Amanda and a Loudogg
Member Since 2017
Good morning all!
My cat Lou was diagnosed with diabetes last Thursday (6.8.17) after losing a lot of weight. He had absolutely no prior health issues that we were aware of and was on no other medication. We fed him a dry food diet. After the diagnosis, we started him on 2 i/u's of Vetsulin (instead of the recommended 4u) and switched him to a Px diet we received from the vet (RC Glycobalance). After research and finding carb information online, we switched him from the Glycobalance to Fancy Feast (FF) canned food (classic and flaked versions, all 5% carbs or less). I started home-testing his glucose levels on Sunday and overall, he has improved.
Unfortunately (for whatever reason that seems so stupid now), we (my fiance and I) had decided to up his insulin dose to 3 i/us when it seemed warranted. He seemed fine originally, but yesterday (6.16.17), he had a hypoglycemic episode. His only symptoms was insistent meowing (more urgent than usual). I am thankful I was home from work, so I tested him and found his BG at 51. We immediately fed him a can of FF and kept testing/giving syrup, food, and treats as needed to bring his BG up. Obviously I was and am really shaken and I feel like such an idiot. We decided to forgo the insulin dose last night because I had read that Lou may be more sensitive to insulin. I was terrified to give him any dose, even though his BG had gone up to his "normal" preshot amount (330 and 345).
We received a bag of YA Zero Mature in the mail yesterday and put that out for him to graze on. I tested him this morning at 0807, and his BG was 275. I was thinking of giving him 1 i/u of insulin, but I find myself horribly gun-shy, afraid of having a repeat of yesterday. I haven't had an opportunity yet to perform any curves on him to learn how he reacts during the day, so I'm only working on am/pm preshot values for now.
Should I give his body some time to finish bouncing from his hypo episode yesterday, or should I try giving him 1 i/u insulin BID (as I was doing, but with a lower dose) and monitor?
I appreciate any insight you can provide, and I will post this on the insulin forum as well.
Thanks!
Amanda
My cat Lou was diagnosed with diabetes last Thursday (6.8.17) after losing a lot of weight. He had absolutely no prior health issues that we were aware of and was on no other medication. We fed him a dry food diet. After the diagnosis, we started him on 2 i/u's of Vetsulin (instead of the recommended 4u) and switched him to a Px diet we received from the vet (RC Glycobalance). After research and finding carb information online, we switched him from the Glycobalance to Fancy Feast (FF) canned food (classic and flaked versions, all 5% carbs or less). I started home-testing his glucose levels on Sunday and overall, he has improved.
Unfortunately (for whatever reason that seems so stupid now), we (my fiance and I) had decided to up his insulin dose to 3 i/us when it seemed warranted. He seemed fine originally, but yesterday (6.16.17), he had a hypoglycemic episode. His only symptoms was insistent meowing (more urgent than usual). I am thankful I was home from work, so I tested him and found his BG at 51. We immediately fed him a can of FF and kept testing/giving syrup, food, and treats as needed to bring his BG up. Obviously I was and am really shaken and I feel like such an idiot. We decided to forgo the insulin dose last night because I had read that Lou may be more sensitive to insulin. I was terrified to give him any dose, even though his BG had gone up to his "normal" preshot amount (330 and 345).
We received a bag of YA Zero Mature in the mail yesterday and put that out for him to graze on. I tested him this morning at 0807, and his BG was 275. I was thinking of giving him 1 i/u of insulin, but I find myself horribly gun-shy, afraid of having a repeat of yesterday. I haven't had an opportunity yet to perform any curves on him to learn how he reacts during the day, so I'm only working on am/pm preshot values for now.
Should I give his body some time to finish bouncing from his hypo episode yesterday, or should I try giving him 1 i/u insulin BID (as I was doing, but with a lower dose) and monitor?
I appreciate any insight you can provide, and I will post this on the insulin forum as well.
Thanks!
Amanda