Re: 1/7 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 277, PMPS 200, +4 266, +6 29
Just do what you can. If you can grab a curve once a week on a day off, it would be awesome.
For me, at least, testing as much as possible early on has made the whole process SO MUCH less stressful for me. Because I have so much data, I know when Mikey's nadir is, so if he's dropping toward the 60's around that time, I don't worry as much because I know he'll be heading back up soon, and I don't necessarily have to intervene. Also, I can (usually) tell by his +2 where his cycle is headed, and that allows me to relax and leave the house, or go to bed, etc. If I didn't have all the data I do, I wouldn't be able to do those things without a ton of stress. It's not that we're trying to pressure you to follow a rigid regimen, we're trying to help you gather info so that you will have less stress down the road.
It took me a couple of weeks before I realized I could take care of myself AND Mikey. It means I've had to make some adjustments. Six hours of sleep is now the norm. I get up early to do his shot, then grab another hour's sleep. I'm unemployed right now, but because of the data I've collected, I feel like I can leave for a job when i get one and Mikey will be safe. If you don't go to bed right after the evening shot, grab a test every hour or so until you do. Not because it's part of the protocol, but because it will help you feel less stressed down the road as you learn your cat's unique process. Remember, dosing is based on the nadir, so we can't help you with that if you don't have the info.
Again, I was in your shoes a couple of weeks ago. Take a deep breath, relax, grab a curve once a week on your day off and spot checks whenever you're home and can take a minute to get one. Having the data has made a world of difference to my stress level. It's to help YOU feel more comfortable with your cat's unique situation and to keep him healthy, no other reason, no agenda.