? 1/8 Bub AMPS 303 PMPS 146. Not sure how much to shoot. Getting sick of all the bouncing...

Alli and Bub

Member Since 2022
Bub had been testing high on 1 unit, so I increased to 1.25 a couple cycles ago and he keeps bouncing. I did a glucose curve today and his glucose dropped pretty fast. Did I increase too quickly? Should I give 1 unit? I gave him 1 unit on 1/1 and he was in the greens but idk how much of a drop he will have this time. I don't want to skip bc his glucose usually skyrockets without insulin...
 
Stalled for about 30 mins and he tested at 149, so maybe rising? Feeding now, but he takes a while to eat so I'll test again when he's done before shooting I think?
 
Here's the link to your previous post here, which we like to see for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...le-transitioning-to-low-carb-wet-food.272324/

Bouncing is a normal thing for cats. Annoying as it is for us, it happens. Bouncing is a reaction to one of two things, the cat being in lower numbers than they are used to, or fast drops. To get rid of bounces from lower numbers, you have to get to a dose where they spend more time in normal blood sugar values. Even then it can take time - which is up to the cat, not us. Reducing the dose when he starts to get good numbers does not help. With SLGS, you want his nadirs to be in the 90-149 range. You were starting to see that with the 1.25 unit dose. I would go back to 1.25 units tomorrow morning. The greens on 1/1 were from the 2 and 2.5 unit depots, not a result of the 1.0 unit dose. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction.

If kitty is bouncing from fast drops, the trick is to learn at what point he drops fast in the cycle, and feed some food just before hand, to slow the drops. That doesn't seem to be Bub's issue at the moment. I also noticed you might have skipped a dose yesterday AM, that will also cause higher numbers - but not all high numbers are bounces. That's just high numbers due to lack of insulin.
 
Back
Top