Marlena
Very Active Member
previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/22-jan-rocky-back-to-the-beginning.151394/#post-1590979
What do we do with late onset and nadirs?
I think the situation with Rocky is:
1. on 0.5u dose - too small and doesn't bring his BG down much at all
2. 0n 0.75u dose - that seems to be working better but we're getting very late onset and nadirs which makes PM shots difficult to manage and the drops are very steep
3. with the nadir which is at the time of PM shot, checking his BG again 30 mins later and it is the same so giving him reduce dose of 0.5u a bit later than his normal time gives us red number again in the morning which I'm inclined to think that he did not have enough insulin.
This morning his red number might also be a bounce from 30 Feb when he went much lower than normal.
This , what I like to believe, is my logical thinking and how I see things but I might be totally wrong so please chime in with your opinions and ideas what to do.
My vet warned me that Hypurin PZI might produce very long cycle and she suggested once a day shots but somehow I don't see this working!
I'm sending best wishes and lots of hugs to fellow "sufferers" (all of you) and your furry purry kitties - you're doing amazing job!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/22-jan-rocky-back-to-the-beginning.151394/#post-1590979
What do we do with late onset and nadirs?
I think the situation with Rocky is:
1. on 0.5u dose - too small and doesn't bring his BG down much at all
2. 0n 0.75u dose - that seems to be working better but we're getting very late onset and nadirs which makes PM shots difficult to manage and the drops are very steep
3. with the nadir which is at the time of PM shot, checking his BG again 30 mins later and it is the same so giving him reduce dose of 0.5u a bit later than his normal time gives us red number again in the morning which I'm inclined to think that he did not have enough insulin.
This morning his red number might also be a bounce from 30 Feb when he went much lower than normal.
This , what I like to believe, is my logical thinking and how I see things but I might be totally wrong so please chime in with your opinions and ideas what to do.
My vet warned me that Hypurin PZI might produce very long cycle and she suggested once a day shots but somehow I don't see this working!
I'm sending best wishes and lots of hugs to fellow "sufferers" (all of you) and your furry purry kitties - you're doing amazing job!