? 10/02 Maggie AMPS 349, +2,45 168, +4 119, +5,5 98 / 6th day on Lantus, Huge Drop

hellen_maggie

Member Since 2025
? - 07/02 Maggie AMPS 361, +2 299, +4,5 240, +6 261, 3rd day on Lantus, Day 3 on Lantus, consistently high

Hi everyone,
I’m looking for some guidance regarding Maggie’s numbers today.

This is her 6th day on Lantus, and this morning we experienced a very fast and steep drop (From what I’ve read so far, I’m wondering if this might trigger a bounce) :
  • AMPS: 349
  • +2.45: 168
  • +4: 119
  • +5.5: 98
On one hand, I’m happy that we finally saw lower numbers (for us) and our first blue/green, but on the other hand this big drop really scares me. I had to leave work twice today in order to test her, and honestly I’m terrified about the future. I’m wondering how her drops might look if we start getting lower preshot numbers than today’s 349.Until now, I was used to feeding extra meals at +2 and +5, but today the drop made me nervous, so I fed at +2, +3, and +4 instead. I should also mention that Maggie is still eating around 90% high-carb dry food and only 10% low-carb food (not wet). I’m very worried about what her numbers will look like once we complete the transition to lower carbs.
I’m also not confident that she didn’t drop below 90 after +5.5, since I won’t be able to test again until +11, when I return from work. Following SLGS, I’m really unsure what to do once we complete our first full week on Lantus. Should I increase the dose by 0.25u, or should I hold it for an extra week? I really need your help. I’m feeling very scared after today’s cycle 😔

Thank you so much for any advice and for all the support 🙏
 
Last edited:
I guess Maggie answered your question tonight, she is definitely bouncing. This is completely normal, just annoying to us.

The wonderful thing about Lantus is that if you shoot lower preshot numbers, you tend to get much flatter cycles with less drops. Take a look at some of the posts and spreadsheets of other cats/people here, and see what happens when they shoot lower preshots.

When following SLGS, you evaluate the dose every week. If she is seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range on that dose, then you stick with that dose unless she goes under 90. Meaning that unless she goes under 90 tonight or tomorrow, you'd stay with 1.0 units.

Maggie seems to show a big drop by +2, maybe move that feeding up to +1.5 so she has fresh carbs in her system by the time the Lantus onsets (takes effect). The idea is to slow down those drops.
 
Back
Top