1/7 Alska AMPS=133 PMPS=232

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Alska AMPS=133

Amazing, considering how high he was a couple weeks ago.


What changed, besides getting rid of the fosters?
 
Re: 1/7 Alska AMPS=133

Glad to see Alska doing so well. It makes me smile. Who knows but seems like he really didn't like those foster kitties...silly boy. ;-)
 
Re: 1/7 Alska AMPS=133

I attribute his good numbers to one thing - the 8% carb snack. It seems that if he has higher carbs than the Tiki (2%) as his btw meal snack, he doesn't drop low enough to cause a bounce. I had mostly been using the food for the kittens but had some left over when they left and have been giving it to him because I can put it out and my civvies won't eat it. I think it was in an Autumn condo that someone suggested a higher carb food and that got me thinking...

I also think that the bad numbers I was getting starting in October were because I wasn't dosing his weight gain properly.

Anyway, I owe it to the Wellness Core, Grain-Free Turkey, Chicken & Chicken Liver canned food.
 
Re: 1/7 Alska AMPS=133

Well, ain't that something? Glad you found what works for Alska. :thumbup
 
Re: 1/7 Alska AMPS=133

Best feeling when you find something that works! And very interesting idea... still low carb snack, just not quite as low carb to help with bounce. After some comments in the forum, that's what made me try shaving just a tiny hair off Max's dose (and I mean tiny). Seems to have helped too. I was getting much better pre-shots (in the blues instead of yellows) and still green nadirs (just not quite so green/low). Then, we lost a little ground over the weekend when I got a green pre-shot and reduced dose slightly one cycle (just one!) and Max wasn't feeling good yesterday.
 
It's really his night snack because it usually is fed just before his nadir. I think it was the night cycle where he was going low enough to cause the bounce because his day snack is soon after breakfast.

Now that we have Max and Alska somewhat settled (FDMB) is a wonderful place) we need to figure out what trick will calm Lucian. Hopefully it will be the change in insulin.

Got the Feliway plugin and spray. The spray will reside next to the chair. So far Alska has been good about using his LB when I lock him in his room in the morning, again in the evening and before bed. It is only about 20 minutes each time but he uses it to do his business privately. Then I open the door so Bing can come in and cover it for him. (I think Alska was an outdoor cat)
 
:lol: Him too?! Lucian covers nothing! I've always said 'he thinks his sh*t don't stink', that's why he doesn't bother to cover it. :lol:

Now the girls? they always cover everything.
 
Curious. Are your LBs covered or open? For the most part I have large open storage boxes for litter boxes with the exception of Duvessa's box which is covered complete with a door flap. Duvessa is very private about her potty habits and startles easily. She will avoid the open boxes like the plague. Then again I have Tre'Vona that won't go any where close to a covered box because she's afraid of being pounced on while doing her business. :roll:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I had a large Sterilite container with an entrance cut into it but all my cats hated it and it was a bear to scoop because the bottom was not flat and then there was that day that I tore my stockings on the cutout. I finally sprung for the expensive ones with the high cover and the lip. Alska has to have the lip or else his pee would never be IN the box. The top does not bother him because it is very high and white. The plastic material is good for LBs because it prevents sticking. He loves it so I had to get another to replace the sterilite container downstairs.

Alska goes in heads to the back and does his business at the doorway then turns around and hops out. He does this in all litterboxes. Then Bing runs in, covers it and hops out. When he first arrived, he used to run outside and pee in the yard which was funny because I don't have any grass - just rocks and concrete. My civvies used to be so perplexed by it. Now he won't go past the doorway to the yard. I think he is afraid that I will lock him out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top