1/7 Ozy PMPS-103,+3-95,+4-99,+7-98,+9-59,+11-69

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111374

Another quiet night, YES! We are getting up earlier than usual due to the schedule shift. There are some advantages to this early schedule. Getting up early is the only downside.

Ozy has been doing very well. His numbers continue to creep up. I know, I know, they are still good but they are a creeping...

1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181,+4-165,+6-98, +8-81,+10-87

PMPS+3--- super 5 Ps
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156

Let's see what today brings. If he's blue all day, we might want to discuss a little fat on the dose to 5.75u. In the meantime...continue to rest and lead a normal life. Wait.....what is that? :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156

Hi guys .. nice blue this morning! Getting up early certainly does have it's advantages .. but like you said, getting up early is also a downside! :-D Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156

Hi there :cool: ~O)
donaleen and Ozy said:
Another quiet night, YES!
Glad you guys could rest; your ability to see and take advantage of the opportunities to do so will serve you well during the crazy times.

The importance of not letting oneself get depleted cannot be overstated.

I see Ozy has a case of the blues. . . Pain in check?

Back on 12/30 I was thrilled to see him with 'the blues', today . . . not so much.
I'm with Marje - if it's a cycle of blues, 5.75u may be a good idea.

Now, let's see what Ozy has to say. . . .he is full of surprises :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156

Well, he is now pretty close to yellow.... thanks Sandy and Marje. And hello Mocha's person, although I have forgotten your name. I remember that it is likely the mommy and not Peter. Sorry.

The question is will a quarter help? Going up by a quarter doesn't usually help. Yes, six seemed like too much. But it seems like THIS is how we end up going ever higher....dose too much, down a half, up a quarter, dose not enough, up another quarter, dose not enough, etc. etc. Do not know how to keep this from happening. Do not want to go up by a half. But don't want to creep up to seven, a quarter at a time.

Whatever the reason, IAA or not, his brand of insulin resistance seems to work that way. Maybe we should have dropped by only a quarter in the first place. But those low numbers were persistant and we were exhausted.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+181

Remember that a lev cat will often go up after PS and then come down. I'm not sure what test the +181 is but I'm thinking +2? (I didn't look at his SS first, sorry). So let's see if he comes back down before we worry too much.

If you look at other SSs (including Gracie's), you'll see that sometimes it is an up, down, up, down, fine tune kind of management. But....I don't want to get too far ahead of Ozy. I'd really like to see what he does today before we nailbite_smile nailbite_smile It's great that he's below renal threshold.

Greens and blues are additive :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181

Thanks, Marje, sorry for the error. Yes, it was a +2 reading.

Now that the bupe has kicked in, he is pretty feisty. Even after all this time and love and trust, he still likes to bite. John bit him back once. That startled him. I don't mind a LITTLE kick and bite but if I hadn't hollered OW and No BITE, I am pretty sure I'd be a bloody pulp. I think he wants to tear all the skin off my arm today. I am not in favor of that.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181

Ouch on the bites!!! have you ever tried feliway plug-ins in your house? It might calm him some. I have some I could loan you.

As lev wears off after the nadir, numbers can go up. Food spikes can also contribute. The reason I like a +2 for Gracie on lev is because if she's up and gets a food spike, she's going to onset a little later. But if she's down at +2 with no food spike, I know she's likely to be a steam engine headed down. You'll have to see if that holds true for Ozy, too. It could just be a Gracie-thing but I laugh that it is rather like lantus with her.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181

Donaleen:

No advice here, just some support. Hang in there. You are doing great, and I know you will get this figured out. :YMHUG:

Just curious, have you had Ozy since he was a kitten? Sometimes, if you get a "used" cat, the previous owner played rough with them and they think nothing of biting and scratching. My brother ruined more than one cat that way. It's hard to convince them this isn't acceptable once they get used to it. I'm sure Ozy doesn't mean to hurt you. Harvey bites when he gets over-stimulated. I've had to learn the signs that it's about to happen and stop petting, etc. in time.

