1/8, Dusty, AM shot skipped (vet) PMPS 305 +2 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Well today was a wasted day. Dusty spent it at the vet - they were trying to get another urine sample since she's still peeing pink. I *thought* they were going to do a cystocentesis but apparently there was a failure in communication somewhere because all they wanted to do was collect whatever she peed. Which is upsetting because if all they wanted was a urine sample, I could have just brought them some since I'm used to sticking my hand under Dusty as she pees for her ketone tests. And, despite all that, they didn't get a sample because after peeing in the litter box Dusty promptly laid down in it. So I've got a very stressed kitty who is in exactly the same place she was this morning. I'm not a happy mama. (Apparently somewhere it was written that she would also have a curve done today at the vet's. An assistant called to talk about the insulin and the worry that they wouldn't get good BG numbers and I fear I probably hurt her eardrums in my loud, vehement assertion that I did not want nor need a curve done. Yeesh.

Dusty was at the vet's at her shot time, so I brought her insulin. Because she wasn't eating, though, they didn't want to give her insulin...which is fine. Better to have a high day than a hypo event. Since they skipped her AM shot, how much does it matter that I keep her PM time? I'm in the middle of moving her shot times from 10/10 to 8/8 and would love to be able to just give her her shot tonight at 8 and consider the timing changed. Would that be OK?

Meanwhile, I'm going to go give Dusty a few more cuddles and more than a few freeze dried turkey bits, to make up just a little for her hellacious day.
 
Re: 1/8, Dusty, AM shot skipped (vet), timing question

yes, as long as it has been at least 12 hours since the last shot, you can move tonight's shot up to the time you would prefer.

Sorry about the miscommunications at the vet. :sad:
 
Re: 1/8, Dusty, AM shot skipped (vet), timing question

Thanks! That's what I thought, but I didn't want to assume and then screw things up. :)

And yeah, I should have had a clue that perhaps things weren't as they seemed when the vet tech called to consult with me about the curve. But I didn't think to clarify what they were planning at that time (outside of making sure they knew I didn't want them to do a curve). Ah well. Live and learn, I suppose.
 
Re: 1/8, Dusty, AM shot skipped (vet)

Awww...I'm sorry you and Dusty had a rough day today. I hope you're able to relax together this evening!
 
Re: 1/8, Dusty, AM shot skipped (vet)

Oh gosh what a day you and Dusty had. How odd that the vet would do the same test he just did the other day when you had her in. With a cysto, she shouldn't have had to stay.....it only takes a few seconds.

Glad you will get to adjust your schedule. That's the positive side of it :-D

Did you get any pain meds?
 
Re: 1/8, Dusty, AM shot skipped (vet) PMPS 305

Thanks Amy and Marje! Amy - we have been able to relax a bit. Dusty is in weirdly good spirits. Maybe she's just happy to be back in her comfort zone. Regardless, I'm happy she didn't immediately retreat under the bed.

Marje - that's part of the reason I just assumed they'd be doing a cysto. I think that, regardless, if this doesn't clear up I'll just make a proper appointment and have them do it while I wait. I'm loathe to leave her at the vet all day again, especially since (a) I can collect urine here at home and (b) they can do a cysto quickly while I'm there. I did get one dose of buprenorphine for her that I'll give her tonight. We agreed to see whether Dusty would handle that better than the butorphanol before getting a bigger dose.
 
Boy howdy is that quite the drop at +2. I'm thinking that maybe I injected into muscle rather than just under her skin? Who knows. Given the drop, is it important to check the +4? Or are her numbers (PMPS definitely, but even now) safe enough that I can sleep without setting alarms tonight?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top