1/7 Kitten AMPS-Fail, curve day...

Status
Not open for further replies.

LILandKIT

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Today started off a bit rocky when I couldn't get an AMPS. But I am determined to get the rest of the curve....tomorrow is a busy day, so I need to get it in today.

AMPS - fail (eeek!)
+2 - 387
+4 - 385
+6 - 370


Yesterday's lowest was at +7, so we'll see what today's +8 will be. Husband tried testing today and got it right for both +4 and +6...yay! This also helps me calm down a bit because I think I've wracked my nerves up so its nice to be the person "helping" - calmed me down a bit. Plus Kitten is originally his furball (I inherited him when we got married - 2 years ago Monday yay!) - so Kit is a looooot calmer with him. Although I can't lie, he's been taking all this poking in stride.
 
If you want, you can always stagger your test times on curves..... sometimes go with 2 4 6 8 and other times, go with 3 6 9 or 4 7 10.
 
Good idea :) I think I'll try 4 7 10 tmr as it fits in a bit with tmr's schedule...and 3 times may be a bit easier on my nerves than 4 - in addition to the PSs.
 
PMPS 437. Wheww....survivied my first curve (minus the AMPS). That was tough....I think Kitten took it better than me lol.
 
LILandKIT said:
PMPS 437. Wheww....survivied my first curve (minus the AMPS). That was tough....I think Kitten took it better than me lol.
Everything is tougher on us as they are our babies!
Mine would sleep through testing!
 
Now here is where I am getting a bit confused, and I think I'm getting a bit ahead of myself. I'm reading the Lantus protocol sticky as well as the paper that went along with it. It says:

Begin with 0.25U/kg BID --> we started at 1u/bid even though Kit's weight is about 14 lbs (he lost a bit, but this seems like its a good weight for him). I liked the lose dose start since its best to "start low and go slow" , so I'm good with this.

He's now been on insulin for almost 2 weeks and numbers are still the same as the original ones that the vet got.

I'm not freaking out as much as I was yesterday, but I am a bit confused on when would be a good time to up his dose by a bit?

The sheet in front of me says to increase by 0.5u if nadir BG is >300 ... is that too big of a jump?

I'm starting to put the pieces of the puzzle together, but its taking that first step that I'm unsure of. I know that doses should be held for 3-5 days-ish, but does the 2 weeks that he's been on this dose count even though we only started testing?
 
Kit's been on insulin for 2 weeks but you haven't been testing for those 2 weeks. one day's numbers aren't going to tell you a lot yet. You haven't filled out the complete picture yet. Like today's numbers could be from him going lower than normal and his liver panicking and dumping stored sugars, when they first start hiting numbers lower than what they are use to going for awhile even if these are perfectly safe and normal numbers, they don't feel normal yet to Kit's body, so his body precieves these numbers as his body is going too low and release stored sugars in order to try to save itself from going hypo. It takes about 3-5 days to really see where they have kind of 'settled' into the dose. If after about 3-5 days if Kit's numbers haven't changed then would be a good time to consider raising his dose IMO. By then you can pretty much see by the trends if he is dipping really low at some point, and rebounding while his liver is retraining itself to what normal feels like, or if he just isn't getting enough insulin to do the job.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I can guarante you both will survive all the testing for those days. Right now the more random spot checks you can get in the better to flesh out the picture of how the insulin is working for him. But you don't need to try to slam them all into one day. Say today get a +3 and +7 as well as your preshots of course. Then tomorrow +2 and +6, and so forth so you don't feel like your always poking him.

Give yourself a treat too for a test, and yes, regardless if you get blood or not....I find chocolate works well for this...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Note to self: buy chocolate :)

Sucks that I have to go back to work tomorrow, so the earliest reading I can get during the days is +8....but that's better than nothing! And then I can do a +3 in the evening. Would be ideal to get something in the middle there, but that will have to wait until next weekend.

Thanks for all your advice! Give the furballs a treat from me lol!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top