1/7/2021- New Member - newly diagnosed, first dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Molly's Mom

Member Since 2021
Hello all and thank you for accepting me. My 16 year old kitty was diagnosed with diabetes today with a blood glucose of 500!
They gave her the first dose of insulin at the vet's office today, early afternoon. 6 ml once a day for right now. So my question is, will it take awhile for her to act normal and get used to the insulin? She's eating and drinking ok. But she's moving pretty slow. I'm hesitant to give her another dose (tomorrow Eve after work).

Thanks for any advice/info.
 
Hi Molly's Mom, and welcome.

I'm going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) to ask her to help you ASAP. (I'm in the UK, it's nearly 4am here, and I'm about to pass out from my sleep meds otherwise I'd try to help myself.)

While waiting for your next reply, please can you tell us:

* which insulin you're using.

* if it is SIX UNITS of insulin that was given today.

* how many hours ago the dose was given.

* whether you think your cat could be described as unusually lethargic? (If yes, please give Molly a small feed immediately as a precaution.)

For safety, please read the hypo guide to check whether Molly might be displaying any of the symptoms mentioned. If in any doubt, give her something to eat.

I'm so sorry I'm unable to stay awake to help you.


Mogs
.
 
Hi and welcome to you and Molly.
Can you tell us what type of insulin Molly has been prescribed?
Once a day insulin is not normally what cats get. They need twice a day insulin 12 hours apart.
I am very alarmed to see the dose is 6 ml a day....I think you might mean 6 units........and that is a huge amount to give a cat as the first dose. Please don’t give that amount again. It is dangerous and could cause a hypo.

Make sure you have some honey or Karo in case Molly drops down low.
Here are the signs to look for
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

I would recommend you look at home testing the blood glucose levels to keep Molly safe. More about that later..I would like to find out the dose first before moving on to other things.
 
Well, obviously I'm new to this, because yes, it was 6 units she was prescribed, not 6cc. She has eaten several times this evening, which is normal for her. Although I normally feed her 3 times a day, she always wants more often than that. And since we are new to this, and I was concerned, I fed her a little bit when she wanted it. Right now I'm lying in bed and she used her step to jump up here with me and is purring and lying on my tummy. She seems to be acting pretty normal for her now.
I know my vet was starting with this amount, once a day, because she was so high (500 bg). She goes back to see him in five days to work more on regulating her dose. She is approximately 10 pounds - I assume her size would make a difference on her dosage.
I read about the hypoglycemic issue, and our vet talked to us about it too. I have karo syrup on hand, along with honey and maple syrup.
Thank you all for your prompt replies and concern.
 
Hi Molly’s Mom.
Please, please do not give 6 units again to Molly. It could kill her.
It is a huge starting dose to give any kitty and I don’t know what your vet was thinking.
I would really question how much your vet knows about feline diabetes. It is not like canine diabetes.

The dose of vetsulin is not based on the BG but on weight and what you are feeding Molly.
The starting dose for newly diagnosed cats on vetsulin is 1/2 to 1 unit depending on weight and what you are feeding.
What food are you feeding Molly? Is it a low carb wet diet or a dry food diet or a combination?

Vetsulin is a harsh, fast acting insulin which is really a dog insulin and is not really suitable for cats.
Lantus or Prozinc are more suitable, longer acting gentler insulins for cats. If I were you I would ask your vet to swap you over to one of those.

With vetsulin because it hits fast, you need to feed Molly 1/2 hour before the dose is given to make sure there is food aboard for when the insulin onsets. Here are two links to how to use vetsulin and other useful information about vetsulin.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introduction-to-cannisulin-vetsulin-n-nph.231602/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/

I know this is all really new to you and it is overwhelming and I am so glad you reached out and found us.
I don’t want to overwhelm you with information but I would strongly recommend you think about home testing the blood glucose levels to keep Molly safe. I know it sounds daunting but it is not hard and Molly will not hate you. Cats get accustomed having it done very quickly especially given treats each time it is done. My Sheba came running every time she heard me at the testing strips..
I will give you a link to look at and think about
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

In the meantime I would keep giving Molly snacks for the 12 hours after you gave the 6 units to try and keep her blood glucose up in safe levels.
Keep asking questions, we are very happy to help. We are here to keep all our diabetic kitties safe.
BTW Molly is very sweet!
 
Please listen to Bron , I agree with her 6 units could kill Molly.
Please ask questions and I strongly advise for you to start home testing.
Vetsulin is a very harsh insulin and hits hard and fast.
Please read up on Vetsulin.
When I read 6 units my heart sunk.
 
Thank you so much! I believe a call to my vet will be in order today! The food I have started her on is hills prescription diet canned, but I see that fancy feast classic pate is on the low carb list, which is what she was eating before. That's good to know, too! $$$$ Again, thank you!! I'm glad I stumbled across this page.
 
