1/7 Simon PMPS 139 +2 144 +6 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday was the end of 6 cycles on this dose and obviously, it hasn't helped with Simon's numbers. I am taking him to the vet today just to rule out any infection going on. I have to bring Cleo in at the same time to get her urine checked since she had a UTI a few weeks ago and was on AB's. It should be a fun ride in the car to the vets with crying kitties the whole way! And a fun time with me in the car on the way home crying about the cost of the tests! :cry: I wish I had bought pet insurance but of course hindsight is 20/20.

I'll update when I get home.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 Vet visit today

Good luck with the vetty visit! I so know what you mean about the cost of the tests...I'm wishing I started a college fund for my kitties when I first adopted them!

We're thinking of you today...have a great one!

Amy
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 Vet visit today

Hi Georgia, good luck on Vetty visit for both cats. I hear ya on the costs. I have VPI, but I get disappointed at times on what is not covered. I hope both kitties remain calm, in our dreams, huh! :lol: We'll be waiting for updates.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 Vet visit today

Best wishes for a good vetty visit! And 2 crying kitties in the car??!?!? You're a brave soul!! :lol:

I have pet insurance for most of my crew- through ASPCA pet insurance- it has been a godsend. When Jetta got sick I would not have been able to pay for it without pet insurance and that would not have left any good options...
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 Vet visit today

Good luck at the vetty! I hope all goes well. I can so relate to a car full of crying kitties - well even two seem like a car full when they are howling. Mine never disappoint in that regard. I hope Cleo and Simon have good visits. I so hear you on wishing I had pet insurance, especially on the last go around with BJ's costs. Oh well...

Hope the rest of the day is good!
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 Vet visit today

Good luck in the vetty visit. Maybe when the trauma is over you can have a consolation party with Simon and Cleo. You can reassure them that it is in fact over, and they can reassure you that it was worth it. I'll check back for results.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 +5 174 Vet visit today

Simon is trying his best to tell me that he doesn't need to go to the vet. He posted a nice blue number right when we are getting ready to leave for the vet. Sorry Simon, it is a little too late. You are going to the vet...no backing out now. We're off!
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 +5 174

We are all back from the vet. I had a urine culture done on both cats. Cleo needed one because she had a UTI a month ago and needed a re-check. Simon got one to rule out any infection since his bg's have increased over the last couple of months. Good news is that the vet said Simon's weight is stable, his heart sounds good, and his ears look better :-D . He said that sometimes we spend so much time looking at the numbers that we forget to look at the overall cat and see how they are doing. I know this is something I always have to be reminded about. He did want to do a fructosimine test even though he knows I am following the protocol. He said it numerous times and I politely refused numerous times :smile: And after all that, when I got home I looked at my bill and lo and behold, the cost of the fructosomine test was on my bill! Of course, I called immediately and they credited the amount.

Now the bad news. My Cleo, who has CRF, has lost 1.2 pounds in 2 months. The vet is very concerned. She is vomiting about 2-3 times a week even though she is on the ondansetron and pepcid but she continues to eat regular amounts of food (at least 9 oz a day). So normally, the vomiting would be causing her to not eat and that would be the reason she is losing weight. The vet wants me to weigh Cleo every few days and if she is continuing to lose weight, I need to bring her in for an abdominal ultrasound. He said that with all her symptoms, it may not be the obvious (CRF) but may be due to something else. He even mentioned the C word. I'm going to up her fluids a little bit and try to add a few more meals into her day.

Both cats are happy to be home and were wonderful patients at the vet.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 +5 174 Back from Vet

Did you switch Cleo's food when she was diagnosed to a lower calorie food by chance?

Victoria is also loosing weight and it was due to the switch to wet food. We had to add back in higher calorie kibble to keep her from losing and she's able to maintain now. I have to weigh her today - skipped the last two Friday weigh ins.

If you post on the CRF group about the weight loss what do they say?

Have you tried cerenia for vomiting? Ondansetron is great for nausea and vomiting but often cerenia is needed to control vomiting. The CRF group may have input on this. Is she vomiting food?

