1/7 Weezer PMPS 231!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 277
+3 328
+8 285
PMPS 338
+2.75 369
+4.5 320

A little sunshine yesterday, but mostly pink. Weezer evidently recovered her appy after I left in the morning. She ate pretty much all of the greatly enhanced breakfast she had quibbled about, most of the two mini meals served by auto feeder and a goodly amount of roast beef served by DH. This morning she started with the “this again” attitude at breakfast, but I ignored it. I had gotten a 15 minute head start so I could wait her out a bit. Sure enough, after a few minutes she deemed the homemade raw food, with her usual freeze dried chicken topping to be adequate, and started eating. Victory for the bean! :-D

This morning she is coming in at 346, so I added .25 Humulin R to her current dose of 12.5. This is her first experience with the R, so I will be monitoring her closely. I am curious to see if it brings her down some, or if her insulin resistance causes her BG to rise in the face of a new insulin. Wish us luck! Disclaimer: Weezer has multiple conditions and her dosing is not to be followed by anyone else.

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Re: 12/7 Weezer AMPS 346

Glad to hear Weezer approved of her food! Good luck with the R. :-D I hope it brings "sunshine" and "blue" skies! Have a great day Linda
 
Re: 12/7 Weezer AMPS 346

Congrats on winning this battle in Food Wars!!! Good luck with the R - hopefully it will help knock her numbers down safely!
 
Re: 12/7 Weezer AMPS 346

wishing for more sunshine on Weezers SS. I hope the R proves to be a useful neww tool. :twisted: I have to do the same w/ Tess in the mornings, she usually just needs a break or two and then comes back and finishes.
 
Re: 12/7 Weezer AMPS 346

Hi Linda, lots and lots of luck with the "R" and hope it helps bring her numbers down. Great with the success on the fuds war, too. Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/7 Weezer AMPS 346

:lol: :lol: on yesterday's garbage heap of food. Glad you won today's battle without too much of a war.

Good luck with the R. I hope it helps to bring her down. Have a great day Linda and Weezer!
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346

Kudos to the bean! I love to see beans that win the food war... Mannie on the other hand wouldn't miss a meal, ever... no matter what shape or form or content, Garbage heap included. :lol: I'm glad that Weezer decided the offering was a good one.

Good luck with the R too. Hope it helps bring Weezer down even more.
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346

:lol: :lol: :lol: on the fuds, good job Linda with waiting her out. Sneaky Weezer wanted to see if you had anything better!

Good luck with the R, keep us posted!
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346

Hope the R works for you! Looks like you won with the foods! Great Job--Weezer will be better in no time!!
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346

are you going to make a dosing chart for the R? i haven't used it, but have seen people do that for a reference guide. looks like weezer's responding very nicely to the R this morning.

if only you could see this beloved daughter of mine's blog, linda. i'm sure not going to worry about mentioning the zit when she writes about EVERYTHING in her blog. i can't tell you how many conversations i've had with her about not needing to make absolutely everything you think public. she has shared things about me that i would like to KILL her for. but haven't. yet. ;-) :lol: want to know about her bathroom issues? check the blog. how about her past relationships? yep, there. current relationships? i'm sure they are there also including more details than anyone ever wanted to know. she finally tightened up her blog so only invited readers (of which i am not one) can read it, but that's because she's said so many inappropriate things that she's even lost friends over it. slow learner, but i imagine life will eventually teach her the lesson.
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346

I gave Weezer .25 R this morning with her AM Lantus. I tested her every hour to see what, if any reaction she would have to that low dose. We are at +6 now and since R is very fast acting, I think it has probably cleared, so I'll quit with the every hour pokey. Here is what we got:

AMPS 346
+1 344
+2 325
+3 310
+4 316
+5 293
+6 302

So I can't really say I saw a big impact. At least I don't see that her insulin resistance caused a higher BG because of a new insulin. I would be very interested in hearing from anyone with R experience, to see what they make of this data. I'm thinking, it would take a bigger dose of R to make much of a difference. If that's the case, I'll inch the dose up.
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

NOW you're a bartender mixin' cocktails huh.... ;-) Oh what we do for them. I'm so interested in what the R is going to do for her - hope it works to bring those numbers down lower.

BIG hugs!
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

Darn. I was watching and waiting, hoping for a breakthrough. You're right, though, there doesn't seem to be much variance with the introduction of R. Will you try it again with more R at the same time, or the same amount of R at a different time?

