 cycles unless the BG drops under 2.8 (50), in which case you would reduce the dose by 0.25 units.
There is no need to do a curve if you are doing TR as you are testing enough. You can post and ask for advice if you should increase the dose or stay with the 1 unit.
While you are gathering data you would have a no shoot BG of 8.3 (150)
If that happens, stall, don't feed, post and ask for help. Change the subject line to reflect this...say something like STALLING, BG xxx, PLEASE HELP.
Then test again 20 minutes later to see if the BG is rising.
Always make sure you have enough test strips, highcarb food and honey.
You will gradually work your way down to shooting lower numbers.
Yes, never shoot under 2.8 mmol/L (50).
Sorry one more thing... Do I post/ask for advice dosage wise now only in the Lantus forum from now on? And any regular questions on the main one?
I would start posting over on the Lantus forum now. You start a new thread each day and you put the date, name of cat and BG at AMPS in the subject line. You can add something else like help, need advice, etc in the subject line as well if you need to.
You can ask questions in the Lantus forum as well as dosing questions.
If it was something quite different it is fine to ask in the main forum as well if you want.