1/8 Hobbs AM 547 +2 424 +4 328 +6 199 +8 115 +10 122 PM 152

Status
Not open for further replies.

SabrinaFaire

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

YIKES

He was pretty low last night. 54 before dinner, 75 at +2 and 149 at +4. To that point, he'd only had wet food all day except some treats for BG testing. Well. He seemed hungry, he'd eaten all his food and I'm a sucker I guess. So I gave him a tiny bit of dry. Less than 1/3 of a cup of the DM food I still have. I guess I should not have done that. :cry:

I'm doing my very first full day curve today, let's hope his numbers get better. :)

AMPS: 547 / 1.75u
+2: 424
+4: 328
+6: 199
+8: 115
+10: 122
PMPS: 152

If I should be doing something other than or in addition to taking a BG level every 2 hours for this, let me know! LOL That's my understanding of how this works based on what I've read.

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/8 Hobbs AMPS 547 Curve Day

Yep a curve is taking his readings every 2 hours, but don't be surprised if he runs high today...for a couple of reasons...1) Because he was too low to shoot last night, so part of his shed has drained and needs to refill. and 2) because he was so low last night that he probably went even lower at his nadir, and thus went way lower than what his body right now considers normal so he is bouncing today from that low low yesterday. Slowly as his body gets to being in normal range these wild swings will stop.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/8 Hobbs AMPS 547 +2 424 Curve Day

Goodluck!!! But by the looks of it, you're pretty good at this testing thing. So awesome!

Yesterday was my first curve day and I think I was more stressed than Kit . It seemed like I was always there poking him and saying, "no no, you have to do this Kit, cuz pretty soon we'll have to do another one". But the day went really well and I (errr..I mean he lol) survived. I think I'm gonna start giving myself a treat each time too haha.
 
Re: 1/8 Hobbs AMPS 547 +2 424 +4 394 Curve Day

LOL yeah so far it's going OK! I like the idea of me getting a treat every time though!!
 
Re: 1/8 Hobbs AM 547 +2 424 +4 328 +6 199 +8 115 +10 122

So he's doing pretty good today. Little bit of an uptick from the most recent one. So if his nadir is 115 today, do I give him any insulin tonight? If so, what? I gave him 1.75u this morning. (Vet says 2u, he was on 1u until this past Thursday) Or should I wait and see what his PM number is?

Also, I feel bad for his poor little ears. Are they sore? He's not pawing at them but he's light colored so I can see all the little spots that have been hit or bruised because I didn't put enough pressure on I guess.
 
Re: 1/8 Hobbs AM 547 +2 424 +4 328 +6 199 +8 115 +10 122

YAY Hobbs for surviving your first curve!! :thumbup

Kit's one ear is pretty much dark red on the end that I keep poking...and he's a light orange cat. I really don't think that they mind actually. In all honesty, I think I mind more...but I'm still getting used to everything. Do you put some neosporin/polysporin on it? I do after each shot....
 
Re: 1/8 Hobbs AM 547 +2 424 +4 328 +6 199 +8 115 +10 122

If he went down to 54 by his pmps last night and was too low to shoot on 1.5u yesterday going up today doesn't make sense. Lantus you give a consistant dose both morning and evening. Personally, I would drop him back to 1u both morning and evening now that he is off dry food completely and hold that dose for 5 days to see where he settles into unless of course he tells you otherwise by giving you another low number on a midcycle test.

The reason he started off so high today was that he went so low yesterday. If he was at 54 by the time his pmps rolled around means that he was much lower around his nadir yesterday and his body released stored sugars and hormones to save itself from going hypo. Lantus unlike Prozinc and some of the other older insulins build up in the body, so they need to be dosed consistently. You can't react to a single number, but have to look for the overall trends after the dose has been held for awhile. So far you have changed his dose way too much and way too often to have any idea what is truly going on with him.

The motto around here is to start low and go slow. The ideal starting point is .5-1u given consistently twice a day for 5 days then run a curve and go from there. Every time you change dose his shed is filling and emptying. If you think of the shed as a bucket that you are filling with water, you want to fill it until it is just to the top edge of the bucket but not some much as that it over flows and causes hypo numbers.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/8 Hobbs AM 547 +2 424 +4 328 +6 199 +8 115 +10 122 PM

And we're done!! 152 tonight.

OK so even 1u now even though he's below 200?

I feel like I'm all over the place too but he was mid 300s all last week on 1u and the Dr upped him to 2u on Thu (which I agree was too much at once)

Oh and yes, slathering Neosporin on the ears! Well it feels like it but not a ton, don't want him cleaning it off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top