1/9 Klinger AMPS 373

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning,
Klinger's AMPS 373 2.0u's

I sent my new Vet (same practice) the results of Klinger's curve on Friday. She wanted me to start him out at 2u's, so she was glad that I was raising it to 2u's yesterday. She would like me to hold this dose and re-curve on Friday.

I also sent her the links to NV raw and Janet & Binkys food list...she wants to work on getting some of Klingers extra pounds down. He's not fat, he's big boned! :lol: She hasn't had time to look at the links yet, but will get back to me (maybe today - she works Thurs-Sunday) on that and the tests. Since Klinger is her 1st kitty on Lev, I'm hopeful that she'll be more interested in learning with us.

Hope everyone has a great day!
We're expecting more snow today...
 
It's so great that your vet is really working with you in this. Our paws and fingers are crossed that this is the right insulin for klinger!! I'm looking forward to seeing his next curve.
 
Marcy, good job on bringing your vet along to learn about lev as you do.

I can't remember, but was Klinger eating dry food before? (so many new people, I have lost track - sorry!). If so, I bet he will loose unwanted weight as he becomes regulated and makes the change to an optimal diet. I have seen many cats loose/gain to their optimal weight when changed to an appropriate diet. It just sort of happens.

Did you give your vet a link to the Lisa Pierson, DVM site on feline nutrition? http://www.catinfo.org/

She has a lot of information in there about proper diets helping with all kinds of issues including feline obesity and calorie requirements, etc:
Consider Calories and Composition, Not Just Ounces

An average canned food contains ~30 calories/ounce. The plain chicken and plain turkey Wellness products contain ~40 calories/ounce. Some of the lower quality canned foods only contain ~20 calories/ounce. So you can see by this wide range that you need to pay attention to calories - not just ounces of food.

For high protein/low fat snacks you can offer small pieces of chicken but remember that you are feeding a small cat, not a human. A little bit of food can be significant in terms of calories.

Chicken meat:
Raw, lean, skinned leg/thigh meat = ~34 calories/ounce.
Cooked, lean, skinned leg/thigh meat = ~50 calories/ounce.
From here: http://www.catinfo.org/?link=felineobesity
 
Hi Sheila,
I totally understand about getting the newbies confused. I do it myself. :lol: Klinger eats Fancy Feast Classic varieties and Nature's Variety Raw Rabbit. No dry. Before dx he LOVED his high carb treats.
It seems that Klinger is very carb sensative. I've looked at Janet & Binky's chart for other low carb options and they are either too high in fat (not good for his chronic p'titis) or they're fish. I've also tried to get him to eat Merricks, Wellness, Blue Buffalo, and a few others that aren't coming to mind right now.

Thanks for Dr. Lisa's link. I did not send it to my vet ohmygod_smile but I will.
 
mars72 said:
I sent my new Vet (same practice) the results of Klinger's curve on Friday. She wanted me to start him out at 2u's, so she was glad that I was raising it to 2u's yesterday. She would like me to hold this dose and re-curve on Friday.

I am sure she probably wasn't too happy that you didn't follow her advice and start off with 2 units, but it is important to start at a lower number so we don't miss the right dose. That way you shouldn't have to go back later and do rebound checks when and if there is a question about the numbers. I know you know this, but I hope she understands the reasoning as well.

As far as leaving that 2 unit dose until Friday when you can curve (that will be almost a week). I just hate to see you wait that long if the numbers stay like they are. I do understand wanting the dose to settle and all, and the fact that you aren't home to do a curve until Friday, and I would agree with that if he were riding in the high two's or even the low three's, but those four's and almost into the five's is disconcerting to me as I am sure it is to you.

Anyway, maybe I am talking prematurely here and he will settle into this dose nicely. :) I hope so. See what others say too.

So what do YOU say Klinger? Come on down from there fella!

P.S. let us know how much snow you get! Do you ever get snowed in there?
 
Hi Marcy,

If it is just for treats, maybe you would consider boiling some chicken without the skin and freeze in small bite size pieces for him.

As small as they are, they'd defrost quickly, though I bet you might microwave them ;-) or he might even like them frozen!

that way no carbs but it is still a treat, high protein at that, and is pretty convenient, too...just reach into the freezer and volia!

Sorry if I have you confused with another, but did your vet mention getting an Acro test for Klinger? ...just seems the best numbers you've ever gotten were at like 7u- which is like a crazy high dose! :shock:

...just wondering...
 
pamela and tigger said:
As far as leaving that 2 unit dose until Friday when you can curve (that will be almost a week). I just hate to see you wait that long if the numbers stay like they are. I do understand wanting the dose to settle and all, and the fact that you aren't home to do a curve until Friday, and I would agree with that if he were riding in the high two's or even the low three's, but those four's and almost into the five's is disconcerting to me as I am sure it is to you.
KI've thought about this too. On one hand I don't want him to be that high for that long either, but he also bounces alot and does well with a longer time to settle into doses.

Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
If it is just for treats, maybe you would consider boiling some chicken without the skin and freeze in small bite size pieces for him.

As small as they are, they'd defrost quickly, though I bet you might microwave them or he might even like them frozen!

that way no carbs but it is still a treat, high protein at that, and is pretty convenient, too...just reach into the freezer and volia!
Thanks for the tip. I've also used the Chicken Prime Taste treats and Chicken Pure Bites...he loves both.

Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
Sorry if I have you confused with another, but did your vet mention getting an Acro test for Klinger? ...just seems the best numbers you've ever gotten were at like 7u- which is like a crazy high dose!
The vet hasn't mentioned it, but I have mentioned it to my vet. He actually got a few greens after his dental on 3.2u's of prozinc. I honestly think that Klinger was severly overdosed on the 7.5us since we were not testing pre-shot and only doing mini curves once a week. He may need a higher dose...I just can't totally trust that data.

We probably have 6" of snow right now with no sign of stopping overnight. We don't get as much as Pam & Alley on the other side of the mountains, but a few years ago we had 5 feet. That was pretty cool. Everything was shut down.

Edit: I can't believe that I just figured out that using the "Quote" button in the top right corner of the page make the quote alot cleaner and easier to use than the "quote" button in the toolbar. ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top