Good luck with the urinalysis!
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 +5 174 Back from Vet

Karrie, I did switch Cleo to an all canned food diet when Simon was first diagnosed with diabetes a little over a year ago. She hasn't lost this much weight in a month's time although she has lost about 7 pounds (she used to weight almost 20 pounds)! I guess I should see about adding a little kibble to her diet to see if that will help. Simon will need to stay away from that!

I haven't posted on the CRF web site yet. She is vomiting mostly clear liquid, not food.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 +5 174 Back from Vet

Good report on Simon, Georgia.
Good luck with the urinalysis tests.
Checks lost a lot of weight, on canned food...after eating fattening kibble for years. So much in fact, that I had both hyper-t tests done. In house, and the one sent to Mich. No problem there.
He has no health problem to explain the weight loss; just not a good eater.
If you find something to put weight back on Cleo, I'd like to know.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon AMPS 284 +5 174 Back from Vet

great news for Simon...

and sending strongest possible healing vines for sweet Cleo.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon PMPS 139 Back from Vet

Interesting that Simon's numbers are better today even with the vet visit. No figuring out this stuff! We'll see what tonight brings.

I think I might start feeding Cleo some more hc canned food and see what happens. She is eating mc food right now. I really don't want to start her back on the kibble because she was more lethargic and reclusive when she was eating all that junk. Thanks for all the well wishes. Sorry I haven't been able to visit condos today.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon PMPS 139 Back from Vet

Nice to see Simon back in blue and that he got a pretty good vetty report!!

I'm sorry Cleo is continuing to lose weight and vomit occasionally. I had hoped that would stop. Clearly she still has some acid issues going on.

FWIW, Gus has lost weight, too, but his BW just came back really great. I was even worried about metabolic acidosis which CRF cats can have and those all came back normal. But it's smart to have her checked out a little more.

SEnding you big hugs....what a great mom you are!
 
Re: 1/7 Simon PMPS 139 Back from Vet

Fingers and paws crossed for good labs for Simon and Cleo! Hopefully, you can get Cleo's issues sorted out soon... and Simon's numbers back into better ranges!! Have a great night!
 
Re: 1/7 Simon PMPS 139 Back from Vet

Hi Georgia, glad Simon is looking good but so sorry to hear about Cleo's problems. Giving the hc food sounds like a plan to see if she gains some weight. That's great they were good patients. Sending some vines and prayers for Cleo and you, too.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon PMPS 139 Back from Vet

Well maybe that vetty visit was enough for Simon to decide he should surf some lower numbers. Sorry to hear about Cleo, hopefully it's nothing major, and I hope both of their tests come back A-OK.
 
Re: 1/7 Simon PMPS 139 Back from Vet

hi glad the vetty appt went well. I am sorry about Cleo's problems, but I hope it is nothing major. Maybe just some adjustments on her food to help her weight stabilize. Good luck, and many well wishes headed your way.

Very nice pmps for Simon. Way to go!
 
All blue day & night will lead to green tomorrow--Paws & fngers crossed--
Prayer & Healing vines to Cleo that she feels better & tests comes back normal for her!
We will be thinking of her & hoping for her better health!
You are a brave soul taking them both at the same time..
Have a better night & we are sending you Hugs & Love!!--Ni Ni!!
 
forgot to mention to you over the phone....
have you tried boiling chicken thighs and then pure the chicken and add it to Cleo's food?
It's low phos and ZERO carbs...so Simon can have that too....
chicken breast is high in phos so not good for a CRF kitty...
i add that to Rocket's daily intake...i make a batch of chicken thigh and then divvy it up once pure and freeze it and take it out as needed....and mix it into his canned food with the AH in it....
give that a try if you want to keep the calorie intake up ....at this point...i think it's worth a try....
i buy the thigh with the bone and boil the living daylights out of it...with NO skin....the bone has good nutrients....
just a thought....

keeping you and your fur-kids in my prayers as always....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top