1/7 Chyna PMPS 364 Dosecrease +3 331

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Morning, LL! Yesterday: Chyna 1/6

Thanks for visiting last night, and sending hugs and scritches, Grace and Deborah! She did really scare me when she didn't wake up right away :? Panicky bean... ohmygod_smile

I'm at work just popping on to post a condo quick, will bbl to visit hopefully after I get some work done ;-) Chyna was purring and happy seeming this morning, she even walked to the bedroom and up the ramp onto the bed to wait for slowpoke bean to fix breffis after I woke her up when I got up :-D She hasn't been walking around much so that was nice. I'm hoping to hear from the vet tech this morning so I can start my baby girl on Cartrophen for the arthritis.

All Ps (except playing as usual), the little bits of raw food we're adding in seem to be going good (no runs or more puking, anti jinx). Breffis was CPC as usual. :-D

We're still in pink, so unless I see something really surprising when I run home at lunch for a +6 ish (haha :roll: ) we'll be doing a dosecrease tonight by 0.5u to 3.5u. Hugs (and scritches for the furbabies) to you all, have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349

Yikes on the sleeping scare!!! My guys have done that to me, too...I know the feeling - very terrifying, yet they're all innocent and like "Huh???? I was just dreaming and you woke me up!!!" Thank goodness Chyna is fine!!!

Good luck with the dosecrease, and I hope you hear about the arthritis meds ASAP. Have a great day, Rachel!
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349

Hi guys .. so glad all is well with chyna! Mocha is a hard sleeper and often gave us scares .. good luck with the extra juice tonight, hope it's the puurfect dose! have a great day!
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349

It's nice to hear Chyna was happy & purry this morning. I hope you hear from the vet today so you can get the Cartrophen.
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349

Oh, Rachel, how scarey that was!! Cinco is a light sleeper and I've never had that experience with him, but Harvey sleeps deeply and sometimes you have to really work to wake him. It scared me the first time it happened, but now I'm used to it. I still remember the feeling, though. :shock: Not easy on the heart!

Hope you get your info soon and can start the new meds. It's nice there are some choices now. Years ago when my GA civvie Max had arthritis, there was only one med the vet offered, and it didn't help much. I don't remember what it was now.

Have a warm, shock-free day! :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349

Hear that, Chyna? Dosecrease!!! It hope it brings her down.
good luck w/ the vetty appt. Thank you for your kind thoughts yesterday!
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349

Hi Rachel,
Good thing your heart is in good shape! All mine are light sleepers, so I would panic too :o
I am following Chyna's arthritis thread, as Cleo is creaky, and when I saw her run for the first time in a long time, I saw how she has to "hop run." I hope they have Chyna's meds ready for you today`
Good luck with the dosecrease - Did you hear that Chyna??? :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349 +6 331

Oh dear, still pink. Looks like dosecrease for you dear Chyna. Paws crossed this one gets her moving.

I noticed Neko is slowing down a bit too lately, so I called the vet this morning, got an appointment, got our first cartrophen injection and took home another one for me to give in a week. It's one a week for 4 weeks, then once a month. I hope your vet gets moving on that soon for Chyna. We also discussed buying a vial vs preloaded syringes and the preloaded syringes is the most cost effective as the vials only last a couple months once opened and the kitty dose isn't that big.
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349 +6 331

Thanks Amy, Devon (hi Devon! Haven't seen you for awhile!), Carla, Tricia, Ann, Jane, Melissa, and Wendy for visiting with all your wonderful advice and well wishes. Chyna woke up right away today when I got home (phew ;-) ). Must have just been a good deep sleep yesterday, she usually sleeps light! The dosecrease is on for tonight...please, please be the one!

The vet tech did get a chance this morning to call me and she did up the Cartrophen, I just got it after work :-D It was $15 a syringe, and the prescription says "twice a week for one month, once a week for one month, once every two weeks for a month" (which is what they had told me on the phone, that the feline vet they consulted said it's what had worked best for their cats). But I looked just now and the few condos I found (and Wendy in mine) says once a week, and I'm wondering if I should do that instead? She's 13lbs and each syringe is 0.30ml. Now I'm worried if that is too often! Either way, I will give one dose tonight in her subq fluids since they said that was ok...

I hope the Cartrophen works for Chyna, and for Neko :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349 +6 331 Cartrophen Dose?

I have heard of some people giving 2 shots a week for the first month. The quantity is weight based. Neko is getting .2CC and she is 14.5 lbs. (acrocat = more cat to love. :lol: )
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349 +6 331 Cartrophen Dose?

That sounds like the same loading protocol (and quantity per dose) we followed with my GA civvie Mario and the Adequan. After we got through the loading dose period, we were supposed to give it to him once a month, but we really played it by ear - sometimes I could tell he needed a boost sooner than that, so we usually gave it every 3-4 weeks as he needed it. It did take a couple weeks before we started seeing results, but once it kicked in, it kicked in good, and it was obvious when it was wearing off. When we noticed it wearing off and gave the booster dose, that booster dose would kick in pretty quickly - like within a few hours. I hope the Catrophen works as well with Chyna!
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349 +6 331 PMPS 364

Thanks Amy and Wendy, again :-D I guess I'm a paranoid bean! I'm glad others have heard of it. Not to doubt the vet info ;-) Wendy, I like big kitties, so that sounds good :lol:. And Amy, that is so awesome to know, I am hopeful! Chyna has decided to walk more than usual tonight, and be more social than she has been, coming and sitting in the room with me, of course. But it still looks painful. I have a feeling it's cause mama bean went back to work so less smooshes all day...and there were fuds involved :roll: Now I get to figure out how to use a port on subqs, I think I got it. Subqs and cartrophen in an hour or so...

Dosecrease given! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349 +6 331 PMPS 364 Dosecrease on.

Work that jooce, Chyna! Paws crossed. Very scary about her deep sleep. Jeesh! Stay warm!
Liz
 
Re: 1/7 Chyna AMPS 349 +6 331 PMPS 364 Dosecrease on.

Thanks Liz. I don't know if it will do any good to do BG anytime soon, I just added the cartrophen to the port on subqs and obviously hit an ouchie spot...I got some fluid in then she meowed and turned around to bite at it...and the needle jerked out and spewed LRS everywhere until I got my wits and shut it off. I picked another spot and finished the subqs...but I'm not sure if she got any of the cartrophen, my luck it had just reached her when she jerked it out! Of course, I won't be giving another dose in case it did...guess we'll have to try again Friday :roll: I'm such a mean mama bean, I'm getting the glares :shock: Sorry baby girl...I wonder if I should have just given the needle separately so I knew :oops:
 
Yay for good appy and furry purry! Best wishes on that dosecrease! Come on, Chyna...your mama's not joking any more!!!!! :shock: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top