Good luck with the numbers to day, and hope you continue to get rest. That is so important. :smile:
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181,+4-165

Ozy was four when we got him and not very well socialized. We do use Feliway plug-ins for Harpo who has a screw loose. They don't seem to affect Ozy at all. I don't think he means to hurt me. He just forgets that it hurts.

Thanks Marje. Down a little at +4.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181,+4-165,+6-98, +8-81

Ozy's numbers are looking good today. :mrgreen: :cool: This looks a bit like his cycles on the 3rd and the 4th. I'm curious to see how the rest of the day shapes up.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181,+4-165,+6-98, +8-81

Hey Wendy, Are you saying we should expect another all nighter? I know it's in the realm of possibility. Will be testing again at +9.

Does this mean that the last two cycles were a bounce into the blues?
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181,+4-165,+6-98, +8-81

It's nice to see some green for Ozy today. Hang in there you're doing a great job.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181,+4-165,+6-98, +8-81,+10-87

I'm on my way out the door for a few hours and peeked at Ozy ss !!!!
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Now, let's see what Ozy has to say. . . .he is full of surprises :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol:
:thumbup
BBL :cool:
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy AMPS-156,+2-181,+4-165,+6-98, +8-81,+10-87

I think he started bouncing yesterday after those greens and he's just clearing today. N-I-C-E!!!!

It's always easier for me to have patience when it's not my cat :-D ;-)
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103

That's a beautiful day for Ozy, and a really nice PMPS! I hope he takes it easy on you tonight, and slides down to a nice safe lagoon number to surf :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103

Thanks Carla, Sandy, Marje, and Rachel.

And yes, Sandy, he is full of surprises.

And Marje, I don't think there exists a pair of patience pants that I wouldn't split the seams out of.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103

laughing at the image of those patience pants with split seams!!!!!

the good news is that we are close in on the dose on Ozy and fine tuning, up and down by small dose changes, is a SUPER phase to be in! It's far harder to be where you were a few weeks ago!

as always, with more info things become clearer - and by tomorrow morning there will be still more info. but i think with a nadir of 80, i'd hold the dose. with the earlier numbers i'd have agreed on the increase, but now he's gone into some mighty nice numbers today.

remember our first goal is to keep everything under renal threshold and protect their kidneys, which Ozy has reached, and then it's under 120, into normal numbers, which Ozy is doing very well at.

enjoy the moment of not-too-low, but low enough! :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103

Thanks, Julie. Once he hit some green, I lost any interest in changing his dose.

Is this normal to come down like this? What do you expect will happen next?
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103

i do think that was a mini-bounce.

the way i'm looking at it - when Ozy got low, you skipped a shot and he went higher, but recovered pretty fast. you've now had 5 doses of the 5.5u and he's in good green numbers today. that makes me think that he's holding the reduction.

If he is holding the reduction, with the little bounce cleared, he *might* settle into it and stay around 100ish tonight. at least that's what my limited foresight is thinking.

you can't predict too far ahead with these kitties (at least not if you don't want to look like a total dummy!) so i'd just say let's watch a day at a time. right now, YIPPEE!

but also, his pmps tonight is the lowest it's been at preshot on this dose. I would say yesterday's amps of 75 was lower because he was clearing the bounce from the night before, so i'm not counting it as much. Today we're seeing a "regular" cycle with a clear nadir that doesn't look like a bounce clearing, so i'd trust it as a good low that this dose is giving him for the moment.

if that makes any sense at all. :-D and now that i've said what i'm thinking out loud, he's no doubt going to prove me wrong and make me look silly! :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103

Well you can look silly with me then. I am the one who thought he was going up and would need an increase.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103,+3-95

Looks like Ozy is having a nice flat night - at least I hope so. I think he likes to have some "rest" cycles in blue every one in a while. :cool: The impact of a skipped or delayed dose can be seen several cycles later, so I think that also contributed to the higher blue.
 
Re: 1/7 Ozy PMPS-103,+3-95,+4-99,+7-98,+9-59

What a beautiful green cycle, last night :mrgreen: Do again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top