Hi there,

Once again, I'm very sorry I couldn't stay to help last night but you were in very good hands with Bron.

I'm so glad that you found FDMB. I'm also very glad that you followed your good instincts and gave Molly extra food yesterday. (She has the loveliest little face, BTW. :) )

As the others have said above, 6IU - of any insulin - is a massive starting dose, even when a cat is in high numbers at time of diagnosis. (Note: IU = International Units.)

The most recent manufacturer guidelines for Vetsulin (branded as Caninsulin in some countries outside the US) give a maximum starting dose of 2IU twice daily per cat - regardless of its weight - if the baseline BG level at time of diagnosis is 360mg/dL or higher:

upload_2021-1-8_13-27-54.png


General note: Starting dose for dogs is based on weight, and they are typically given one dose of insulin per day. Cats have faster metabolisms than dogs which means that insulins have a much shorter duration of effect, hence the need to give them two insulin doses per day, 12 hours apart. An older version of the manufacturer's dosing protocol used to take a cat's weight and baseline BG level into account when determining a starting dose, but even so the maximum starting dose was still set at 2IU twice a day.

Here's an example of an 'ideal' response in a feline diabetic to Vetsulin/Caninsulin:


eADcxbPJ2JnNh2lSNJND0_wT4yz4A3Y71CrTNoDJfbWfCTH5m_LSx8bIqc_8XsNxdIIVibS6Rm5BUf37WIe3XPJwQjh4EPhui-nFcwaX6hNFLSfU3NpFvo8wwzZNTc1CUPzdzC--


As you can see from the blue line, Vetsulin hits very hard and fast early in the 12-hour cycle, BG (red line) then typically drops quickly and steeply in response (hence the need to get grub on board a little while before administering the insulin dose). The effect of a Vetsulin dose typically peters out around +8 hours after dose administration. That said, if too high a dose was given then there was a possibility that BG might stay in a lower range for longer until the dose wears off completely (hence Bron's advice last night to keep feeding Molly snacks until you reached the time when 12 hours had elapsed after the dose was given.

Here's a link to a copy of the latest AAHA guidelines for management of diabetes in cats and dogs (from 2018).

From the linked document:

The initial approach to management of the diabetic cat is to initiate insulin therapy with glargine (Lantus) or protamine zinc insulin (PZI; Prozinc) at a starting dose of 1–2 units (U) per cat q12 hr.

Both Lantus and Prozinc typically have a gentler mode of action and a longer duration of effect in cats, hence their recommendation by the AAHA. (NB: Lantus is expensive in the States so many of our members get a prescription from their vet and buy it much cheaper from Canada. We can give you details of how and where to buy if you need them. Also, I think chewy.com do a good price on Prozinc. I think they also need a veterinary prescription when placing an order.)

I hope the above information will be helpful to you in your discussions with the vet. Please give a shout out with any questions you have - there's a lot to get one's head around in the early days. Again, I'm glad your instincts were so good yesterday and that you found FDMB. We'll do all we can to help you both as you learn to manage Molly's diabetes.

How is Molly doing today? (((Molly)))


Mogs
.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-1-8_13-27-54.png
    upload_2021-1-8_13-27-54.png
    25.4 KB · Views: 104
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) -

Thank you for helping Molly and her mom last night, Bron. With the meds on board I was struggling to even type. With such a high dose and Molly's movements sluggish, I was greatly relieved when I saw you on the thread.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Referring back to the graph in my earlier post, it's easy to see from the diagram that a suitable and safe once-a-day dose of Vetsulin would typically only have a lowering effect on BG levels for 8 hours or less, thus leaving a cat in higher numbers for around 16 hours every day after the dose wears off. Increasing the number of units in a once-a-day Vetsulin dose isn't a solution to this because, as the dose got higher it would tend to produce steeper drops - with greater risk of hypoglycaemia - while the dose was active, but there would typically be no appreciable increase in duration. On the contrary, the effect of too strong/too high a dose would be more likely to trigger the body's protective mechanisms to release more glucose from the liver to protect itself from actual/perceived danger (BG too low/BG at safe level but lower than the body has experienced for a while). This then tends to drive BG upwards for a period of time, often to a level way higher than the baseline; a phenomenon we refer to as 'bouncing'. A fast, steep drop - even to a perfectly safe BG level - is sufficient to trigger bouncing in some cats.

Instead, for feline diabetics, treatment is best started at a safe, low, twice-daily insulin dose (ideally using an insulin with greater duration in cats, but 2 doses of Vetsulin should give BG-lowering benefit for up to 16 hours a day, a lot better than a single dose). BG monitoring enables assessment of the dose for safety and effectiveness, and then the cat is gradually moved to better regulation by adjusting the dose in small increments (usually 0.25IU per adjustment for most cats). Start low, go slow. :)


Mogs
.
 
Hi there,

Just wondering how you got on today and how Molly's doing.

Please don't hesitate to post for anything you need help with.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top