1/8 Muffin pmps 377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

1/7 Recap:
amps 266 shot .5u (True2Go Meter used this cycle)
+3 237
+5 217
+9 189
pmps 345 shot .5u (ReliOn Meter used)
+2 384


Good Morning LL! Healing vines to all beans and kitties who need them.

I got sucked into the black hole of comparing meters. I ran out of ReliOn strips and during Muffin's last stint here, had to buy a True2Go meter in the middle of the night. I compared the 2 briefly at that time, and they were exactly the same after allowing for meter variance. Of course, Muffin was green then. I've come to find they are way off this time in higher numbers, which of course makes me wonder which one is right. ohmygod_smile Marje suggested to quit comparing, pick one and stick with it. So I'm going to stick with the ReliOn, as that's what I've used for years, but in an attempt to quell my anxiety, I will go buy a new ReliOn this afternoon, as this one is a couple years old. Then I'll keep the old one for a back up.

Amps this morning 225 on the ReliOn, 153 on the T2G. She came willing for testing and shooting this morning, even rolling around on the floor. She was furry purry afterwards. She really does seem to be feeling better. Today is a pred day, which I forgot to give at amps, so I'll give it at the next feeding.

Throat is still sore and swollen this morning, but so far that's the only symptom. (anti-jinx) Hope you all have a great day.
 
Re: 1/8 Muffin amps 225

Hi guys .. well glad to hear muffin is feeling good this morning .. and hopefully, you continue to improve too! I know we tried a few meter's with mocha but ended up sticking with the relion .. after she went OTJ, we bought a new one, just to make sure the batteries and meter were new and giving right numbers .. tested both meters, and they were right on with each other .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/8 Muffin amps 225 +3.5 239

+3.5 239 on new ReliOn / 222 on old ReliOn. Seems the old one was fine :lol: But, I have a sleek new meter now!

Devon - Hi and thanks for visiting. Just bought a new ReliOn, and it is right on par with the old one. But at least I feel a little better now. I'll just have to forget about the T2G.
 
Re: 1/8 Muffin amps 225 +3.5 239

Bummer on the strip panic. I think I've become a strip hoarder. I used to have a meter that I could only get strips for online. I got caught out once and have made sure I had a stockpile ever since, I panic if I have fewer than 4 boxes! :roll:

I'd take the True2Go back if you just got it last night and say that it gave off readings compared to 2 other meters. I had that one when we first started and had the same problem. There is a new Consumer Reports review of glucose meters, I have a link to it in Tess's condo. The 2 top Picks are the Relion Micro and the Up & Up from Target. That's what we use. I get strips cheaper online, but like it because you can get the strips retail at Target in an emergency OR at Walgreens which is often open late! it is actually a store branded version of the WaveSense Presto, it uses exactly the same strips and you can get them online for about $13.

I hope you feel better soon. That cold is getting everyone!
 
Re: 1/8 Muffin amps 225 +3.5 239 +5.5 223 Dose ?

+5.5 223. Another flat yellow day. I don't like her in these numbers for this much time. I'd really like to fatten up her dose, but this is only her 4th cycle on it. I held the last 2 doses too long, and don't want to do that again. Is it okay if I fatten it up tomorrow morning? That will be after 5 cycles - I know the standard is 6.
 
Re: 1/8 Muffin amps 225 +3.5 239 +5.5 223 +8 271

+8 271. Thanks Sienne, I'll shoot f.5 tomorrow morning. I'll give her tonight to see if this flat yellow means anything.

Ann - I wish I could take the T2G back, but I bought it back in September. I still have a few strips for it, so it will do in a pinch if I run out of relion strips again. I hate to buy too many at a time, not knowing how long she's going to need insulin, but I will try to keep at least a 50 pack in reserve.

Liz - Thank you for the prevention vines. Doesn't look like Muffin was listening to you today. :-| Maybe tonight tho! Otherwise, up goes the dose in the morning.
 
Re: 1/8 Muffin amps 225 +3.5 239 +5.5 223 +8 271

Good luck if you decide to increase the dose in the morning. I recently got caught up in comparing meters. I use the Relion Confirm and bought a Relion Prime to try. Even with both being Relion they gave me different numbers. I finally had to pick one and only one because I was driving myself crazy comparing numbers. The higher numbers were farther apart than the lower numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top