? 1/9 Ember AMPS 373 Unsure about increase

Elaine and Ember

Member Since 2025
Good morning all! Ember had a streak of blues last night for the first time in two months. She was extra high in the morning cycle so I was shocked to see such low numbers come out of nowhere. We hadn't even had any low yellows this dose. I wasn't sure I should do her scheduled increase this morning, but she's been trending so high I decided to go for it since I'll be home to monitor. I'm not sure if that was the right decision though. I'll take her back down to the previous dose tonight if the experts think the increase was a poor choice?
? - 1/8 Ember AMPS 371, +4 372, +8 458, PMPS 413, +6 124?!?, +7 137 Still increase dose tomorrow?
 
Wow! That was a big drop from her PMPS, but nice to see Ember holding those blues during the cycle. I'm not too familiar with SLGS, so hopefully you get some experienced members jumping in.

Good luck and safe surfing 😊
 
Hi Elaine, Here is the language from the sticky regarding dose increases under SLGS:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

I believe that with last night's drop down into the between 149 and 90 range, you would hold the dose (see the blue high-lighted text). Let's tag some folks to get an answer about what to do with your next shot: @Christie & Maverick @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee

Something I would do while monitoring today is try to grab a +1 and/or +2. Since Ember had that dive from the preshot number last night, and this is something she might start doing, rather than remaining her somewhat normal flat self, you want to be sure she's not diving earlier in the cycle. You're not really sure what her numbers were prior to last night's +5 drop, which can sometimes be the lowest point in the cycle.
 
Last edited:
It's good you increased. You want more than the stray nadir in the 90-149 range. The aim of SLGS is to get the cat to spend as much time as possible in that range.

What is her feeding schedule like? Did she eat between PMPS and +5 last night?

Like Mary said, we suggest getting a test at +2 (when possible). That can give you an early warning of an active cycle.
 
It's good you increased. You want more than the stray nadir in the 90-149 range. The aim of SLGS is to get the cat to spend as much time as possible in that range.

What is her feeding schedule like? Did she eat between PMPS and +5 last night?

Like Mary said, we suggest getting a test at +2 (when possible). That can give you an early warning of an active cycle.
She gets a small meal in her feeder every 2.5 hours after her main meal with her shot. (Through the first part of the cycle. Her last feeding is usually at +7.5 unless I'm home and give her a treat or several.😻) Last night she had eaten dinner and one small meal. She ate a second small meal right after that test.
I'll have to start getting some earlier tests.
 
Wow! That was a big drop from her PMPS, but nice to see Ember holding those blues during the cycle. I'm not too familiar with SLGS, so hopefully you get some experienced members jumping in.

Good luck and safe surfing 😊
Yes, that was massive! Stuff like this scares me to death since there was no indication anything was different last night and if her numbers had started out in a more normal range I would have possibly have come home to a dead cat! 😭
 
Good luck with the increase! 💙 I'm not an expert, but I'd have done the same. Ideally we're all looking for some consistency with our numbers, so while those blues are delightful (and surprising), I think the increase is still a good plan. You can always go back down, especially if she winds up taking a dive.
 
Yes, that was massive! Stuff like this scares me to death since there was no indication anything was different last night and if her numbers had started out in a more normal range I would have possibly have come home to a dead cat! 😭
Oh no, that’s such a scary thought but you have all the tools to keep Ember safe and you can use any of them should you ever feel worried. Also, learning how she responds to numbers and doses will give you more confidence over time. Good check getting the +1 tonight so you can feel a bit better as to where she’s going. Safe surfing 🤗
 
Back
Top