1/7 Leo ♡ PMPS 323 +1 372 +2 419

I forgot about using 15% if BG drops more than 20%, so after already providing 10%, I gave Leo another half tsp or so of 15%.

I'll see in about half an hour where he's at. Maybe green.
 
If you’ve settled on 3 under 50 that’s fine, it was unclear whether you were interested in doing once under 40 since you’ve been at this for a while, and once under 40 would allow you to hold a dose longer to see whether you can get more cycles with overall better nadirs. That said, you do know Leo best after all :). If you are continuing with 3 under 50, then yes, he earned a reduction. I still see some bouncing but as mentioned before, he is clearing them quickly.
 
If you’ve settled on 3 under 50 that’s fine, it was unclear whether you were interested in doing once under 40 since you’ve been at this for a while, and once under 40 would allow you to hold a dose longer to see whether you can get more cycles with overall better nadirs. That said, you do know Leo best after all :). If you are continuing with 3 under 50, then yes, he earned a reduction. I still see some bouncing but as mentioned before, he is clearing them quickly.

It's not 100% clear to me what applies and when, plus the difference of direction between first year, second year, and now going into the 3rd year of FD. Plus reading other posts , while a learning opportunity, can be misunderstood in personal application. Then there's the attitude of being at this for awhile.... yes, but floundering. Another reason I stopped posting here.... that I should know better. If I relied on my vet, she would have me shoot 1 or 1.25, but he would have high BGs. No, no. :confused:
I'm getting to the point of not posting again. While there's a clear cut protocol, it's not followed 100%, and is tweaked for an individual cat. I get that, but knowing what is ideal is still a mystery to me. Guess I'm just dense.
 
Bring it down, just a wee bit :), I was trying to explain why I thought once under 40 might be of benefit to you. My post was certainly not intended to suggest anything other than that, nor was it meant to suggest that you shouldn’t continue to ask questions; regardless of how long one has been doing this, there is always something to be learned.
 
+4.75=64
This late in the cycle, I probably shouldn't have given 15%, but I can't take that back.

Do or don't....using carbs to manipulate the BG and keep him from dropping too fast or too low. ;) Maybe if I truly understood an underlying goal, I would get it. I would love to see :otj: for Leo, but somehow I make it too difficult.
 
under 40 might be of benefit to you.

At what point in the cycle do I stop giving a higher carb percentage? I'm thinking no higher carbs after this +4.75, but maybe I shouldn't have done it at all, especially since he only dropped 13 points from +3.5. Yeah, I shouldn't have given anymore 15%. I have this knee-jerk reaction to keep him from going under 50. Do I need to replace that thought with, keep him from going under 40?

>Mindset & intention<
 
He seems to have flattened out now between +3.5 and +4.75 so feeding a teaspoon or two of LC is still a good option, to encourage him to surf. You still want to take action when he drops under 50, but what to feed can also depend on where that happens in the cycle and how carb sensitive he is. If it happens early on, then HC is more useful to prop him up because you still have a ways to go before he reaches nadir.
 
Back
Top