1/9 Sam AMPS - 329

Status
Not open for further replies.
Unbelievable. I checked him when we got home from church (about +5.5) and he was at 42. Gave some slightly higher carb food and will recheck shortly. One thing I've noticed about Sam is that he's very active when he's in the green. Playful, talkative (although not unusually so), wants loves and attention. So, I'm not freaking out about a possible hypo, just hanging out and watching him, going to recheck and see how this progresses through the nadir.
 
wow, quite unexpected. that's quite a dip. like he's so happy he's forgetting to eat? He had food out that he could have ate while you were out right?
 
This dosecrease was happily not enough...maybe take it down another notch. I thought the fact that you fed the other day and kitty only went up a wee bit indicated that he would have fallen harder and faster without that 14 carb.
Sam's trying to tell you something.
.6u????
We can safely guess it was possible he was lower than this today and you may see a zoom tonight, let's not shoot the zoom # k? His body will work that out.
 
Sam's at 62 now (about his +6).

Gator - they had plenty of food out while we were gone. 6 bowls for 4 cats. lol (I err on the side of caution.)

Lori - I definitely won't shoot the zoom.

Marcy - I'm dancing with you!
 
:shock:

Sam loves his drama, doesn't he? :mrgreen: Methinks he may be on a nice dose reduction path? It's hard to tell what is just fallout from still trying to figure out what dose actually works for him, and what is "progress" as in pancreas healing. My guess is it's a combination of the two, and the fact that you didn't see lower scary scary #s on some of the higher doses, nor scary HI rebound #s, makes me suspect a good bit of this is true progress. Especially with him acting happy at the 40 level, it makes me think it's his body utilizing the insulin well to get to his "perfect" number. (maybe, maybe not, and I certainly wouldn't intentionally shoot for that #, even if it were perfect - doesn't leave much room for error!)

I'd probably pull back to 0.6, or less on a PS under 200. It is awesome to see him doing so well. YAY!
 
Very promising. And you didn't seem to blink at that 40 - just tested, fed and moved on. Fantastic :-D You and he are doing so well, Kirsten.
 
Joanna - I really, really hope you're right about the progress. I certainly feel like that's what's going on.

Sue - I was bound and determined not to freak if I saw green. lol I figured I'd been through it before and both times Sam was having a great time while my heart was in my throat. Wasn't going to do that again.

Sam's +9 is 195. If his PMPS is 250-ish or less, I'm going to shoot .4. If it's over 300, I may try for as close to .5 as I can. Feeling good about this!
 
Well, Sam's PMPS was 381 so I'm sticking with the .8 for now. Not sure why such a jump from the +9 number of 195, but my guess is it's a bit of a rebound from the low of 42 today. Can't wait to see what tomorrow brings.
 
yes i agree Kristen, it is most likely to definetly a rebound effect. you could have still reduced to .6 but this is ok.
 
Crap, do you think I overdid it with the .8? I was thinking sticking with that dose for a few cycles might be the thing to do. I'll check his +2 and see how he's doing.
 
no hon, i don't think you over did it. no worries. i am in favor of reduced does regardless of ps following very low numbers. the reason is to see how well sam does with the lower dose even with rebound # which tends to be temporary.
for example 4 years ago tom had a +3 32. the next ps was 300+. i did not shoot any insulin and watched him take his own little self down.
these days we shoot but usually reduce dose just so sam can prove his point to you if he has one!
 
i read it gator but i don't get it. what reminded you of me?
 
I'm guessing because you say hon. Are you originally from Baltimore? I grew up on the Eastern Shore of MD, so that's a familiar term to me.
 
actually i grew up in new york and spent most of my time in the city.
i now live in so. cal. and i have a tendency to use the words honey and baby alot.
i may have even said things to him like 'gotta go baby, talk to you later!'
oh, and i say sweetie too. but never to gator :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top