1 week into prozinc and my cat is now hates the shot's what do i do?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Fidget and family :), Jun 13, 2024.

1. Fidget and family :)

Fidget and family :) New Member

hello!
    I'm very new the whole feline diabetes and I'm still learning along as i go so bear with me here haha...

ill try to paint as best of a picture here.

so around June 1st 2024 fidget (cat) was found to have a very high GLU ( 16.7 ) and high keytones. After a fructosamine test the vet concluded that she was diabetic and needed to start insulin to prevent a risk of DKA.
    they provided 2 options prozinc and some oral stuff that was like $500 a bottle...so Prozinc it was...

the vet tech showed me one time how to inject my cat by the scruff on the neck and look for a feeling a slight "pop'' ( this was done with saline solution)
    then I was told to start the first dose of insulin the following morning when she not so stressed out from her vet trip.

6 days went by and the injections was as smooth as butter! after day 7 things went south fast...at around this time my Gf had wanted to part ways with me and naturally that brought ALOT of stress on me.
    and i have no doubt my Kitty could feel on that emotion. but none the less the shots needed to get done.

the first time i screwed up her shot i was stressed i think i may NOT have tented her skin properly and hit her muscle...so i pulled pack fast gave her Lots of treats and said sorry a million times and tossed the needle since i didn't push the plunger. So tried a new syringe drew a new dose and went SLOW as a turtle with her and made sure she was nice and calm and i made a perfect tent skin and NOPE! she freaked right out!....so i skipped the dose because i was stressed and she was stressed and i felt i was doing more damage then good...