All dosing aside, I hope you're having a fine day, Linda! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

It looks like the R didn't make a difference to me. Does it to you?
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

I have no experience with R and FD but lots with humans. I would think a bit more R would help more. It is not the fastest acting insulin, Humalog is, but it does get in there and do the job and get out. I am interested in seeing how Weezer does with a little more R. In humans, it is dosed based on how high the BG is and how many mg/DL you need to come down. For example, if I needed to come down 100 mg/DL, I would need 2 units as I need 1 u per 50 mg/DL. I am not sure you can do the same type of formula with cats and they certainly would need less. Hopefully someone with experience can confirm or deny my experience with felines in mind.
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

These are my thoughts:
ECID, and the R needs can change, I think.

I don't use R much anymore these days. Although, that's the first thing I thought of when I saw J.D. rising and rising today :oops:
When I use R, my goal is to bring my cat down about 150 points (and not too fast, either, as too fast of a drop will only set up another bounce).

In the most recent past, when I gave R, I was giving 0.0 (at the zero line, where there is still some insulin left in the syringe). But, I have given 0.10 and 0.05 of R.
It's been a little tricky for me. As sometimes, when I gave J.D. some R at PS, he was done with his bounce (unbeknownst to me) and he was heading down anyways, and the R on top of that, would bring him down too fast, and he would then bounce the next day.
So, you want to use as little as possible to get a response of about a 150 point drop that's not too fast. You'll have to experiment to find that dose. I would maybe try 0.35 next. Maybe others, will tell you to try 0.50. I would only do it, if you will be home and available to test and monitor him for the whole 6 hours.
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

Wow...I have the utmost respect for all of you folks who are treating multiple conditions...

makes me realize yet again what a cake walk this was for Binks & me. :oops:

best of luck, guys!
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

Hi Linda.Repeating what Celi said. I get so frustrated with Checks, just because he doesn't eat much.
You are to be congratulated, for getting Weezer to eat, and dealing with the health issues also.
Good job, Mama Bean :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

good luck with the R!

FYI, here are links to some condos when I was helping other people learn to use R. Maybe these will help you. You did fine. I wouldn't expect to see 0.25u reduce her numbers by a whole lot, especially at the beginning of the cycle. She got a 30 point drop at a time in the cycle when numbers might otherwise be rising normally. That's a good thing. I would probably get at least one more curve on 0.25, then maybe try 0.5 and see how that does. Always get +1, +2, +3, +4 on R cycles, until you have collected enough data to see how she is doing with it.

Gus 4/17
Gus 4/20
Gus 4/23
Gus 4/24
Tommy 4/24
Tommy 4/25

And here are a couple of other acro conversations, just because I happened to run across them while I was looking for these (you WERE planning to sit in front of your computer and read all night, weren't you?) :lol:
Tommy 5/30
Jazzy 4/30
Interesting Posts from the Past
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

Great job today, Linda. I'm sure it is a little scary at first but you handled it like a pro. I'm so glad you got such great info from Dyana and Libby. Hopefully next time it will really bring her numbers down like you want.

I also enjoyed the breffis story!! Weezer..you little minx!!
 
Re: 1/7 Weezer AMPS 346, R curve ?

Linda, you have done a great job today. I would be really scared to introduce something new and you were fabulous...nerves of steel! I know Weezer will respond once you find the right combination of insulin and R.
 
I can't imagine the R Weezer got with her AM shot had an effect on her PMPS, but this is her lowest PS ever! :-D No R tonight! But I did increase her dose from 12.5 to 12.75. Work it Weezer!

We both appreciate all of the support. I will be doing my homework tonight Libby. :smile:
 
Weezer!!!

dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat

I dunno if it was the R or the dosecrease or something else entirely... but congrats! That is super exciting :-D

And I got sucked into reading about Gus and his journey with R tonight already :lol: pretty interesting stuff!
 
SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

funny_cat_pictures_17.jpg
 
Hi Linda,
What a nice PMPS for Weezer! It looks like R might help. I'm going to read Libby's posts and see what's what!!!

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Well, go go Weezer!!! Great job mixing the LantRtini today! :lol: :lol: :lol: Fingers and paws crossed that it will help you get Weezer's numbers back down into better ranges! Have a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top